We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real meaning of a boutique hotel”
Review of Locanda al Colle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Locanda al Colle
Ranked #1 of 46 Camaiore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Although this hotel is a little hard to find at first, it is worth the effort. Very small, personal and chic. The place is filled with pieces of art and the decor is fabulous with very comfortable rooms. Breakfast is served beautifully from the kitchen and if you stay for dinner you are served like a member of the family. Amazing value as every other decent hotel in the area was double the price and this place did not disappoint at all. We spent 3 nights here as a 'mini-moon' and really loved it. Tip- hire a car if you want to get out and about. It's not far from the beach and also Forte dei Marme but would be a bit too far in a taxi probably.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for Locanda al Colle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2011

I was looking for a nice place to break up the 7 hour drive from the French Riviera to Tuscany, and the description of this small guest house on the Mr&Mrs Smith website sounded just right. The Locanda is owned and managed by Riccardo, a collector of 50s vintage furniture, with which he has superbly furnished the public areas. Most of his collection is museum grade with many iconic pieces. It is located on a small gravel road in a rural setting with olive groves and gardens about 15 minutes drive from the beaches of the Versilia, 25 minutes from Lucca via a backroad, and about an hour west of Florence. We were welcome with a smile and a glas of Prosecco and felt right at home. After spending the afternoon in the car, we did not feel like driving to one of the restaurants in the area, so Riccardo and his partner shared their evening meal with us. The pasta and a nice bottle of wine just hit the spot.
We had booked one of the well-appointed suites, which featured a modern kingsize bed, a sitting room, private terrace and 2 bathrooms. The rooms are cooled by an in-floor cooling system which kept the room at just the right temperature. We slept with the window open and woke the next morning completely refreshed. The breakfast buffet was fantastic with freshly squeezed orange juice and farm eggs. A great place for a honeymoon or just to chill by the pool surfing the net. Not cheap, but worth the price. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hansr433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

My wife and I stayed at Locanda Al Colle for 2 nights in June 2011. First off, Riccardo was extremely helpful and accommodating in working with our dates, even though they were sold out. He offered us two nights in two different rooms, if we didn't mind switching, and of course we didn't!

1. This is one of the best resorts we have ever stayed at - in terms of comfort, service, amenities and the overall value.
2. Welcome - The owners & staff make you feel incredibly welcome and they truly take the service mindset seriously
3. The location - fantastic location with access to Lucca, Pietrasanta and even the Cinque Terre are not too far off. The resort itself is self contained, and if you are looking to relax - you never have to leave!
4. The food - we had breakfast there every day, which was a fantastic spread with fresh fruit, pastries and cereals etc. We also had dinner (only on wednesdays and saturdays) prepared by a local Chef and Arianna - which was amazing!
5. The rooms - very thoughtful, elegant and beautiful rooms. We can't describe the many fine works of art in our rooms, in the lobby and the common areas - they were gorgeous!
6. The property - other than the guest rooms scattered throughout the building, the common lobby and the walkways are gorgeous and adorned with great art. The flowers they had all over the property made the whole place glow and smell fantastic!
7. The pool - Stunning pool with great views of the mountains, villages and valleys. Open year round and it is a surprising addition to this wonderful property.
8. Others - they have a partnership with a beach club, Il Cavallone at Lido di Camaiore, within a few kilometers. A great spot for people watching and relaxing on the beach. Laura at the beach club was very helpful and a gracious host.

Other notes - a car is a must. It is totally worth it, not only to get to Locanda, but to explore the overall area and small towns nearby.

Bottom line - We really loved staying at Locanda Al Colle, mainly because of our hosts Riccardo and Arianna. Their recommendations were fantastic and spot on.

If you are in the Lucca/Pisa area, this place is a must-stay. We can't wait to be back.

Sam & Beth
Chicago, IL
June 2011

Room Tip: All rooms have great views
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam_n_Beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Amazing!!

This guesthotel is absolutely spectacular. Every single detail has been thought about to a standard of absolute perfection. Ricardo and Arianna have such warm personalities that they will get you relaxing the moment you arrive - this place will make even the most stressed out individuals unwind completely. We stayed in the beautiful Aurora room which is amazing. I would also highly recommend staying for a night where dinner is served - lovely food and you will have a great time!

Room Tip: Ask for Aurora
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxfordT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Locanda al colle is, without doubt, the most charming, stylish, friendliest, and relaxing guest house I have ever had the pleasure to visit. Almost by chance I stumbled into this beautiful little place in July this summer, and immediately decided to -- and did -- return before fall arrived. As most reviewers have noted, the view is breathtaking, but this is still nothing compared to the quality, design, and homey feeling of the hotel itself. A feeling the owners (with friends) incredibly successfully contribute to through their balanced discreteness, politeness, and humor. I really hope to be a returning customer for many years to come.

I travel quite a bit for my work, but no matter where I am, nor how many stars the hotel brags of, I never find my room as a home. I wish to stay away; eat out, go for a drink, then quickly go to bed, go to work (or whatever), and so on. At the 'locanda', you get the precise opposite feeling. You want to stay. In fact, you don't want to leave. Eating at the hotel is a real pleasure, and almost preferable to many of the very excellent restaurants nearby (well, you do need some variation, so don't miss out ... ). In addition, everything is priced very fairly; a decent bottle of wine/prosecco 12-15 euro, a beer 3, lunch 20, etc. So hanging out by the hotel won't ruin you in any way.

Now, having that said, let me tell you what locanda al colle is not. Although I consider this hotel five stars in every dimension, I know that not every one would agree with me on that. For instance, there won't be any minimum wage workers taking a bow every time they see you, greeting you with an impersonal "how are you today, sir?" (or, "which floor, sir?" - there are no elevators here ....) No one will pull out the chair for you when dining (well, maybe your spouse, or Riccardo if he's in a good mood). In fact, apart from the cleaners, the only people who work here are the owners, and they really appreciate a little help when taking away your plates from the breakfast/dinner table, glasses from the apertivo etc (something I find contributes to the sense of being at a home). And don't expect to see any polished marble, golden chandeliers, or crystal wine glasses. In fact, don't expect to see most of the stuff many Americans associate with "5 stars" will be.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PontusR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

I'm trying to think of what I could say agains this place, but I can't find anything.

The place has a subtle retro-chicness to it. One can notice that a lot of effort has been put in the details.
The hosts always have a smile for you and, in all honesty, they do know what they are doing.
The views are marvellous, so I suggest you to ask for a room with views towards the sea.
Breakfasts are great too.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmanuelBologna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Makrilue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camaiore
4.8 km away
UNA Hotel Versilia
UNA Hotel Versilia
#1 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
1,163 reviews
4.2 km away
Villa La Bianca
Villa La Bianca
#11 of 55 in Camaiore
180 reviews
7.5 km away
St Mauritius Hotel
St Mauritius Hotel
#1 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Hotel Giulia
Hotel Giulia
#3 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
286 reviews
7.5 km away
Principe Forte dei Marmi
Principe Forte dei Marmi
#13 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
173 reviews
5.4 km away
GrandHotel Riviera
GrandHotel Riviera
#4 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda al Colle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda al Colle

Address: Via La Stretta 231 | loc. Capezzano Pianore, 55041, Camaiore, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Camaiore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Camaiore
Price Range: $240 - $579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the crossroads of the famous via Francigena and the sea , our locanda proposes itself in a contest of absolute charm as a place of peace and privacy. An old stone house in which old and new , exterior and interior find harmony in the research of details such as the objects in every room , one off pieces mixed with findings from trips abroad giving a warm and comforting atmosphere.Protected by the greenery of the olive grove locanda looks out towards the sea and the hills and mountains of Camaiore . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Locanda al Colle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Al Colle Hotel Camaiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing