We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mark & Carol King”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sands on Golden Lake
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Golden Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2017

We were made to feel special & very welcome. Our room was very inviting & clean. Our meals were perfect. Our server went out of her way to ensure my husbands allergy to nuts was taken seriously & the chef made him a special dessert to ensure he was safe!! The whole visit was great we would definately come back again

Room Tip: Our only concern was the slippery stairs & deck as it had snowed very hard. Not sure if a mat wo...
Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Sands on Golden Lake
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2017

Had a great time celebrating New Years at The Sands. Enjoyed snowshoeing on the frozen lake and bush trails across the road. The décor, DJ, friendly staff, rooms overlooking the lake & especially the food were excellent. There were 8 in our party and we enjoyed mixing with the other guests as we rang in the New Year. Thanks to Jeff & Jeff staff for all the fun and taking good care of us.

Room Tip: We booked the chalet so we could have a full kitchen to cook some of our own meals and space to ente...
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 360dawn057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff S, Owner at Sands on Golden Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

Many thanks for your comments regarding the services and staff during your recent visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Rest assured, your comments will be shared with the whole Sands Team. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Our second trip to The Sands was as good as the first time, last year at about the same time. The whole place is lovely and the staff very friendly. The beach is wonderful, you can walk out very far, and the sand really is golden.
The food in the restaurant is excellent for both breakfast and dinner. The rooms are well kept and spacious. All have balconies and places to sit inside.
We will definately go back.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size from small to large to 2-floor family units with fire pits on the beach. Canoes...
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RSOrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

One of the best location we've stayed at. Beautiful view. We stayed at this property for 2 night and just fell in love with this place. Great food menu! Well managed property! We are coming back in October!

Stayed: September 2016
2  Thank Ezzebey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Recently had dinner here with one of my friends and we struggled finding something we really wanted to eat. We settled due to the lack of menu options. The bruschetta was a big let down and surprisingly small for the price. The server I must say was very friendly. The other let down was that we couldnt even enjoy the view because all the blinds were closed. Disappointing because we came based on reviews and was a bit let down.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Emily-Lilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff S, Owner at Sands on Golden Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Thank you for your review.
Please allow me to explain our menu offerings.
First, and the most important, is only fresh and seasonal products are offered at the Sands. We feel that a large menu requires us to freeze a lot of our inventory and that is simply not acceptable. With 15 entrée selections, 5 appetizers, 4 entrée salads, 6 desserts and 8 pub menu offerings we feel we have something for everyone. We also change our menu 4 times a year in order to bring in items that are in season and at a reasonable cost.
In response to the view. We draw the blinds only at the customers request. The setting sun, although beautiful, is often in the eyes of our customers making their experience less than perfect.
Please visit us again and give us another chance to impress you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

The room was a good size and the view was gorgeous--every room looks out onto the lake and the sunsets are beautiful. Rooms were extremely clean. The restaurant attached had great food, excellent service, beautiful views and was very reasonably priced. We would and will go back to Sands on Golden Lake again.

Room Tip: All rooms have beautiful view. Single Queen bed rooms don't have AC but breeze off lake through...
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyburkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff S, Owner at Sands on Golden Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

We are pleased to hear that you were happy with your experience at the Sands. Your feedback goes a long way and we appreciate the time you took to write it.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Sands the next time you are in the Ottawa Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

I could not believe how absolutely lovely and clean the rooms are. And the beds ... fabulous! The best bed I've slept in, in a motel for ages and we do a lot of traveling. The rooms are large and roomy with a fantastic view and deck along the back. We had 2 dbl beds, a sofa, fridge, coffee maker etc. and the bathrooms are large. Lovely landscaping and beach area plus dock. The restaurant has a good menu and also a lovely view and the people are friendly. A must stay at motel if your up that way!

Room Tip: I'm sure any room would be great.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden Lake
29.4 km away
Best Western Pembroke Inn & Conference Centre
29.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Pembroke
33.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Petawawa
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Greystone on Golden Lake
Greystone on Golden Lake
#1 of 1 in Golden Lake
44 reviews
20.6 km away
The Egan Inn
The Egan Inn
#1 of 3 in Eganville
22 reviews
22.9 km away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#3 of 3 in Barry's Bay
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands on Golden Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands on Golden Lake

Address: 13163 Highway 60 | Deacon, Golden Lake, Ontario K0J 1X0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Golden Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Golden Lake
Price Range: $105 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands on Golden Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal getaway with a pristine, sandy beach,lakeside spa treatments and Golden Lakes only lakeside dining room. A year-round retreat to enjoy nature hikes, ice skating & ATV/ snowmobile trails. Cozy up to your own private fireplace or jacuzzi - a welcoming guest room or chalet awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Sands on Golden Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands On Golden Lake Hotel Golden Lake
Sands On Golden Lake Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing