We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sands on Golden Lake
Nearby Hotels
Pine Tree Motel(Eganville)
US$90
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travellers Inn(Pembroke)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Time Travellers Motel(Pembroke)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
156
59
13
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
59
13
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining roomalgonquin parkbeautiful viewfew daysget awayottawa valleygreat foodcan't wait to go backcoming backcomfortable bedsbalcony doorrooms are largespent two nightssecond visitgreat weekendwedding weekendfell in love
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 233 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Sands on Family Day Long weekend and can't say enough great things about it!
First-the service is incredible!!! From Jeff at the front desk to Meredith in the restaurant, we felt like we were the only guests that mattered!
The room-we stayed in #3. WHAT A VIEW!!! Our room had a balcony that overlooked the lake and the view is stunning! The room was clean and spacious and included a coffee maker and mini fridge. The bed and pillows were clean and comfortable and had a modern look to it!
The restaurant- LOVED!!!! Amazing service with an even better view! Get the mussels!!! And the apple blossom!
We have done a lot of travelling and love trying new places, but we will absolutely be making this an annual trip!!!
Thanks Sands for making our anniversary so memorable!!!

Stayed: February 2017
Thank ErikaZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2017

because of health issues we haven't gonne back in almost 2 years...... this is the place. Can't wait to go back....... this is the best place in the valley..... the food, the comfy room,the cleaness, the friendly service and all the extras........They are the best!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladouce61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2017

I met a friend there for a girl's getaway weekend and the Sands was a perfect half way point for both of us. We were blown away with how great this place was. Our room was bright, clean and spacious. The beds were very comfortable. The food in the dining room was very good although we would suggest a few more vegetarian options. Having said that we enjoyed all of our meals. We pampered ourselves in the spa on Saturday and also appreciated the surrounding area including Barry's Bay which offered yoga on Sunday. It was all good.

Room Tip: Select a room overlooking the lake (although I suspect they all do as the inn is right on the water).
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pined0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2017

Stayed in one of the sweet, cozy chalets. Snowy outside, warm cozy fireplace and white duvet inside! Cooked for myself in the well equipped kitchen, but also dined in the scrumptious restaurant. Food amazing, service top shelf! Will return for sure, many times and will share with friends.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cmae10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2017

This was our second visit to the Sands on Golden Lake and, based on our first visit which was on a beautifully warm late summer weekend, we were eagerly looking forward to trying out a winter getaway at this wonderful location. The owners have done an incredible job of enhancing this older property, and the rooms are comfortable, very spacious, airy and serene. All rooms have a delightful view of Golden Lake, and much care has been taken to ensure that the furnishings are not only pleasing to the eye but comfortable as well. My email enquiries regarding cross country ski trails and winter activities were all answered promptly and courteously, providing all of the information that I requested. Jeff (one of the two Jeffs that own this lovely property), was warm and welcoming upon our arrival, only too pleased to answer any additional questions that we had, and was more than eager to help boost our car battery when our car wouldn't start on the day of our departure.

The Sands on Golden Lake also has an excellent restaurant that offers sweeping views of the lake which is equally beautiful on a summer evening or a crisp cold snowy morning. The food is pleasingly plentiful without being excessive, very flavourful, nicely presented, and great value for the money. If you're looking for a great pasta dish, do try the mushroom ravioli which was really fantastic. Breakfast is equally delicious with lots of options to appeal to a variety of tastes. In a nutshell, this place really is a treasure of a retreat in beautiful surroundings. We are already planning our next visit and can't wait to return. Given that the property also has three lovely chalets (3 bedrooms in each) and a 3 bedroom cottage in addition to the standard rooms, plans to take my family for a getaway, as well as a girls' weekend, are also in the works. Do yourself a favour and go to the Sands on Golden Lake. I truly believe you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews