We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make your own mind up but we won't be going back...”
Review of The Golden Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Golden Lion
Ranked #6 of 14 Corbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2017

The rooms were desperately in need of a refurb. I was told the chef didn't start early enough to accommodate cooked breakfasts before 9am but packed breakfasts could be provided. Booked 3 rooms for 3 nights for chaps working in the area, with a possible 4th night, only to find on their arrival that there was no chef full stop ! What a way to end a hard day's work, returning to a hotel with no hot food.Couldn't be more disappointed. When I spoke to the manager not an apology, just on the defensive and came across quite angry, said it wasn't his fault, the Chef had walked out and no replacement until July and the chaps were grown men and could easily go and find food elsewhere for themselves and that his restaurant was quite pricey anyway and probably wouldn't have been suitable for our chaps and that they only advertised as a B and B. Was kind enough to not charge for the last night as the chaps left early and did provide packed breakfasts. Said that he had no contact details to contact us to warn us prior to arrival. We won't be going back.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere !
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola290617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for The Golden Lion
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2017

been to Corbridge many times but never used The Golden Lion so wew thought we'd put that right today.
i had a Pint of Birra Moretti and my wife had Lemon and lime, very nice it was too so we decided to try a spot of lunch..we ordered the steak and ale pie but the the waitress came back and said there was none left, as it was after 2 pm were weren't sirprised so i opted for Beef pie and my wife had one of the burgers wit blue cheese.
she enjoyed her burger immensely, saying it was delicious, my beef pie however was a little lack lustre, it was very tasty and the chips were very good but alas the pie was very lacking in beef, (minced Beef) and the pastry was quite hard.
i still ate it as i was hungry but i think the £9.95 price was a bit OTT.
this won't deter me from using the Lion again some time ans other food on offer seemed very good.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dramsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Our fourth night of accommodation booked through Pedal Power for the Hadrian's Cycle Way.
It was truly the pits and the worst place we have ever stayed - no wonder it's for sale! Filthy stair carpets, poo skid marks on our loo with urine spots all round the seat, strong smell of stale cigarettes, dust everywhere, stale biscuits, nowhere to hang towels or any heating in bathroom, neither my wife or I wanted to walk on the carpets with bare feet or even drink the water! Do I need to go on! Probably not updated or redecorated for 50 years?
Only good point was the young lad who appeared to be on his own and he was really helpful and apologetic but a bit like banging his head on a brick wall. We all felt really sorry for the poor chap who must spend his day getting flack from all! the customers.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank RingwoodTrainspotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

I did not think it could be as bad as reviews made out. It was. Filthy carpets. Greasy breakfast. Stayed one night while attending a function in Corbridge could not leave fast enough. Most certainly would not have stayed a second night. Avoid.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank vinny1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

The bar section had been redone and the rooms were ok. The rug on the stairs walking up to the room were smelly and really needed to be replaced. In the room there was a water pitcher that was filthy. I took it to the manager and he replaced it right away. Except for that , the bathroom was updated and clean.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

Stopped for lunch en-route to Newcastle but never felt comfortable in the place. Some pubs you enter you are made to feel welcome....not this one!
Got the impression the staff were part-timers. Food was very average and outside eating area was run-down.
I'm sure there are better places to go if we'd taken a bit more time to look for them.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Golfer016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

The reviews for the food are well deserved. It was the best food we ate in our 5 day stay in Corbridge, including the pubs and restaurants that have much better reviews.

However, we have had such mixed feelings about the experience that it has taken until now for us to write a review. The experience was upsetting and awful. Our fist night, after having a lovely meal in the pub, we retired to our room. It was after last orders and we realised that the bathroom was absolutely filthy: raised vinyl floor tiles; a saniflow toilet that had leaked all over the floor (not just for the one night as the landlord tried to explain but serious water damage) urgh!; a carpet of pubic hair; toothpaste all over the mirror; a visible thick black tide mark all around the bath; a thick layer of dust all over the skirting boards and behind the door (it had obviously never been shut whilst cleaning!).

The next morning I expressed our disappointment and it was dealt with politely and swiftly. The landlord offered us some money off but it was never taken off our final bill. We were moved to a room where, again, the bathroom had obviously not been cleaned. You think the landlord would have checked! Thick black sludge had trickled out of the taps. (We understand old plumbing as we have a house that is 200 yrs old but you think that the new room would have been checked.) The floor was 'black bright', the mirror filthy and the woodwork covered in deep dust.

Had it not been in between Christmas and New Year, had we not travelled for 3 hours to get there, and had we not wanted to stay in Corbidge (with the nearest available hotel being 8 miles away) we would have left right there and then. However, we wanted to explore our ancestory in the town so went to a local supermarket, bought some gloves and cleaning products and scrubbed the bathroom and bedroom. It was FILTHY - 2 pan scrubbers and 3 cloths later. Yak.

I feel so upset and humiliated that we actually persisted and stayed - we were so tired with the jobs that we do that we didn't have the energy or will to 'kick off'.

I would definitely eat here again. It was great food. But the accommodation was diabolical. Look at our other reviews from all around the world - fair and reflective. I would NEVER stay here again.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank hazydayz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corbridge
5.5 km away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
15.6 km away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,145 reviews
0.1 km away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 14 in Corbridge
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Wheatsheaf Hotel
Wheatsheaf Hotel
#4 of 14 in Corbridge
181 reviews
7.2 km away
The Robin Hood Inn
The Robin Hood Inn
#7 of 14 in Corbridge
66 reviews
5.3 km away
Hallbank Guest House
Hallbank Guest House
#23 of 62 in Hexham
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Lion

Address: Hill Street, Corbridge NE45 5AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Corbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Corbridge
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Lion is located in the beautiful historic village of Corbridge, Northumberland, 5 miles north of Corstopitum - the ancient Roman supply depot for the Roman soldiers guarding Hadrian's Wall. We are only 4 miles from the market town of Hexham, perfect for those visiting Hadrian's Wall, Hexham Abbey, Aydon Castle and Hexham Race Course. In our recently refurbished bar/restaurant, we offer a welcoming dining experience for couples, families and foodies with home-made food carefully prepared from locally sourced ingredients and a wide range of wines, cask ales and spirits. Dogs are welcome in the bar area We also have 6 fully refurbished letting rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms, tea and coffee facilities, TV and free Wi-Fi. Get in touch today and book your accommodation in the beautiful village of Corbridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Golden Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Lion Corbridge, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing