We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating”
Review of The Golden Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Golden Lion
Ranked #6 of 14 Corbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2017

We were recently staying at The Golden Lion as part of a bridal party. The meal in the dining area was great and just what we needed after arriving late. The next day the staff were incredibly hospitable and accommodating to us taking over a section of the pub downstairs for the bride and bridesmaids to have their makeup done, much to the amusement of the locals and other guests.
Overall great, thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for The Golden Lion
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2017

We called here for dinner last night to catch up with some friends. All four were well pleased with both the service and food quality. I had the 'Seafood Linguine' which came with wholemeal bread on the side. It was absolutely divine. My partner had a classic dish of Scampi and home-made chips, which came with salad on the side. I know its a Pub Classic, but it was very well presented, and the Scampi was cooked beautifully, bursting with fresh flavour. Will definitely be back. 10/10 for quality and service. The staff very friendly, very helpful, and very cheerful.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Before I left I gave the staff various feedback about cleanliness and maintenance required on the room. We were unable to lock the door and had to use a wooden wedge, carpets were extraordinary dirty and makes one wonder about overall standards of the place. I will not go back. I have stayed in better backpackers hostels at a far far lower price.


Although they seem to pride themselves on the food we had to send a curry back to get it warmed up and my chips were very strange soggy things. Maybe things will improve in the future when a new lease is in place.

Room Tip: Inspect before staying, make sure the room is what you expected
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 476JeanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

We are on holiday in corbridge area we called in for lunch today. This pub was dog friendly which I why we called in. I had a pulled pork sandwich which was very tasty with chips and salad very large portion my husband had the small fish and chips that was a very big portions to say it was a small one. The staff where very friendly the locals in the bar was also very friendly Madge you feel welcome. Would call again for lunch when back in area.


Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Marjorie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

Although The Golden Lion is a hotel, we were on a self-catering holiday in Corbridge and were looking for somewhere to eat dinner. The Golden Lion was the first place we came across as we walked through the village, and as the menu outside offered a good range of food we decided to eat there.

The atmosphere was relaxed and congenial with a number of customers in the bar area, and we were warmly welcomed by staff who were courteous and engaging throughout our meal.

We chose to sit in the dining area to eat and throughly enjoyed our meals. I had Northumberland sausages with creamy mash and gravy, served with an interesting selection of vegetables. Although sausage and mash sounds ordinary, this was really tasty.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank jojo471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Stayed for one night and thankfully no more. Absolutely no problem with the staff, the bar area had been refurbished a couple of years ago and looked fine. The menu was decent but what we noticed walking round the town was how busy the other bars were both with diners and drinkers compared to here. We ate elsewhere due to previous visit and knowing the pub. The accommodation however is not up to standard. Carpets were dirty, smell of damp everywhere, windows that couldn't shut, the outside one in the bathroom was stuck fully open though there was secondary glazing that did close over, a shower with which most of the water leaked from the shower head down the hose and worst of all a pile of nail clippings beside the bed. It will take a decent amount of money to bring it up to scratch but would be worth it as its location is good and there is plenty potential as there are not that many placed to stay in what is a lovely town with great historical links.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

The rooms were desperately in need of a refurb. I was told the chef didn't start early enough to accommodate cooked breakfasts before 9am but packed breakfasts could be provided. Booked 3 rooms for 3 nights for chaps working in the area, with a possible 4th night, only to find on their arrival that there was no chef full stop ! What a way to end a hard day's work, returning to a hotel with no hot food.Couldn't be more disappointed. When I spoke to the manager not an apology, just on the defensive and came across quite angry, said it wasn't his fault, the Chef had walked out and no replacement until July and the chaps were grown men and could easily go and find food elsewhere for themselves and that his restaurant was quite pricey anyway and probably wouldn't have been suitable for our chaps and that they only advertised as a B and B. Was kind enough to not charge for the last night as the chaps left early and did provide packed breakfasts. Said that he had no contact details to contact us to warn us prior to arrival. We won't be going back.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere !
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola290617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corbridge
5.5 km away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
15.6 km away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,143 reviews
0.1 km away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 14 in Corbridge
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Wheatsheaf Hotel
Wheatsheaf Hotel
#5 of 14 in Corbridge
181 reviews
7.2 km away
The Robin Hood Inn
The Robin Hood Inn
#7 of 14 in Corbridge
66 reviews
5.3 km away
Hallbank Guest House
Hallbank Guest House
#22 of 62 in Hexham
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Lion

Address: Hill Street, Corbridge NE45 5AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Corbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Corbridge
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Lion is located in the beautiful historic village of Corbridge, Northumberland, 5 miles north of Corstopitum - the ancient Roman supply depot for the Roman soldiers guarding Hadrian's Wall. We are only 4 miles from the market town of Hexham, perfect for those visiting Hadrian's Wall, Hexham Abbey, Aydon Castle and Hexham Race Course. In our recently refurbished bar/restaurant, we offer a welcoming dining experience for couples, families and foodies with home-made food carefully prepared from locally sourced ingredients and a wide range of wines, cask ales and spirits. Dogs are welcome in the bar area We also have 6 fully refurbished letting rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms, tea and coffee facilities, TV and free Wi-Fi. Get in touch today and book your accommodation in the beautiful village of Corbridge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Golden Lion Corbridge, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing