We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous property in an excellent location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Durham - Less than 1 Hour Drive from Corbridge
Garden and parking at rear
Front
Langdale - The Lake District - 2 Hour Drive from Corbridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Corbridge, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jan S
Penistone, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fabulous property in an excellent location”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at the Old Exchange with my parents, sister and brother-in-law for a week in August. The owner is very friendly and approachable, available if you need help, unobtrusive when you don't. He is a local man and his wealth of knowledge added to the enjoyment of our holiday.
The standard of accommodation is excellent, spread over 2 floors above an art gallery in the centre of this lovely village. Parking is provided to the rear, again a bonus in the centre of Corbridge. There is a beautifully furnished large lounge and well equipped kitchen. All 3 bedrooms are en suite, which is a real bonus. The bedroom on the first floor can be arranged as a twin or super king and the amount of storage is great. The quality of linens and towels provided are a very high standard, and the beds are really comfortable.
This really is a quality apartment and wouldn't hesitate to return or to recommend. NB unsuitable for people with mobility problems as it is upstairs above shops.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and specification
Liked least: Nothing to complain about
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john m
Hitchin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday apartment in Corbridge”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Very comfortable facilities. 3 bedrooms all en-suite. Large living room. Well equipped kitchen. Very convenient location, in town center close to restaurants, pubs and shops, yet quiet. Good parking.. (Not suitable for people with mobility difficulties - It is upstairs)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grannysqu...
blackpool
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely location, high quality property”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We travelled as a couple with 2 older teenagers for a weeks holiday during half term.

The property is in the main street of Corbridge with all the necessary amenities close to hand. The apartment is set above retail units on the first and second floors of a lovely old building, it is well laid out and was warm and comfortable. The bedrooms were clean and spacious with nice furnishings and each one had its own bath/shower room so we had no arguments! There is a handy utility room with a washer dryer and all laundry facilities. We made great use of this room for boots when we'd spent the day walking.

Kitchen facilities could not be faulted, everything was home from home. Ample pots, pans and glasses as well as tin opener, corkscrew, scissors etc. There was plenty of room to eat as a family in the kitchen.

We loved the location of the property, There is private parking and on the Saturday that we arrived we parked and had no need to move the car until Wednesday because of the many beautiful walks straight from the door. there is some stunning scenery in the area. Additionally we made use of the local train service. Corbridge station is about 10-15 minutes walk from the property and from there we took a 40 minute direct train to Newcastle city centre, plenty of other destinations to choose from.

Corbridge has a small Co-op which is very handy for day to day items but we did a bigger shop on the first day at Hexham where there is a Waitrose and Tesco. We also made use of the local butcher and bakery for some lovely fresh goodies.

As a place to stay Corbridge was excellent. During the week we had a lovely city day, a day at the beach (Whitley Bay and Newbiggin-on-sea), walks along Hadrians wall for some rugged outdoors and Vindolanda for some history. Truly a week of contrasts.

If we were going back to the area we would not think twice about staying at this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovelylas...
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay in Corbridge at the Old Exchange”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just come back from a 3 night stay at the Old Exchange, my husband & I, my Mum and Dad and best friend and husband.
We loved the spaciousness of the flat, and having 3 en suites as 3 couples was great.
Everything you need is in the flat, kitchen fully equipped, living room comfortable and even has a dvd/blu ray player. Beds are comfortable as well.
It also has private parking which is a big plus as we had two cars and didn't have to worry about finding parking and paying for it by meter.
It is right in the heart of Corbridge, just 2 minutes from the co-op and bars/restaurants and the shops. We ate at the Errington arms, a five minute drive away and food there is excellent - ate there many times and cannot fault the food or service.
In Corbridge itself we ate at the Angel - again brilliant food and good atmosphere. We also ate at the chinese Artisam - and for lunch one day we ate at The larder a couple doors down from flat which has a good selection of local produce to try and buy afterwards.
If you dont have a car then the local buses to Hexham and Newcastle run from right outside the flat and are often.
We will recommend this flat to our friends and family - we will not hesitate to book again as had a great stay and if you need any local info/details then John is at hand to help.
Go and enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All Home Comforts”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay in this excellent holiday let. The furnishings were of a high standard and the owner, John, took great care to see that we were comfortable. The beds were to 5* hotel standard: how often can we say that in a holiday home. Corbidge itself is a lovely town and whilst the flat is in the middle of the town, the town is ver quiet after 10pm. Enjoy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark T
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a lovely place to stay”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

John the owner welcomed us into the property with lots of helpful information about corbridge, everything in the apartment was clean and tidy, all the bed linen was crisp and fresh.
A great place to stay
Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim E
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for exploring the area”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We wanted a base for walking Hadrian's wall - this flat was ideal, with the AD122 bus stopping outside. Corbridge is an attractive small town with good pubs shops and restaurants. The owner was very helpful and went out of his way to make us feel welcome. The flat was spacious and well equipped and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to friends, and would also stay there again. If the Wall isn't what you are after then there is plenty of other history and countryside within reach, and National Trust properties to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious, well equipped flat in good location. Helpful owner.
Liked least: Nothing of note.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing