We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Frendly like being invited in to somebodies home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Little Polynesian Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Titikaveka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We loved our stay at the little poly, the staff were extremely hospitable and always friendly.....from the manager Alex and his understudy Sam right through to the gardeners Moni who always had time for a chat and to let us know what's going on around the island. we will visit any resort where Alex manages as we will know there will be a welcoming face to greet us, he will be a asset to any hotels or resorts he has dealing with .......
The little poly was all we expected and lots more.
The NO kids policy was wonderful and I'm glad more hotels are going down this road.....Not that we don't like kids its just so nice to have that time away.
the rooms were always well kept and they did a night turn down every evening, its was quiet except for the sound of the sea which is always romantic.............hubby enjoyed walking out of the door right into the water.....
We will visit again that's for sure.
Oh and l forgot to mention the great lady cooks......great job ladies keep up the classes and I'm sure Alex will have a pay increase on the books soon...(LOL)

Room Tip: Any of the Beach front rooms are great but try not to get to near the pool area..........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mary1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

We recently had our wedding at The Little Polynesian Resort and the entire experience was a pleasure from beginning to end. Firstly, the front manager Vicki did a wonderful job with the planning. Reducing the stress and headache of having a destination wedding by liasing closely with me for a couple months in advance. Then when we showed up and after a brief chat about a few preferences for location of where we wanted the photos taken and archway, everything was ready to go.

The ceremony itself was beautiful and tastefully decorated with the pool deck transformed into a walkway with palm fronds laid out as runners and tiki torches lighting the way to a gorgeous jasmine ringed and scented palm archway. As we were just the two of us at the ceremony, Vicki and Kim Davis (hair dresser and makeup artist from the Pacific Salon Resort) helped with my dress and did a wonderful job with a complex corset! (Thanks Kim) The photographer, William Tuiravakai hired by Vicki did a wonderful job of capturing our special day. And the celebrant John Kenning was equally jubilant marrying us in front of a crowd of well wishers who had gathered by the pool to witness our union.

Overall, it was a remarkable experience and we had a great time. The only thing I could wish for was that we could do it again as it was such a magical experience, it almost didn't feel real at the time. We spent an additional two nights after the ceremony at Little Poly (we had already had two nights beforehand as part of a five night package we had purchased) and thoroughly enjoyed the rest of our stay. The overbeach are we stayed in was beautiful, simple and elegant with carefully partitioned bamboo walls and a luxurious daybed gazebo out the front of the verandah. The ocean itself was literally at our front doorstep and yet mature palms shielded the verandah from the full sun during the day. The weather held up remarkably well even though it was cyclone season (my only real worry as we had read it can get quite wet during Nov-April) but it only rained for five minutes at a stretch followed by sun.

Thanks again to the staff at Little Poly for making this a dream come true! Thanks for being part of our memories.

Isabelle & Lucian (Sydney, Australia)

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rushmore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Warm, friendly and helpful staff look after your every need in this pristine location, making Little Poly the best hotel for a romantic getaway. The no kids policy means there is always a pool side sun chair available, and ensures a peaceful, relaxing rest or swim. The beach is beautiful and great for swimming or snorkeling. We miss it already, thank you Billie, Nana, Alex and all of the staff for taking great care of us. Aaron and Amanda.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmandaMain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Little Poly - Fantastic place & accommodation. Cannot wait to go again.

Some of the details below:

Accommodation Layout:

10 Oceanfront deluxe bures and 4 garden bures.
When looking from the road (front of hotel) Oceanfront Bures #1-5 is on right hand side (No. 1 being furthest bure working towards no. 5 in the middle. In the middle separating Oceanfront Bures no.6-10 which is on the left hand side (starting at 6 with no. 10 at the furthest end) is the main part of the hotel. (Comments from everyone about number 6 relate to the kitchen being positioned on the side closest to bure 6 and there is some screening but not complete). We stayed in no. 10 which was great as we had one neighbour and a creek running into the ocean on the other side.

Oceanfront bures have open air shower, spa bath, then going in back door there is a toilet one side, shower the other, then twin hand basins. Then you can walk either side around the separating wall, to bedroom where there is a king size bed, built in day bed one side (you can store empty suitcases out of the way underneath this), wardrobe other side, then going forward from bedroom, two steps down (separated by a wall) to open plan couch, day bed, kitchenette (fridge, sink and coffee/tea making facilities) and round table for two. Double doors open up onto generous deck with 2 deckchairs and then the marvellous day bed for two (also on the deck). You can lie down on well cushioned day bed just footsteps away from sand and sea – with a great view.
P.S. You can see ocean from king bed if the blinds are up (2 blinds – one is block out and one is more shade blind which you can see partially through – your choice).

In this middle section of the hotel (between bures 5 & 6) going from the front of hotel towards the beach is where the reception desk, foyer, kitchen and restaurant and infinity pool are located. The restaurant overlooks the infinity pool and ocean and is a very popular restaurant on the island with visitors coming to eat there.
Garden rooms are behind bures no, 6-10 (separated by garden) in groups of 2 but each has private wall and gate. Did not get to go in one, but others say they were very comfortable and impeccable but no view.

Food:
Breakfast approx. 8am-10.30am– yes it is tropical only (cooked breakfast extra). A selection of 3-4 fruits, bread (which often included the onsite baked tasty breadfruit), spreads (butter, jam, marmite etc.), 3-4 cereals, 2 types of juice, milk, muffins, donuts sometimes, instant coffee or selections of tea. But really it is enough to eat – but agree a little variety would not hurt as by day 7 it was a little monotonous (and yes there were ant/flies as it is the tropics!). Cooked breakfast was tasty and e.g. for a decent size plate or bacon/sausages, eggs, hash brown, tomato was about NZ$15 which is about the going rate.

Lunch and dinner option at Little Poly were delicious and everyone seemed to be satisfied with quality and quantity. Very up market presentation of food – very pleasing to the eye and tasted great. Food focussed on Seafood/Turkey (if you are a non-sea food eater, it can be limiting – and menu did not change for the 7 days we were there). But note: no lunchtime burgers on menu which would be great if gourmet burger could be added!

Service:

No set time for room servicing but cleaning staff can work around the times you are in the bures.

Generally very clean and well kept (sometimes we had to ask for more additional towels but not an issue to get). There is a nightly turn down service as well. Garden / maintenance staff was a little overzealous at 8am in the morning but the grounds looked great when you woke. It is really great accommodation – one of the best we have stayed in.

Service at the restaurant was attentive and the food was of high calibre. Service time was ok and was slower at other restaurants but remember – go with the flow as it is island time everywhere – do not expect to get food in 10 minutes. As other reviews have indicated, all the staff was friendly, eager and willing to help (and if you need something – just ask). They can arrange tours, car/scooter hire (tip: call before you arrive and they can have it organised) and give general information regarding the island. They encourage you to try other places for food and experience the island, not just stay at the hotel which is great. Our restaurant pick on the island was Windjammer.

We immensely enjoyed our time at Little Poly and loved the beach bures. All the staff was great and friendly and willing to help. Beautiful place!

Tips:
- Cook Islands TV only has one station so if this is an issue, bring your own DVD’s or borrow from Little Poly’s video library
- You can snorkel off the beach in front of Little Poly, but at low tide if you are not a good snorkeler you can actually walk out in the lagoon to where the coral/reef is and see the fish so bring reef shoes.
- Little Poly internet access is expensive $25 for 80mg or $50 for 200mg but if you have a sport loving partner (cricket at the time we went) it is a must (note need to bring own ipad/pc if this is needed). Some internet access in town but not sure of the price.
- Book other restaurants if eating out for dinner (and lunch in peak season times) as they are often fully booked if you just turn up – all recommendations on trip advisor for restaurants are pretty accurate. Windjammer was fantastic!
- Hire a scooter or car (whole island ring road is about a 45 -50 minute trip) as restaurants, takeaways & other activities are scattered throughout the island. Get Little Poly to arrange for you before you arrive! Easy to drive around. Note there is 2 island buses (1 clockwise, 1 anticlockwise – fare payable) that stop if you flag them down – they each run once an hour but this can be limiting if you just missed it – taxi’s way too expensive.- Go to Saturday morning markets – food, drink, fruit, souvenirs, sarongs etc – tourists and locals all go.
- Talk to Alex – Little Poly’s manager – he has worked everywhere!

Room Tip: Read review but not number 5 or 6 if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank JNTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I feel bad for leaving it this long to leave a review...Little Polynesian was probably the highlight of our honeymoon back in September, even if the weather in Rarotonga was not that great this week. We were lucky to be upgraded on arrival to one of the Beach Bungalows and that was just the incredible: the beach is just in front of the room and the sea there is great to go for a snorkel or just a walk down the beach. As a keen photographer, my husband had a great time setting up timelapses of the stars or the waves whilst I read my book in the cushioned seat outside.
The pool area is great as well - we loved the fact the hotel was relaxed and super friendly, this is more our style than the large fancy resorts. It's been said enough but the BEST thing about the hotel is its staff and how friendly/helpful/competent they all are. We were already nostalgic about the place as we were saying goodbye to all of them with a hug and a kiss.
I think Little Poly will be hard to beat in our list of best hotel experiences!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

This boutique hotel is perfect for honeymooners or a couple that want peace and quiet in an idyllic setting. With around 15 rooms there is never more than about four people around the pool. The staff at the Little Poly are what make it special though, genuinely friendly, people who can't do enough for you. I felt like giving them hugs as we left.

We visited in Dec and the temp was a comfortable 25c and when it rained it only did so for 30 mins and helped bring the humidity levels down.

Much has been written about the tropical breakfast and if you're someone who can't live without a full cooked breakfast then you might be unhappy but then don't come to The Cook Islands - stay in Europe or the USA. We thought there was plenty of tasty foods on offer. We had dinner at the Little Poly on our first night and weren't disappointed, the seafood was delicious and as good as any other restaurant we ate at.

The hotel is relaxed in its attitude and doesn't have that over commercial feel which ruins so many hotel experiences. The only dilemma we had was which type of room to have because of the large price difference. We had a garden room which was big, clean and boasted an outdoor bathroom (as well as an indoor one). It was pretty special to sit outside with the privacy of a high whitewashed wall and have a jacuzzi. The beach rooms do have an incredible view but so did we when we moved to the pool or beach area.

Finally, I love the fact that the little Poly's website is not glamorous. All these tropical hotels look the same. I bet most people read reviews now rather than judge a hotel on their website.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Little Poly is the best place to relax for couples, the manager Alex and his staff are incredibly helpful and make your stay even more pleasant.

But the place is unbelievable the bungalows right in front of that wonderful white sandy beach, the clear blue water, just makes the perfect place for couples.

We were there in december 2011 and are already thinking of going back.

The place Little Poly is situated in is the best in the island as the beach is always clean, no rocks or dirt, and the hotel is very clean and just a perfect cosy little place to get away from the busy world we life in....

I would recommend this place to couples that want to scape the everyday craziness of life and just do nothing for a change!! (in saying that there is a lot of things you can do like kayaking, snorkelling, fishing you name it and the staff makes it happen!)

Room Tip: bungalow 6 is right next to the pool and also the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
1.8 km away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
3 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.2 km away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
3.8 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
566 reviews
2.8 km away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Polynesian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Polynesian Resort

Address: Main Road, Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Titikaveka
Price Range: $470 - $943 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Little Polynesian Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspiring Romance … For those seeking privacy and luxury, look no further than our award-winning 4.5 star Little Polynesian Resort. Our leading boutique resort, a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, makes an ideal location for honeymooners and couples seeking a romantic picturesque escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Little Polynesian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Polynesian Hotel Titikaveka
Little Polynesian Titikaveka
Little Polynesian Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing