We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”
Review of Zur Alten Brucke

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zur Alten Brucke
Ranked #1 of 3 Schiltach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Arriving very tired after a trip from Australia and a very slow drive from Frankfurt we were greeted as we parked the car, immediately outside the establishment. Baggage wisked upstairs. Room excellent, clean,quiet, and beds very comfortable. Meals, dinner and breakfast served with the same friendliness and promptness. Food excellent. Made to feel at home from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. A great spot in a lovely town with an even friendlier host. As we often do the trip through the area a revisit is almost mandatory. A real gem.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMloinftfeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mogler, Owner at Zur Alten Brucke, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. You were excellent guests, cooking for you was a pure pleasure. I am so happy you had fun and I hope to see you again. Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    43
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
76
170
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2012

After a whirlwind couple of days in the tourist mecca's of Paris and Heidelberg it was such a delight to arrive at Zur Alten Brucke in the peaceful town of Schiltach which was to be our home for the next few days. The Blackforest area and Schiltach old town were as beautiful as we anticipated and the experience was hugely improved by Michael and his teams hospitality and kindness. Zur Alten Brucke is excellently situated on one of the rivers in Schiltach only steps away from the old town Marketplatz. 10 minutes walk will take you into the Blackforest along the many walking trails in the area. The comfortable rooms have all expected modern amenities including free wifi. We were particularly delighted by the beergarden across the road from the Guest House which was our first stop after checking in. Michael is a wonderful host and a fantastic chef and it was a pleasure staying at his Guest House. Make sure you stay here if you are visting Schiltach and try Michael's Maultaschen!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obscure_reason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mogler, Owner at Zur Alten Brucke, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you so much for your review and for your business while you were staying with me. It was a true pleasure and I hope our paths cross again! Regards, Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This was my first travel to Germany and Michael made my stay comfortable, relaxing and worthwhile.
Very attentive to customer needs, Michael was keen to ensure the food that was prepared was always fresh.

We had dinner all 3 days in his restaurant and he ensured that vegeterians like me had something nice to eat.

Rooms were good and comfortable for 3 people.
Walking distance from Schitach Mitte is a big advantage for those without cars.
Its on plain ground hence no need to carry bags around on hilly slopes.

Will definitely visit again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaibhavmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mogler, Owner at Zur Alten Brucke, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
I was slow to respond and I am sorry -- Please know that I appreciate your review very much and I am so happy you enjoyed Schiltach -- regards, Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Near the end of our honeymoon, my husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Zur Alten Brucke. We got a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the pretty town houses. The food and service were beyond great and we feel we got more than expected. In fact, we liked the food so much that we ate our lunch and dinner there as well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Girl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mogler, Owner at Zur Alten Brucke, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Glad you are coming back. I will count on it! Thanks! :-) Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

On arrival here, we were surprised to find it not up to the very high standard of their website. BUT, after a short time we were happy with their offerings. It was simply a case of adjusting our expectations. The place is comfortable, the hosts are warm and helpful, and the village is one of those out of the box places we all dream about. We were especially lucky to arrive on the one weekend a year when they have their "Farmers Market" in town. What we found was really charming and the old crafts of this area were well represented. A real delight. By the time we departed we have fallen for the place completely, and hope to go back another year at this time. We stayed in October and enjoyed the autumn. The couple who own the place are a great combination as he is a local and she is American, so English in no problem.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meryll W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mogler, Owner at Zur Alten Brucke, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thanks! I appreciate your comments and glad we were able to "win" you over. The Black Forest is special, unlike most places-- remote, old, small villages, a slower pace. All that being said, I am really happy you had a good time and you took the time to write. Thank you very much, Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Can only agree with all the positive reviews of this ideally situated hotel. Excellent meal in the beer garden beside the Schiltach River.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mogler, Owner at Zur Alten Brucke, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you so much for your stay and also you comment! I hope to see you again! MIchael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and we really enjoyed it here. Service was good. Food was good. The room was clean. Scenery is fabulous too. The train station is very near the place so it is easily accessible to other parts of black forest. The room we had had a big balcony which allowed us to enjoy the view in the little town of schiltach in black forest. Michael and Lisa are very friendly and warm towards us which made us feel at home.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l_J_e_a_n_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mogler, Owner at Zur Alten Brucke, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and most importantly thank you for posting such a great review. We feel a personal connection to all our guests and you were no exception. We hope to see you again! Michael and Lisa (and Max)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiltach
0.3 km away
Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle
Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle
#1 of 2 in Schiltach
197 reviews
3.1 km away
Hotel Waldblick
Hotel Waldblick
#1 of 2 in Schenkenzell
87 reviews
9.5 km away
Hotel Kirnbacher Hof
Hotel Kirnbacher Hof
#1 of 7 in Wolfach
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Naturparkhotel Adler St. Roman
Naturparkhotel Adler St. Roman
#1 of 1 in Wolfach - St. Roman
222 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Winterhaldenhof
Hotel Winterhaldenhof
#2 of 2 in Schenkenzell
35 reviews
27.4 km away
Die Reichsstadt
Die Reichsstadt
#1 of 5 in Gengenbach
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zur Alten Brucke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zur Alten Brucke

Property: Zur Alten Brucke
Address: Schramberger Str. 13, 77761 Schiltach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Schiltach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Schiltach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zur Alten Brucke 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small intimate hotel on the bank of the Schiltach River. Incredible restaurant with full bar and menu. The outdoor beer garden on the river is described by all who visit as "Boardwalk in Schiltach." Panoramic views from every direction sitting on the waters edge. If you want to stay where everyone will know your name, come to the Brucke. You will love our town and our little Black Forest Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Zur Alten Brucke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing