We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals of my life! And... the longest!”
Review of Altes Kelterhaus

Altes Kelterhaus
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Wintrich
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed May 10, 2018 via mobile

Wow- just had dinner here in their beautiful garden,
listening to the evening cuckoo bird and watching the local (very cute and clean!) cat wander among the feet of the patrons. The meal was quite possibly the best I have ever had- simple ingredients but surprising, made with truly excellent skills and care. I felt it was better than several Michelin starred restaurants I have tried. The staff couldn't have been nicer, and despite my poor German, they helped tranlslate the menu. I was especially impressed by the homemade breads and butters/herbs at the start and especially
loved the tarragon oil (served in a little medecine bottle and dropper). The Argentinian steak with a pak choy mousse was perfection, and just everything was simple but elegant, surprising and just...amazing. Fancy, but also at the same time very humble and sincere. The only surprise was that our dinner took almost hours, which was hard as we were tired and arrived at 8:00pm. But in hindsight, this seems to be a place where the chefs really put their hearts into everything, so you just have to go wth the flowand enjoy it. Advice to potential patrons: 1) GO! 2) have a full wallet and an emoty stomach- we were already sariscied at the generous amuse bouches but each dish was not too big 3) come with spare time and patience, and you will be rewarded!
I really cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank LouiseinCham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 59 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2017 via mobile

Awesome food. Definitely going back
Fresh bread- good starters and an great main - had the "Seezunge" for 2

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Gemmyfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2016 via mobile

Enjoyd great dinner with group of 7 wine professionals. Very creative dishes made by funky cheff. Comptehensive wine list. Worth to stopp on the Mosel visit.

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank PasiK874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Very good food, very nice people and a local pub too. The Chef "Uwe" and his wife gives you the best attention for a nice an less expensive meal! :)

Date of visit: October 2013
1  Thank OleMortenLonli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We went there today on the basis of trip advisor.
Was a bit concerned that the last review was in 2012. And can see why
The grass outside was unkept and although the place looked first class inside the overall feel was a bit down.
There were about 4 couples in the place spread out inside and out so no atmosphere at all.
We asked for a table for 4 at just after 7pm and the waitress (only one we could see) asked the chef who said no room. We queried this as there was loads of room.
Can only think they had a very large party coming in, of which there was no sign, or the chef wanted an early night.
The food we saw people eating looked nice but this not a place I would recommend until they sort their service levels.
Guest house Simon down the road was complete opposite
Friendly staff and some if the best wine I have ever had.

Date of visit: August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank KevinSoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Altes Kelterhaus also viewed

Wintrich, Rhineland-Palatinate
Piesport, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Wintrich, Rhineland-Palatinate
Piesport, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Brauneberg, Rhineland-Palatinate
Wintrich, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Altes Kelterhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing