We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
47
16
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
47
16
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shared bathroom guest house older home yogurt english muffin penny mariner ferry tub deck
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 68 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2020

When we got there, my husband went to check-in, but there was nobody anywhere. He eventually noticed a note that we had to go to the Mariner Tours office to check-in. We clearly hadn't completely read the website, as we didn't realize there was only a shared bathroom (with only a tub) for 4 guest rooms - not ideal. There was a second bathroom (the only one with a shower) down a set of treacherous winding stairs that we didn't notice until the next day. The mattress creaked every time I moved, though my husband's side was quiet. The room was stuffy - thank goodness there was a fan, though only one electrical outlet, so it had to be by the door. The room (and house) was very clean and well-maintained, though. Breakfast was continental and completely self-serve, including coffee (the pot markings for water didn't match the machine, so I put 12 "cups" of water in the pot and 12 scoops of coffee, but when it finished, it only had made 6 "cups" - strongest coffee ever!) No english muffins this day, so just bagels (no cream cheese - thank goodness for peanut butter!), bread, cereals, apples, bananas, oranges, yogurt and fruit salad (individual containers in syrup). The breakfast table was set for people to sit side-by-side... We're in COVID days, yet there was absolutely no spacing. We took our food to our room, instead. There are no TVs in the rooms, just in a small shared space (again, COVID) and no wifi. Not much to do in the evening.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jhk515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2019

My husband and I took advantage of the B&B accommodations plus whale-watching package with Mariner Cruises. We've been out with Mariner before, but this was the first time we stayed at the Bay of Fundy Inn. Our room was beautiful and clean. A continental breakfast is included in the price of your stay, One nice thing about staying at the B&B is that you can make use of the kitchen, if you choose, and buy bacon and eggs (which we did), then prepare them in the kitchen. Just like home! There is a shared bathroom with tub upstairs, and a shared bathroom with shower downstairs. The view over Westport Harbour is breathtaking. Thank you, Penny!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank messengrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2019

Very clean, and decorated to fit with the age of the house...beautiful. Our bed was comfortable and the Inn was very quiet. There were some minor issues surrounding the use of the shared bath, but that is to be expected when booking this type of lodging. Breakfast was very convenient. Thank you Penny.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2019 via mobile

Beautifully Maintained house turned-inn. Formerly the home of the doctor here on Brier Island in 1800’s. Located right “downtown”, a short walk to everything needed for a great small town Nova Scotia visit.

Our host, Penny, was quick to address a water issue which happened at 9pm. She provided us with water in the bathrooms for washing up and flushing toilets. Fixed by the time we got up in the morning.

Most come here for the whale watching but there are some lovely remote locations with lighthouses, rustic beaches for bird and sea-life watching as well. Saw sea lions, many different sea birds, and a pod of porpoises swimming by.

Need to come back and spend more time birding and beach-combing.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank DanK674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 2, 2018

We stayed four nights so we could explore all the birding spots on the island...as well as take the whale watch boat. We saw whales and birds, met wonderful people -- residents and visitors -- and fell in love with Brier Island. Rooms look over the harbor; continental breakfast is provided; take a short drive or walk onto the ferry for lunch and dinner.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews