We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Newly-renovated rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingwood Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sibu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kingwood Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Sibu
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Newly-renovated rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed in the new wings of the hotel. It was new and nice renovated. I would recommend to others. However, the limited car park is a big problem. It was so hard to find a parking, and the hotel car park is bad, narrowed design. Personally think that breakfast provided at the lobby needs improvements, no appetite for more. I prefer to spend for food outside instead of the complimentary breakfast. And I requested for an international adapter and an extra towel during my arrival, they told me limited staffs and I need to wait. Then I waited for almost 2 hours. I do think that the hotel has lots to improve where hospitality is concerned.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misschai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    37
    42
    12
    10
See reviews for
19
13
7
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I stayed here during my last visit to Sibu. The biggest hotel in Sibu, but not sure whether it's the best or not. Personally, i think Kingwood is a nice & comfortable hotel to stay. Most important, it’s clean and free of bed bugs. :) Basic amenities provided but the hair dryer is an old style type and not functioning very well. My hair not even dries using it. The tv channel are limited. At least install Astro, will do. One more thing, as we went back to the hotel at night, around 12am, the surrounding are so dim because most light are switched off and it’s kind of insecure. The prices are affordable and its value for money. Location of this hotel are also good for it’s at the heart of Sibu, can easily find food stalls around the hotel but mostly the non-halal stall. Overall, this hotel is recommended. Might consider this hotel for my next visit to Sibu.

Room Tip: For quality sleep, choose room facing river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missWj83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
92 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Located centrally in sibu and within walking distance to the town centre. It takes around 30-40 minutes by car to reach this location from Sibu airport.

It has a new wing which is far better from the previously reviewed old wing. There is still on-going construction but noise levels are minimal. Rooms face either the town or the rajang river. I stayed at the new wing.

Doors are equipped with key card.

Rooms are clean and new. Pillows and bed is comfortable. Room comes with a writing desk and hairdryer next to it. Fridge and coffee making facilities available.

No safe available in the room. Iron is available only on request. Housekeeping is closed after 10pm and resumes at 7am. (so, if you need the iron early in the morning - request the night before)

Wifi is complementary. However there are frequent disruptions to the connection but acceptable.

Easy to find food around this area.

If you're just looking to stay for a few days on business, this hotel is ideal.

Room Tip: Personally, the town view is better cause the Rajang river is always yellow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john_gpjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

This hotel is the biggest in Sibu as it recently added a new wing to the old building. It is within walking distance to the esplanade, the express boat terminal, the wet markets, and a few other local attractions nearby as Sibu town tends to be quite centralised.

My room was located in the old wing, large enough to accommodate 2 queen beds. Though clean, the furniture looks worn. The mini fridge was missing for some reason. A kettle jug, cups and saucers were provided but there wasn't any tea or coffee available! There was an old television set in the room but channels were very limited, with only CNN, NHK, Lotus Macau and a few others. Picture quality was bad, so not much of entertainment there.

Buffet breakfast was available from 6.30 a.m. onwards. The spread of food was ordinary, the food was not labeled so people may not know what they were eating.

I was having a seminar there, and for the 3 different sessions I had to go to different rooms all over the hotel. For session 1, I was aghast to find out that 80 persons were being cramped into a small room. Session 2 was held at a ballroom, but the place smelled stale. The venue for session 3 changed at the last minute without us being informed. I felt like I was being taken for granted.

I requested for late check out. At first I was turned down, but later on, it was extended to 1.30 p.m. I did not see a concierge, so I had to go out of the hotel to search for my own taxi.

I do think that the hotel has lots to improve where hospitality is concerned.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank glyn0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sibu
1.7 km away
Paramount Hotel Sibu
Paramount Hotel Sibu
#9 of 11 in Sibu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.7 km away
Premier Hotel
Premier Hotel
#6 of 11 in Sibu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.5 km away
Tanahmas Hotel
Tanahmas Hotel
#1 of 11 in Sibu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
RH Hotel
RH Hotel
#10 of 11 in Sibu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.0 km away
Promenade Hotel Bintulu
Promenade Hotel Bintulu
#1 of 16 in Bintulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
2.4 km away
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#5 of 10 in Sibu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingwood Hotel

Property: Kingwood Hotel
Address: Kingwood Hotel Lorong Lanang 4, Sibu 96000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Sibu
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Sibu
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingwood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing