We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unique place”

Review of DDG Retreat

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
244 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tented camp -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Casares, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 244 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Martin Ø
1 review
“Unique place”
Reviewed September 10, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a absolutely fantastic time at DDG Retreat. We stayed at the new maharaja tent. It was so fine! The tent had everything you want and need. So your only concern is to enjoy your stay and the unique view.
Plus Daria and her staff does everything to make sure that you have a lovely stay. We differently come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia Z
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed in the Royal Tent and it was absolutely Amazing! The room was incredible with astonishing Views! Literally did not have to leave the whole weekend we were there! I would highly recommend anyone to go!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elysed123
La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful tent with a spectacular view. Luxury at it's best!”
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My husband and I stayed in the Maharadja tent for a long weekend. Having visited the DDG a couple of times before, we were very excited to see the new 'tent'. We were not disappointed! The tent is huge and beautifully decorated, clearly a lot of time and love has gone into creating this atmosphere.

On the very large terrace, there is small private pool, a bed which is perfect for star gazing at night, a sitting area, a bbq and an outside pool and shower. Everything you could possibly want, including fantastic views of the mountains. Inside is beautifully decorated with chandeliers and cool ornaments etc. We were welcomed with a bottle of chilled cava and a lovely fruit platter, which is a nice touch.

It's really not possible to do the DDG retreat justice in words, you really have to see it for yourself! It is by far the most beautiful, romantic place we have ever stayed and the family are so friendly and helpful every time. We'll be back soon to check out Royal Tent Bambu :)

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella B
1 review
“3 days in paradise!”
Reviewed August 20, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I have been wanting to stay here for quite a while now, but was always put off by the prices, waiting for a special occasion to visit. Let me asure you it was worth every single penny! The drive up was a picturesque, exciting experience up through the winding road to Casares. A lush green landscape with stunning views dotted with spanish ventas (resturants) and artisinal shops. The retreat itself is hidden at the end of a road where you would not expect such luxary. Once the gates to Casa Daria open you are transported to another world. We were greated by the lovely Olga and her son (who took care of bringing our luggage to our room) presented with fresh orange juice (as they knew i was pregnant - normally it would have been a glass of Cava) and taken on a tour of the place. Stunned is not the word. Once the tour was over the place was ours. We stayed at Casa Pino, a rural style house with a beautuful garden with an outside porch, pleanty of areas to chill out on and its own plunge pool/jacuzzi. The only thing we could hear was the sound of birds singing. Bliss. The communal areas were something out of a movie...the infinity pool with incredible views and awesome facilites from saunas to a bar to a variety of chill out zones, surrounded by gorgeous gardens. I couldn't get enough of it! Loved that at any one time there is a total of 3 couples staying at the retreat, so we mostly had this area to ourselves. I am so glad we finally decided to stay here, and look foward to the day we can return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scaraman
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing weekend away!”
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I stayed with my girlfriend for two nights in the Maharaja Tent. It is (as the name suggests) an actual tent of thick canvas with but you wouldn't guess you were in one. It is held up as any fixed structure would be. The decoration is beautiful and the room was amazing upon arrival. The private plunge pool is large with its own sunbed and there is an outdoor shower and bath for those brave enough to bathe under the stars (and don't worry, you have complete privacy). There is an outdoor seating and dining area too with a gas barbecue provided for those who wish to take their own food. My girlfriend commented that the pictures of the room online do not do the room justice.

We paid for the breakfast add on and it was worth every cent. The breakfast is large (4 courses provided) and everything tasted amazing. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

The communal infinity style pool is just as beautiful and great for a bigger swim.

At night the view of the night sky is breathtaking and the scene of the town in the distance is incredible.

I would gladly recommend this place for anyone looking for a romantic weekend away.

Room Tip: Get the breakfast and cava add on. It is really worth the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bomby1981
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Mini-moon!”
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We last stayed here about 6 years ago and were just as delighted to come back for our honeymoon as we were when we first discovered this little gem in Casares. The drive up to the retreat is a steep one but as you weave your way up into the hills, you soon realise that tranquility will be guaranteed.

The welcome we received was like that of old friends reuniting and I'm pleased to say that very little had changed in this respect, as well as many other aspects of the DDG Retreat experience.

We booked to stay in Casa Pino, which was where we stayed last time and once again it didn't disappoint. Beautiful and spotless, we began to unwind immediately, with the small luxuries dotted around the room making our relaxation even easier. The jacuzzi pool and secluded outdoor bath within the Casa Pino walls were very welcome additions but it didn't compete with the resorts main pool area. This is the perfect place to relax and get some sun. The cool infinity pool, honesty bar, music system, sauna and new rooftop sun bed area made it a tough decision whether to venture out of DDG for the day - you can quite easily lie there from breakfast to dinner just relaxing.

As mentioned, the staff and management were extremely friendly - nothing was too much trouble. We had paid extra for breakfast each morning and the food was incredible, as well as plentiful.

Casa Pino has a small kitchen area and BBQ which we made good use of during our last stay. This time we opted to head out for dinners and taxis to and from restaurants were never an issue. There are also a number of great restaurants nearby if you decided to drive.

To sum up, we love this place. We have stayed in some lovely places and this is one we have a particular fondness for and will no doubt keep coming back to. Thank you Daria for all your help and to Olga for making our stay so enjoyable - we'll see you soon. X

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lily R
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Maharaja tent paradise.”
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

What can I say about this place, well to start the decoration was beautiful. Pure luxury in every detail. And comfort like you have never known. The mattress must have given me better sleep than my own (no lies) it's the most prestigious marquee tent for 2 I have ever seen. And the views of the mountain are superb. I haven't been as relaxed in my life. The staff are lovely and I do recommend getting the breakfast included. Totally worth the price as it tasted like heaven. P.s the photos on the site don't do it just. You have to see for yourself

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing