We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Das Inselhotel im Faakersee
Nearby Hotels
US$122
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Karawanken Lodge(Faak am See)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Pension Kathe(Faak am See)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
27
14
3
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
14
3
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall boatleave your carislandchildrensaunabeddinnerlake
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 49 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

We just spent a long weekend at the Insel hotel and it definitely made our weekend from vienna even after a four hour drive. We love getting picked up at the Insel hotel dock via the small boat and we checked in an hour early. The room was great for us and our young college son even though the best view came from the shower! But there was no time for showering when you could play tennis, swim, hike, run. Sauna, and dip in the lake yes completely natural. The Faakersee was just pristine and inviting. It reminded me of all of or collective summer camps Oregon and North Carolina minus the counsellors and forced tooth brushing!

The food was just perfect for our early dinner although we skipped one course. My beef was spot on and my son and wife loved the white fish. Breakfast was European as it gets (salmon and lox) but I missed a great cup of coffee but survived with that chalky milk and expresso. Needless to say it was a full breakfast and our waiter for dinner and lunch time who also works in Lech was superb.

We had a late check out and had free reign of the grounds until we left around 3 pm. I would stay longer next time ditch the wifi and just find a hammock and read and when needed jump in the clean fresh lake! There were lots of kids around but because they were having so much fun paddling, swimming and even using a diving board it was kein problem.

I have a feeling we will return to Insel Hotel soon!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank 2020hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2015 via mobile

Hi all,
I was here for a 3 day/2 night business meeting with my colleagues. The best part about the hotel is its surroundings and the way of getting there. You have to leave your car on the main-land and a small boat brings you and your luggage to the island. (24/7 service) You can notice that the hotel is already pretty old and no noticable renovations have been made. The rooms were sparesly furnished, very large and the bathroom was farely new/modern. I found a used bandaid next to my bed and lots of hair throughout the bathroom. The staff at the reception and restaurant were friendly but when confronted with the two above issues, only one was taken care of. Breakfast was great & a lunch buffet especially prepared for us was mediocre. All in all, I would probably not come back, both for business or pleasure - mainly for hygiene reasons.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
Thank disndatdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2015 via mobile

We've just spent 5 nights in this unique hotel. The owners have cleverly retained its natural charm and many guests have been coming here for decades. It felt slightly like being admitted to a private club, but in a nice way. The setting is stunning, the staff good ( especially Antonio the maitre d' ) and the food way beyond expectation. We enjoyed our stay but the absence of aircon or fans with temperatures in 30's was not ideal. Our only real gripe was the large number of small children who were still running wild and/or squawking at dinner. Sadly that would put us off returning. If you have children it's a perfect peaceful haven with real charm.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gweriniaeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2015

Enjoy PEACE & QUIETNESS (no cars), a wonderful crystal clear lake being great for swimming, expect good 'traditional service' (not the typical (sorry) faceless international Hiltons, Sheratons, Hyatts etc.), be delighted by the wonderful close Karawanken mountains, with the 'Mittagskogel' seemingly watching over your holidays. Indulge in a superb breakfast and dinner offerings. Relax in the lovely manicured gardens and bath facilities and row around the island, This is bliss all around! Do not change anything at the hotel, keep it as gorgeous as it is, please. Sample all the surrounding sights of the South of Carinthia, drive a good hour on the lovely picturesque autobahn to Udine, about an hour to Bled/Slowenia or only some 2 and half to Venice, then return to paradise...

Room Tip: the extra cost for a balcony may be worth the expense
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bromeisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2014

This hotel has fine dinning, excellent staff, tennis, swimming, and island forrest trails that can lead you around the island with visa views of the lake. A hotel boat will take you to and from the island just adds to the experience. While I was staying at the hotel, this facility was used for group meetings, weddings as well as private guests effortlessly.

Room Tip: Views of the lake.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews