We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
10
15
17
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
15
17
1
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 48 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2017

great service - the hotel people try to be really hospitable and obliging. the hotel itself and its gardens might need some refurbishing, but our room in the "schlössl" was perfect, and the morning swim in the pool was refreshing. perfect for tackling the bike routes and ski slopes of the area.

Room tip: pick a room with lake view
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mampf58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonnenhuegel, other at Hotel Sonnenhugel & Ferienschlossl, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2018

Dear mampf58!

Thanks a lot for you nice valuation! Now we use the low season to do that "refreshing" what you obviously ment. Please come again next summer and enjoy that. Kind regards from the Sonnenhügel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2016

We just spent 6 days at this Hotel & what a great time we had, we was there for bike week & everybody at the Hotel was so polite a room over looking the lake which was a bonus.Breakfast was first class catering for all tastes if you went hungry then that is your fault.We never waited more than a couple of minutes for a drink in the evening & our room was cleaned every day all in all a very well run Hotel.
Looking forward to returning next year for bike week.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lewis7962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonnenhuegel, other at Hotel Sonnenhugel & Ferienschlossl, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2018

Dear Lewis7962,
thanks a lot for your visit and you grading! We look forward to welcome you next summer! Best wishes from Sonnenhügel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2015

We are staying for many years in a row in this hotel, twice a year, in winter. Beautiful ski area. The service and the breakfasts and dinners in Hotel Sonnenhügel are always excellent. This time however at the gala dinner, the chef outperformed himself and did an amazing job. He really deserves a few Michelin stars on this one! Sincere compliments, well done!

Room tip: We've stayed in this hotel for many years and always we were staying in beautiful rooms.
Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Johanna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Careful.....this is NOT a 4 star hotel!,,
The location is not bad if you overlook the lake. The rooms are very basic, clean and very small in comparison to international standards.
I booked room and breakfast...breakfast very basic and the restaurant needs immediate remodeling...as it looks like the 70's.
During breakfast I did not see one service personnel stopping by my table at all.....to be fair they had a BUS full of guest from the prior night and they all invaded the restaurant at one time......therefore food was scarce and I did not wanted to wait in line with 80 other starving bus travelers

The staff is great and friendly.

I came with my motorcycle and careful when you read garage....I could only park there one night as the spaces are limited and was told they were for the "bosses" :(

Rooms, small with no amenities , one little bar of soap and 2 bags of shower gel, that is it.....for a 4 star hotel??!!!

Sorry to say, but I will not come back....as I checked around and there are TONS of other properties right on the water (a little more expensive but finer)

Room tip: If you decide to stay here, then there is only one CHOICE, overlooking the lake with balcony!! The view is worth a LOT :)
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have visited Gerlitzen many times and this was our first visit to this hotel.We were delayed on arrival and they made sure that we got a substanial meal after a very late arrival with a lengthy transfer.The food is very good quality and immensely varied-it includes a large buffet for breakfast and dinner(starter, middle course and desert) but also with a dinner main course that is served at the table.The drinks are inclusive in the package and the quality again (local beer and wine) is of a high standard.The waiting staff are attentive and very pleasant.This made the dining room the best place to start and end a long ski day with the kids.
The hotel room- apartment( 2 rooms one with a flexible sofa bed) we had was more than adequate for a family of four with seperate toilet and shower room which offered some flexibility.
The hotel is situated only 2km from the main ski gondola and they also lay on a ski-bus which takes the pressure off finding a parking space at the bottom of the kanzlebahn in a car.The ski pass is also included in the rate and I assume, but can't confirm, it is discounted. It is also located in one of the most scenic areas in Karnten on the shores of stunning Lake Ossiach. I understand the hotel is family run and with Franz, their hotel manager, this all comes through as a place that strives to provide good service and a quality stay at a very reasonable rate.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews