We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
57
19
5
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
19
5
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 87 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We booked a junior suite and a single room in this hotel for 8 nights. We got an upgrade from junior suite to the "tower suite". The rooms are beautifully decorated and are very spacious even for the single room.
There is a fabulous breakfast buffet with cooking on demand. You don't get dark looks if you make a sandwich to take to the slopes for your lunch.
Infrastructure for sport in the hotel is outstanding. There is a sauna-village with no less than 7 different kinds of saunas and both pools (one bubbling) are excellent (great views on mountains). The squash room is great as well as fitness room and enormous relaxation room. Running is a pleasure on the Forst Strasse to Bichlalm or down on the walkway to Madseit or Juns.
There is a free xfer from the hotel door to the slopes. Just ask hotel reception or at the Tenne near the Gletscherbahn and they will graciously call the free taxi for transferring you.
Even beginning of April 2013 it was possible to return to the hotel on skis by the Ski-route 1a and then on the special ski track.
There is ample covered parking space.
We were pampered by the wonderful staff (they have their own quarters in a nice building above the hotel).
Food is generally more than ok at the restaurant. The wine list is interesting and contains nice wines. Service at the tables is of varying quality, but always very friendly and never "überhöflich".
But...
Connection to INTERNET is lousy. Overloaded wifi requires frequent login or repair, sometimes no connection. You will spend hours of your hard earned holiday trying to connect to or repair this internet link.
Gmail does not work with outlook and SSH is rejected, probably hotel router ports 22 and 995 have been blocked by an overzealous or paranoid ICT employee. When I complained about those issues,an employee came at once with his laptop and tried the wifi out, which decided to work at that time. The employee promised to mention to the ICT technician about the ports 22 and 995 thing. However, nothing was fixed during our holiday: the wifi kept having problems and I could not contact my office INTRANET with the SSH as I do usually, and that was not good, some urgent matters had to be deferred or killed. The hotel seems to have other issues with its technicians, as illustrated by the elevator maintenance: one day the elevator light signalling the 4th floor ceased working. The next day it started working again after a maintenance session, but the elevator became kind of crazy (door would not close unless activating the bell button, elevator would stop at unwanted floors and then opening the door only a very short time...) meaning the elevator had to be stopped for security reasons. Fortunately, the next morning it was fixed.
Food is generally more than ok, but the main dish of the dinner was often dry and tasteless, as if it came from the deep frozen state. Also, french fries were overfried, resulting in a rather hard affair with no soft potato meat inside (probably frozen too).
For you guys who put a price on that kind of thing: there are no amenities in the bathroom, otherwise equipped with a (giant) tub. There is no fridge in the suite, what is a problem if you need to keep baby's milk good...
Ski-pass can be delivered by the hotel desk at no charge, and this saves you the hassle of going to the gletscherbahn. However, if you buy from the hotel, your ski-pass will have personal info (name and age) written on it and this might be a drawback if you plan to share a ski-pass and swap it for the baby to sit. If you buy the ski-pass at the gletscherbahn no personal info whatsoever is asked nor printed on it.,
I realize Hohenhaus deserves a much better rating than "average", but the internet deficiencies are just too gross to overlook. It is worrying to notice the port 22 closure, because it cannot be due to incompetence or laziness.It denotes a worrying denial of secure internet communications to the hotel guest, I want to mention that I have never seen this closure before, in the hundred or so hotels equipped with wifi I have been to till now. I believe hotel management should have a very serious chat with the ICT department guys...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights here, and it was excellent bar a few things. the hotel is great and in a fantastic location, with a free shuttle bus to the ski lift, staff very friendly and helpful, food was nice but could have done with more meat (though I am a 90 kilo bloke so maybe thats just me), other than that it was a good selection.
The spa area is without doubt the best I have been to in a hotel, very nice pool, saunas top class, jacuzzi, small gym, enough to keep you busy for 30 mins. Squash court, good for drills but not really playing but I used it twice a day.
Its real only downfall is that even though its a now smoking hotel, once they open the bar doors the whole lobby is filled with smoke which I personally hate, but you may not.
Again the location is fantastic though in really bad snow conditions you have problems getting to the hotel in a normal 2 wheel drive car.

Hintertux itself is excellent for skiing, its much bigger than I imagined and you pass covers you for the whole region all the way down to Mayrhofen.
All in all we had a great time and will certainly revisit the area and the hotel.

A big thank you to the hotel staff and management.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed in alpenbad hohenhaus for a short 4 night trip. We had a suite for 4 persons and we all loved the hotel and Hintertux. Rooms were spacious and views from balcony spectacular. Hotel provided relaxation for before and after a hard day of skiing. Pool and bath area were great, decent food, awesome location and super friendly hotel staff. Only downpoint is nightlife, which is pretty quiet. I would greatly recommend this hotel for everyone after pure skiing experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olari21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed with a large group over the Christmas week skiing in Hintertux. We stayed in a family room as we were travelling with our two children age 9 and 10. The room was comfortable for what we needed.

One of the best points is the spa, which includes a large pool and steam room, sauna, day beds etc... We visited every evening, mostly with the kids in the pool.

Food is good, with a half board Austrian style of accommodation.

The gondola station is about 10 minutes walk, or 2 minutes in the regular hotel transfer.

Recommended, if you are after a decent quality Austrian half board style hotel with good good and spa. The only downside is it's not right on the slopes, but you can ski all the way back if the snow is good.

Room Tip: The spa is very authentic, so don't bring your swimming trunks. Rooms all seem pretty good.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bennyboyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2013

As I love skiing, I've stayed in literally hundreds of hotels in France, Germany, Switzerland, Italy, and Austria...and I have to say the Hohenhaus was one of the best. The service was outstanding, it has a charming atmosphere, and the rooms were big, quiet, and clean. The boot room is effective, large, and not stinky. You can have drinks and snacks in front of the lobby fire without smelling cigarettes. They provide a really nice apres-ski hour snack (free) that is much appreciated (wish more placed did that). One other point, Hintertux, while harder to reach, is a great place. It's at the end of the road so you feel you are truly away from it all, but there's enough there that you don't feel isolated. If you go by car in the winter, bring chains (and, if you have a rental car, make sure they gave you the right size). Without them, you have a 25% chance of not making it to Hintertux and an 80% chance you will have to park at the ski lifts and have the very nice hotel staff ferry you up to the hotel. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Bring chains in winter!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leem921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews