We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than the Dublin "tour" experience”
Review of Tayto Castle Tours

Tayto Castle Tours
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Tandragee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set deep in the heart of the Ulster countryside is Tayto Castle where Tayto have been making some of the world’s best loved crisps and snacks since 1956. The Tayto Castle tour allows you to experience the magic of Tayto, see firsthand how our famous crisps and snacks are made and even meet our brand mascot, Mr Tayto.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Having previously sampled the Dublin Theme Park factory tour I thought this one was absolutely brilliant. Admittedly it does not have a theme park (or even a cafe) attached but as an actual tour of a potato crisp factory it is miles ahead. For a start you get up close and personal to the workings of the operation which was not the case in Dublin where you file along a very hot (in summer) corridor and look at the machines through windows. Thankfully health and safety and hygiene were top priorities with a nine year old and an 11 year old attending. The tour was genuinely interesting and informative and shows you the actual daily goings on in a modern factory with an old fashioned twist.The fact that it is attached to an old castle is brilliant and to see the process from start to finish was fantastic. Lauren our tour guide was funny, knowledgeable and engaging and clearly also loves crisps! Being allowed to eat newly produced crisps fresh off the production line was a treat. I was also unaware that they make so many crisps for other companies. We were given loads of bags of crisps which was in stark contrast to Dublin where we got one measly bag of crisps when we left. You need to park on the main street and enter via the gate behind the war memorial.

So, overall very impressed but if you prefer having a rollercoaster go to the Dublin one!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank markusTyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"crisps"
in 144 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 59 reviews
"great tour"
in 27 reviews
"take home"
in 19 reviews
"tayto castle"
in 54 reviews
"potatoes"
in 34 reviews
"health and safety"
in 9 reviews
"from start to finish"
in 10 reviews
"working factory"
in 15 reviews
"great visit"
in 8 reviews
"various stages"
in 5 reviews
"the main street"
in 6 reviews
"production line"
in 13 reviews
"great value for money"
in 9 reviews
"war memorial"
in 4 reviews
"six pack"
in 12 reviews
"northern ireland"
in 7 reviews
Filter

14 - 18 of 252 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2018 via mobile

Cannot recommend this tour enough. Excellent, well planned and executed tour with fantastic tour guides. Fun tour and educational - plus free crisps!!!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2018 via mobile

Admittedly we were pretty much the only people there who didn’t have kids, but we loved this just as much as all the children! Being from Australia (and loving Taytos), the novelty of having a factory in a castle never wore off! All of the staff were so friendly and lovely and the tour itself was really interesting. It was amazing to hear how nothing is wasted - anything that can be recycled or repurposed, is. A highlight was tasting two types of chips (crisps) that came hot off the fryer without being flavoured. They were still warm and delicious. It was also brilliant to get to try so many flavours and to learn how many other products they make. We barely needed lunch afterwards! If you’re in the neighbourhood, it’s absolutely worth a visit to Tayto Castle! Be sure to book ahead to avoid disappointment (they literally book out days in advance).

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank TravellerKRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2018 via mobile

I went on the Tayto Castle tour today with an 11 & 9 year old. Had a great morning! Lauren was a very knowledgable tour guide and the kids throughly enjoyed themselves.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

Don’t miss this castle on the hill! An air of Wonka intrigue combined with the warmth of Norn’ Irish hospitality makes for a spell binding tour of this famous crisp producing castle. We were given a warm welcome and friendly introduction to the castle by Rebecca before meeting the esteemed Mr Pat Tayto and then being skilfully led by our tour guide, Katie, through the production line from potato to packet. Katie’s friendly disposition made her the perfect guide, entertaining us with stories along the way while at the same time packing in informative detail about the production process which kept all ages spell bound. The tour itself adopted a surprisingly up close and personal approach, witnessing the potato’s journey alongside the working team on the castle’s factory floor. We left armed with the children’s weight in crisps, having enjoyed a happy afternoon in the magic of this castle and the engaging warmth of the people who work there. Would thoroughly recommend a trip to this gem of an attraction in the heart of
N.Ireland!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank redsquirrel360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tayto Castle Tours also viewed

Portadown, County Armagh
Portadown, County Armagh
 

Been to Tayto Castle Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing