We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
School Trip

Went here for a recent school trip and we all had a great day! Met with friendly staff throughout... read more

Reviewed yesterday
dferg92
3 generations all happy

What a friendly welcome and excellent tour. Leanora (hope I spelled that correctly!) was great with... read more

Reviewed October 16, 2018
KJM86
,
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 252 reviews
  
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
217
26
3
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
217
26
3
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crisps our tour guide great tour tayto castle take home potatoes health and safety working factory great visit various stages the main street production line great value for money war memorial six pack northern ireland photo opportunity
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 252 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

It’s so very rare these days to be able to take a tour of a food/drinks production factory where you can actually see the process taking place in front of you.
The tour guide, Ryan, was informative and very welcoming.
The constant supply of free crisps was a bonus and there was no pressure to purchase from the shop at the end of the tour.
The office staff were so very helpful after we managed to double book our visit.
Northern Ireland at its best!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Northcoasters2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Having previously sampled the Dublin Theme Park factory tour I thought this one was absolutely brilliant. Admittedly it does not have a theme park (or even a cafe) attached but as an actual tour of a potato crisp factory it is miles ahead. For a start you get up close and personal to the workings of the operation which was not the case in Dublin where you file along a very hot (in summer) corridor and look at the machines through windows. Thankfully health and safety and hygiene were top priorities with a nine year old and an 11 year old attending. The tour was genuinely interesting and informative and shows you the actual daily goings on in a modern factory with an old fashioned twist.The fact that it is attached to an old castle is brilliant and to see the process from start to finish was fantastic. Lauren our tour guide was funny, knowledgeable and engaging and clearly also loves crisps! Being allowed to eat newly produced crisps fresh off the production line was a treat. I was also unaware that they make so many crisps for other companies. We were given loads of bags of crisps which was in stark contrast to Dublin where we got one measly bag of crisps when we left. You need to park on the main street and enter via the gate behind the war memorial.

So, overall very impressed but if you prefer having a rollercoaster go to the Dublin one!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank markusTyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2018 via mobile

Cannot recommend this tour enough. Excellent, well planned and executed tour with fantastic tour guides. Fun tour and educational - plus free crisps!!!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2018 via mobile

Admittedly we were pretty much the only people there who didn’t have kids, but we loved this just as much as all the children! Being from Australia (and loving Taytos), the novelty of having a factory in a castle never wore off! All of the staff were so friendly and lovely and the tour itself was really interesting. It was amazing to hear how nothing is wasted - anything that can be recycled or repurposed, is. A highlight was tasting two types of chips (crisps) that came hot off the fryer without being flavoured. They were still warm and delicious. It was also brilliant to get to try so many flavours and to learn how many other products they make. We barely needed lunch afterwards! If you’re in the neighbourhood, it’s absolutely worth a visit to Tayto Castle! Be sure to book ahead to avoid disappointment (they literally book out days in advance).

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank TravellerKRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2018 via mobile

I went on the Tayto Castle tour today with an 11 & 9 year old. Had a great morning! Lauren was a very knowledgable tour guide and the kids throughly enjoyed themselves.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews