We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long awaited trip finally achieved”
Review of Tayto Castle Tours

Tayto Castle Tours
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Tandragee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set deep in the heart of the Ulster countryside is Tayto Castle where Tayto have been making some of the world’s best loved crisps and snacks since 1956. The Tayto Castle tour allows you to experience the magic of Tayto, see firsthand how our famous crisps and snacks are made and even meet our brand mascot, Mr Tayto.
Reviewed September 5, 2018

My daughter (and okay, me too) have been trying to book a Tayto Tour for a while now, and finally managed to secure a place on one on Monday 3rd September once the schools had gone back.

We were aware from the comprehensive notes on the website and also sent to us with the booking confirmation that there were no onsite facilities for the public, but as they say, there is plenty of parking outside the gates, and plenty of places to eat and drink in the town. There are two pubs, two cafes and a tea room within 100 yards of the gate.

We were pleasantly surprised to discover that we were the only visitors on our tour, that said, we still got our photo opportunity with Mr Tayto, and a full safety briefing before entering the doors to the factory. It’s a small operation, but produces an amazing range of crisps and snacks for many big customers as well as their own Tayto products, which as anyone from N Ireland will tell you are the best in the world, especially the cheese and onion crisps!

As well as seeing to whole process from potato to packet, there were many sampling opportunities as we went around -there’s nothing like a warm crisp just out of the fryer! The tour guide was knowledgeable, and went out of her way to see that I was able to leave with crisps on top of the free pack.

At the end of the tour, you get to choose a multipack of crisps to take away with you, But there is no pressure to buy any other souvenirs. The whole thing is great value for the relatively modest charge - and there really is a Tayto Castle - it’s not just a marketing gimmick!

A must for every crisp and snack lover

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank CarolynUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"crisps"
in 144 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 59 reviews
"great tour"
in 27 reviews
"tayto castle"
in 54 reviews
"take home"
in 18 reviews
"potatoes"
in 33 reviews
"health and safety"
in 9 reviews
"working factory"
in 15 reviews
"great visit"
in 8 reviews
"various stages"
in 5 reviews
"the main street"
in 6 reviews
"production line"
in 13 reviews
"great value for money"
in 9 reviews
"war memorial"
in 4 reviews
"six pack"
in 12 reviews
"northern ireland"
in 7 reviews
"photo opportunity"
in 3 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 251 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

Great tour of Tayto castle and how the crisps and snacks are made. After the safety brief and appropriate protective clothing we has a informative guide called Susie. The tour of the factory was fascinating as overall the production line seemed quite small though the volume of crisps produced was huge. Guide was very informative and easily answered any questions. Best bit get free crisps along the way and bags to take home at the end. Would recommend for all ages

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank donnelle69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

We visited without knowing much about the tour and were pleasantly surprised. After donning various clothing (aprons, hairnets, etc) we were taken round the factory in small groups of about 12. We were watching the staff and machines in action from potato to packet and it was very interesting. The site is loud and anyone with poor hearing may miss some of the information but our guide was more than happy to chat, answer questions and repeat any points when asked. Parents of very young children should note that there is machinery in operation and pallets of stock being moved around the site so it might be best to visit when children are older. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank jules4john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018

Quite an experience. Just finding the place is a small victory and then sorting out how to get into the castle is another. Small door in the wall with a bell, really felt like we were standing outside Willy Wonka's factory. Eventually let in expecting to only see one or two hardy travellers who had negotiated the booking and travel arrangements to find it packed! Very popular tour. Our guide was slightly scary, lots of rules and dressing up in hair nets, aprons and gloves (if wearing rings). Almost hysterical when Pat the Potato mimed how unruly guests were kicked out. Tour was really informative and you are right in the action with fork lift trucks driving around. Get to see all steps in process of crisp production and almost cured of my crisp addiction with the amount we ate on the way around, also came away with lots more. Recommend. No other facilities on site other than toilets (no cafe; restaurant; local town very quiet).

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank annette r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

It’s so very rare these days to be able to take a tour of a food/drinks production factory where you can actually see the process taking place in front of you.
The tour guide, Ryan, was informative and very welcoming.
The constant supply of free crisps was a bonus and there was no pressure to purchase from the shop at the end of the tour.
The office staff were so very helpful after we managed to double book our visit.
Northern Ireland at its best!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Northcoasters2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tayto Castle Tours also viewed

Portadown, County Armagh
Portadown, County Armagh
 

Been to Tayto Castle Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing