We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The quiet end of Sorrento”
other travellers have booked this property
Ischia sunset from our terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ischia sunset from our terrace
the terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
48 reviews
Ischia sunset from our terrace
the terrace
Gulf of Sorrento from Meta - Panorama -
the apartment
the apartment
from a window
from another window
the building
our big 'naked' palm
from the terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Meta, Province of Naples, Campania

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Russian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
MrBeery
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The quiet end of Sorrento”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed here from 12-22 Oct '13. The apartments are in an approx 150 year old building in Meta. They vary in size and some have nice views with others having an outside seating area. The owner, Luigi, has an apartment on the top floor. We went for a room on the bottom floor with a seating area but no view. There is a terrace on the roof that can be used by anyone for sunbathing which has nice views. Sorrento is a strip of 4 areas each one with it's own train station. They are from east to west; Meta, Piano, Sant Agnello and Sorrento (end of the line). Meta is at the quiet end of the strip but it's easy to jump on a train (roughly every half an hour) to get to Sorrento. No doubt here are quiet parts of Sorrento to stay in, but maybe not as close to a train station. Meta is not touristy; as you explore the town/village mostly all you see are locals although there are some tourists on the beach (yes, Meta has an ok beach. Sorrento doesn't have one). It's a bit of a pain to have to go into Sorrento to get a bus (for Positano or Amalfi) but Meta is 4 stops closer to Napoli and Pompeii. A few doors along from the apartments is an excellent bakers which also sells other food supplies. Opposite is a small cheese makers selling a small range including buffalo mozzarella. Opposite the bakers is a Pizza take away (tried it once, very nice). A few minutes up the road is a restaurant where Luigi has negotiated a cheap 12 euro, 3 course with wine deal for Castellano renters. It's a limited menu but very nice if you choose carefully (pizzas are part of the deal) but is maybe not the option if you want somewhere romantic. There are other options for eating in Meta but we didn't try them and of course Sorrento has lots of restaurants. The room was not luxurious but comfortable and clean and ours was quiet. The shower worked (always a bonus) and the bed was ok (it's rarely as good as home is it?). The apartment was split level with a quite narrow spiral staircase. The kitchen had a good selection of pots and pans for the money saving meals we cooked. Luigi lent us a baking dish when we wanted a smaller one. In fact Luigi is very helpful all round, giving advice on travel options (we used public transport, driving looks dangerous!) and places to visit. He speaks excellent English. Contrary to another reviewer it's easy to find. Just put Villino Castellano Meta into Google Maps and print it out. It's a 3 minute walk from Meta station or less if being dropped off at the top of the road by the airport bus (operated by Curreri - 10 euros). Luigi also sent us some directions. Lastly, prices are cheap for Sorrento; our apartment was 350 euros a week. We thoroughly enjoyed our week in Meta - grazia Luigi!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallyWrit...
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We had no idea how to reach the apartment and at the train station, no one spoke English. The owner didn't provide directions to the apartment and we didn't have a map. Gestures from the train station ticket agent got us going in the right direction, so we found it. The rooms were spacious. The mattresses were not very comfortable. Towels were really skimpy. No hair dryer. My husband had to spend hours with the owner trying to get the internet to work. The owner was very friendly and willing to take the time to solve the problem. But it isn't the way you want to spend your vacation. Meta is not the easiest place to vacation. There weren't many restaurants near the apartment, and the one we really liked was closed because of "a ceremony" one of the nights we hiked up the hill to eat there. We ended up making tomato sandwiches in our kitchen. We took the train in to Sorrento for the day and enjoyed that. We liked the other small towns in Italy we stayed in better because it was easy to find bakeries and green grocers and restaurants no matter the time of day. Meta locks up the stores mid afternoon. We weren't comfortable walking in rain in the dark long distances to restaurants (that only opened at 7:30 p.m.) Streets are very narrow--okay in daylight, difficult on rainy night.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlas182
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We really just got what we paid for. We didn't want to spend a lot for a place in Sorrento, and this seemed like a good compromise. The apartment was huge and the shower worked well, but the towels and sheets were a little stained. It's very close to the train station, which is really great and convenient, since it will take you pretty much anywhere you want to go in the area. The last train back from Sorrento to Meta is very early, but there are a few night buses that will drop you off if you don't want to pay for a cab (I believe it's around midnight on weeknights and 1:30am on week-ends). You can always walk the 4km back, which is very safe and well-lit, even in the middle of the night (it'll taken you about an hour at a good pace). All in all, we loved Sorrento, but this accomodation was just OK. It served its purpose, but didn't exceed any expectations.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lili S
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in castellano apartments from june 14th to june 19th.apartments are located in Meta about 4 km outside of sorrento. if you take the train, sorrento is 2 station away and tickets are 1.50 euro.
it was very easy to find the place it is located on a one way street so you want to becarfull not to miss it.
luigi is super nice. the apartment i chose we didn't like it cause i assumed there was balcony but it didn't have it and he was nice enough to give us the best apartment in the building. he also put an extera bed for us since there was 3 of us. apartment was on the 5th floor no elevator but let me tell you this it worth every step going up and down with all the pizza and food you eat there!!! the panaroma view was amazing we had the mountain, the oacean and the see.
it is about 800 meter away from the beach and lots of steps going down but the hardest part is coming back cause it is uphill specially after long day of laying under the sun and wet towels!!
There is a pastry shop/ super market about 20 m from the house they are very nice you can fresh baked goods even at 2 in the morning ( that is when they bake) there is a pizzareia that we didn't get any pizza and a bar that you can get you cafe latte from.
we had an amazing stay would i stay there again??? for sure no doubt can't wait to go back there.
luigi is intimadating but once you get to know him he is a sweet heart.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidtg46
middlesbrough england
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Italian fine location.”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We took a standard double apartment which was large, basic and wonderfully cool on hot days. We choose Villino Castellano primarily because of it's location for transport to the major sites, the fact that Meta would be genuinely Italian and yet would be reasonably accessible to "tourist" Sorrento. The apartment fulfilled our hopes on all these counts plus the patio was fabulous for breakfast (pastries from the local bakery about 50 meters away), Luigi's arrangement with a local family restaurant made eating out great value and the local pizzeria (60 meters) does fabulous take aways. The "issues"? Take your own electric kettle if you want tea or instant coffee! The seating wasn't too comfortable and of course no TV.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat_T518
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic local experience”
Reviewed November 18, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
4
people found this review helpful

This was the first stop on a two month European adventure for my girlfriend and I. Following 30 hours travel time from Sydney, we arrived exhausted to Luigi’s very warm and energetic welcome. The villa is nestled on a quiet cobble stoned lane in Meta di Sorrento, with outstanding views looking over the local community.
Rooms are big, clean and simple. The large rooftop deck is great for quiet dinners (recommend prosciutto melone). Location for us was ideal, we were looking for a local community away from the hustle and bustle of main Sorrento where we could drink and drink with the local Italians, this ticked all boxes. We were staying in Meta for the Easter weekend and were lucky enough to catch the local Easter parade from our balcony.
The train station is a 30 second walk up the hill, passing the local patisserie 30 metres from the Villa’s door with coffee shop only another short stroll towards the train station (ideal for early rising travellers looking to grab a bite/kick start to the long days of exploring).
While the train ride is by far the quickest and easiest way to get to the main streets of Sorrento, I would highly recommend walking the coast line and nearby quiet streets for something different. You will see some of the best views Italy has to offer as well as some amazing estates.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa E
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 6 nights in September. It was a last minute booking and because it wasn't in Sorrento where we wanted to stay we were a little dubious, however, when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised.

We stayed in apt 11 which opened onto a courtyard. The decor was really simple but it was very well kept, very clean and comfortable. It had a basic kitchen which is good enough for cooking simple meals.

Luigi's English is very good and he's very friendly and helpful. He lives on site so is available if you need him.

Meta is only three stops from Sorrento on the train and there are regular buses as well. Our only problem was that the buses and trains finish quite early in the evening so if you're planning on staying in Sorrento beyond 11pm you could be stuck with getting a taxi back to the apartment, and these are expensive (€30+).

All in all though, a great place to stay to explore the region.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing