We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Value”
other travellers have booked this property
Ischia sunset from our terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ischia sunset from our terrace
the terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
48 reviews
Ischia sunset from our terrace
the terrace
Gulf of Sorrento from Meta - Panorama -
the apartment
the apartment
from a window
from another window
the building
our big 'naked' palm
from the terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Meta, Province of Naples, Campania

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Russian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Helene E
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed October 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in apartment 15,a large room for a studio and mezzanine bedroom with a lovely terrace outside the patio doors.A very quiet house and area.Only a few minutes walk from the railway and bus stop,very convenient.We used the trains daily,it couldn't be easier,very helpful staff at railway-a cheap way to travel without traffic jams.The Sorrento area is fantastic,so much to see and do.Luigi was so kind and helpful and he gave so much advise and information and was always available,we took advantage of the restaurant he recommended twice.The food was as good as anything we'd had all holiday and for 12 euros for 3 full courses with a bottle of wine and a large bottle of water -a real bargain!!We had a fantastic holiday.Thank you Luigi.

Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irishinde...
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The real Italy”
Reviewed September 20, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Just home following a relaxing holiday at Villino Castellano. The accommodation is as described by others and Luigi is an excellent host. His English is excellent and he is a mine of information. Our only problem was the lack of comfortable seating as my husband has a bad back and found the chairs not great - in fairness this was not Luigi's fault as these things are hit & miss for those with back problems. The location is great being near the train station and bus stop. You can be in Sorrento in a few minutes but as it is full of tourists and generally very busy, it's good to stay in a small town(for us anyway).

Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
larsengel...
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NIce stay in Meta di Sorrento”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great stay in one of Luigi's apartments. Everything is as described and the location is great. Only a few minutes away from the train station where you can get the train to Sorrento - the ride is only 6 minutes.

Meta is a nice little town with almost no tourists. Within in a few metres from the apartments there are both a nice pizzeria, pasticceria as well as a cheese factory with a shop.

Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Par
Your age range 18-24
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pixie77ny...
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We had a great stay at Villino Castellano last Fall, for 9 days of our belated honeymoon. Luigi is very helpful and a fantastic resource, which was one of the many reasons we chose his apartments. Traveling to Italy for the first time we enjoyed having his expertise available and as a host he was very gracious. My husband and I stayed on the first floor in a big one-bedroom garden courtyard apartment including an outside seating area, a kitchenette (we made many meals with local produce) with dining area, a comfy couch, and a TV. Perfect! The apartment isn't fancypants but it suits our purpose and is quiet, so we were well-rested for our travels to Pompeii, Vesuvius, Oplantis, Herculano, Paestum (a day-trip via hired car), and of course Sorrento. What an amazing area to explore! We wanted to saturate ourselves in a region rather than "if it's Saturday it must be Rome" for our first trip to Italy, and we chose wisely by staying in Meta.

The Villino is well-situated for easy access via bus or train all over the region, yet away from the hustle & bustle of Sorrento. Just a short walk will get you to public transit. We recommend taking advantage of the discount passes to several ruins, and the train passes were a good deal too.

A walk around the charming town of Meta di Sorrento was amazing, everyone was very nice especially the lovely lady at the bakery a few houses down; there's even a cheese maker right across the street! The pizzeria across from the bakery is very good. Being a small town many places close up in the afternoon for a "siesta", and some are be closed on Sunday too, so we stocked up on groceries in the fridge. There's so much to enjoy in Meta, from the historical church (the heart and soul of Meta), to the cobbled streets and pastel-colored homes, to the popular beach just a quick bus ride down the hill. We didn't have a chance to enjoy the dinner deal Luigi has set with a nearby restaurant but we heard from other guests that it's good. A romantic place for dinner overlooking the ocean is from the terrace of "Tico Tico", such a lovely view and great food. We also enjoyed having drinks with Michelangelo at the "Like Cafe" across from the Covent Garden pub.

There's not a lot to add that everyone else hasn't said. We'd love to come back and stay again, for sure. There's so much more to explore! A must-see is the ruin of Oplantis, not the most famous but our favorite of the scavis. Pompeii is also a must, of course. The train from Meta will take you to many ruins. The Greek temple ruins at Paestum are a full day's trip that can be arranged and include a scenic drive through Ravello (go to Cumpa' Cosimo for lunch and say hello to Mama!), and the picture-postcard towns of Amalfi and Positano.

Our host Luigi is wonderful and we greatly enjoyed his hospitality. We're so happy he's opened up his beautiful home to guests, what a treat. Watching the sunset over Ischia from the roof of the Villino is breath-taking and unforgettable. Luigi, thank you so much for helping make a memorable and unique vacation, it could not have been more perfect. Molte grazie.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TriciaMc
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment, good value, warm welcome”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week in April. Our 2nd floor apartment was spacious, clean, and reasonably well equipped and comfortable. The cooker was adequate to prepare simple dishes and large mugs were provided for tea and coffee. (No kettle of course though). Basic cleaning materials were provided, and other guests had left salt and sugar in the cupboard. The bed was comfortable if firm (sheets and blankets, no duvet) and the bathroom and shower were fine. Towels were thin and definitely not fluffy,but effective.
The apartment building was lovely, and I imagine it would be cool in summer. There are stone lions in the hall and lemon(citron) trees in the garden. It is a short walk from the station and main road/bus stop. The nearby bakery sells most of the food you would want to buy, including lovely buffalo mozzarella, and the small supermarket is not too far away. The area is pleasant and feels safe. Lots of hills and not many pavements of course.
As mentioned by others, Luigi the proprietor was friendly and helpful and provided us with all the information we needed.
Some points to consider:
You will almost certainly be going out sightseeing every day; this means taking the commuter train (circumvesuviana) whenever you go out. You might get sick of it after several days! If you are doing a trip from Sorrento, eg Positano by bus or Capri by ferry, you will need to coordinate the transport with the train timetable, which is fine for early risers but not so convenient for those wanting a more relaxed start: there are only 2 trains per hour with a bit of a gap between 9-10am.
Food: the nearest restaurant is amazing value with Luigi's 12 euro dinner deal, but the menu is restricted, the decor a bit canteenish and for my taste, I couldn't have eaten there every night. My opinion - the mussels were lovely, the pizza and seafood pasta good, the wine pleasant (especially the white) but the Aubergine roll is a slice of Aubergine battered, deep fried and rolled up. So if you like the sound of that, you will probably be happy to eat there every night and will welcome the arrival of the large plate of complimentary deep fried dough balls.
Other restaurants (eg Tico Tico which we really liked) are a 20-30 minute walk or a bus ride.
If you stayed in Sorrento there would be less commuting and a bigger choice of restaurants, but then it's very touristy and quite expensive. The choice is yours.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supratik
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We wanted to stay away from Sorrento as it gets too crowded for my liking in summer months. But at the same time I wanted to stay somewhere nearby to visit all the attractions like Naples, Pompeii and the Amalfi Coast. Meta fits the bill perfectly and it even has probably the only decent beach in the whole region.
Came across Luigi's apartment through TA and e-mail communication went smoothly. He wanted my credit card deatils but did not charge me anything in advance. Payment had to be in cash on arrival. There is an ATM nearby if you do not want to carry cash but beware of withdrawal limits.
We felt very safe in the neighbourhood walking late at night and hardly came across any tourists. Compare that to Sorrento!! I noted a previous comment about Meta being not very touristy. Everyone is to their taste. I was very happy to sample a little bit of local life rather than resort like towns.
We were family of 4, kids 12 & 8 and opted for a 3rd floor apartment whcih was reasonably spacious and had a slither of view over the bay with 2 balconies. The apartments are basic but you have to consider the rent which is very reasonable. It was nice and clean on arrival with plenty of bed sheets, pillow and towels. Understandably don't expect very fluffy fancy towels but perfectly acceptable.
The 2 negative points were : there was no a/c in the living area and the bathroom was small and the hot water ran out pretty quickly. But overall these were not big issues. A/c in the main room worked very well. I had no problem with noise or hard bed and slept like a baby after tiring days.
Importantly plenty of storage space for families travelling with kids.
TV had only italian channels.
Kitchen had an electric hob, plenty of utensils. No ketttle and make sure not to switch on all the hobs ain full blast at the same time as that'll blow the fuse. The water is really hard and leaves mark but perfectly OK to drink straight from the tap.
Washing machine came very handy.
Internet was a bit dodgy in the beginning. There are 2 modems and later I found out the better one and it worked well. Note w-fi and A/c are not included but not too pricey.

Luigi is a very friendly chap, who lives on the top floor and provided plenty of good advice. He has arrangements with Ninnuccio restaurant and Lido Marinella and we took full advantage of those. I honestly can't fault Ninnuccio. Yes it's not that posh but the food was one of the best that we ate in Italy. I thought 12 euros including wine was a cracking deal and their a-la-carte menu was also pretty good. In my opinion the food was better than much more expensive Tico Tico.
As mentioned freshly made bread and take away pizza joint literally a stone's throw.
I can't undestand the problem of not finding the apartment in this day and age of Google street view. 5 minutes from the church, main bus stop and to Station and 20 minutes to the beach ( longer in mid day sun).
All trains stop at Meta. Familiarise yourself with the time table and make sure you don't miss the last train !!
The only gripe is that to catch the SITA bus it is better to go to Sorrento as although the buses do stop at Meta but in August you won't have any chance of seating in rush hour.
The beach was OK for southern Italian beaches which are not that great and as expected one has to pay. One morning was enough for us.

I am not saying this is the best aprtment that we had ever stayed but considering the money I paid it was an extremely good value and the money saved by not eating out or staying in fancy hotels was well spent on buying lovely inlaid wood works and Limoncelo from Sorrento and travelling across the Amalfi coast.
So don't come here if looking for luxury or all mod-cons but do come here if you are looking for a relatively cheap family apartment in a small town very conveniently placed.
Milie Grazie Luigi.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBeery
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The quiet end of Sorrento”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed here from 12-22 Oct '13. The apartments are in an approx 150 year old building in Meta. They vary in size and some have nice views with others having an outside seating area. The owner, Luigi, has an apartment on the top floor. We went for a room on the bottom floor with a seating area but no view. There is a terrace on the roof that can be used by anyone for sunbathing which has nice views. Sorrento is a strip of 4 areas each one with it's own train station. They are from east to west; Meta, Piano, Sant Agnello and Sorrento (end of the line). Meta is at the quiet end of the strip but it's easy to jump on a train (roughly every half an hour) to get to Sorrento. No doubt here are quiet parts of Sorrento to stay in, but maybe not as close to a train station. Meta is not touristy; as you explore the town/village mostly all you see are locals although there are some tourists on the beach (yes, Meta has an ok beach. Sorrento doesn't have one). It's a bit of a pain to have to go into Sorrento to get a bus (for Positano or Amalfi) but Meta is 4 stops closer to Napoli and Pompeii. A few doors along from the apartments is an excellent bakers which also sells other food supplies. Opposite is a small cheese makers selling a small range including buffalo mozzarella. Opposite the bakers is a Pizza take away (tried it once, very nice). A few minutes up the road is a restaurant where Luigi has negotiated a cheap 12 euro, 3 course with wine deal for Castellano renters. It's a limited menu but very nice if you choose carefully (pizzas are part of the deal) but is maybe not the option if you want somewhere romantic. There are other options for eating in Meta but we didn't try them and of course Sorrento has lots of restaurants. The room was not luxurious but comfortable and clean and ours was quiet. The shower worked (always a bonus) and the bed was ok (it's rarely as good as home is it?). The apartment was split level with a quite narrow spiral staircase. The kitchen had a good selection of pots and pans for the money saving meals we cooked. Luigi lent us a baking dish when we wanted a smaller one. In fact Luigi is very helpful all round, giving advice on travel options (we used public transport, driving looks dangerous!) and places to visit. He speaks excellent English. Contrary to another reviewer it's easy to find. Just put Villino Castellano Meta into Google Maps and print it out. It's a 3 minute walk from Meta station or less if being dropped off at the top of the road by the airport bus (operated by Curreri - 10 euros). Luigi also sent us some directions. Lastly, prices are cheap for Sorrento; our apartment was 350 euros a week. We thoroughly enjoyed our week in Meta - grazia Luigi!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing