We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
73
41
9
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
41
9
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great hotel set menu comfortable room small town sunday meal garden france
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 126 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2014

A traditional hotel with a history. A comfortable room with friendly service from a welcoming staff. The food was excellent, well prepared and beautifully presented. The breakfast was very good. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night on route back from a 2 week camping trip. It was a lovely surprise, the hosts extremely welcoming and our room beautiful. We ate on the terrace and enjoyed the set menu and wonderful service.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyndawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 19, 2014

The Hotel Restaurant de l'Ecole in Pontlevoy is the most splendid dining experience in the whole valley. The staff is kind and polite, with careful attention to detail and the needs of each customer. Chef David completes the dining experience with exquisitely prepared foods from the complementary amuse bouche through his award winning appetizers and main courses to the final delicious deserts. Their selection of wines includes the best of the region that may be enjoyed in the comfortable dining rooms or outside on the well manicured, secluded patio. If you plan to spend any time at all in the Loire Valley, plan to visit and dine at the Hotel Restaurant de l'Ecole.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeyMilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights in this delightful hotel. Agnes and David were extremely welcoming and made sure we were comfortable. Our room was spacious and overlooked the garden. Sadly, the weather didn't permit us to use the garden. The food was some of the best we have had in France. The hotel is well located for access to some of the best chateaux in the Loire. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden side are quieter
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dartmoorbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of spending a night and having dinner at the charming L'Ecole in Pontlevoy.
The hosts were very service minded, the wroom small, but charming. Because it was a very hot niught we really missed the air condition.
Dinner was superb and the service in the garden where we had our dinner was superb.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellor022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews