We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
73
41
9
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
41
9
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great hotel set menu comfortable room small town sunday meal garden france
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 126 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2017

This is a wonderful hotel in a very pretty village, giving a really relaxed atmosphere away from the tourist centers, with access thereto close enough. Very attentive and helpful staff with most excellent English. We were made very welcome. Although some rooms face the road, there is no noticeable noise. Lovely breakfast with many choices. Dinner was delicious.
For the night the restaurant was closed - great suggestions were made for options in Montrichard.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank HummingbirdTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

The Hotel is charming. We stayed for 5 nights in a large room overlooking the garden in the rear. We ate 4 dinners, three sitting in the garden and one inside because it was too cool for outside dinning. The food is superb, the setting marvelous, the service first rate. The owners could not have been nicer, more caring or more helpful. The experience was outstanding and we highly recommend the hotel and the restaurant. It is also very well located, an easy car ride to the chateaux, Blois, Montrichard and Tours. If we return to the area, we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2015

We stayed for 2 nights. Our room overlooked the main road through the town. Its double glazed windows did an excellent job of blocking out the traffic noise. The room itself was small, but well appointed. We even had a bathtub!!
We had dinner both nights and the food was amazing Margret du Canard and also the Scallop dish were exceptional. The chef has light touch when it comes to spicing.......subtle taste that you could savour. His dessert of Poached Pears is a masterpiece!!
The Auberge is run well..friendly, professional service, a wonderful eye for detail. One of the nicest places we have stayed in France.

Room Tip: Book for dinner early. There is limited seating and it is a popular dining spot, especially on the weekends.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank raymond s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2015

This was the second time we have stayed here, so we were obviously happy to return.
The hotel is located between the Cher and Loire rivers, making it ideal for visiting the chateaux - very close to Chenonceaux, which is well worth a visit.
The rooms are nice, clean and comfortable, and the staff were pleasant - happy to help us improve our French, but also able to slip into English when needed!
The food was really very good - we both had very good 4 course dinners.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonhendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2015

We stayed there two weeks ago while we were visiting the Loire Castles. It's a great hotel, staff was super friendly, rooms have a romantic decor, breakfast was delicious. Too bad the restaurant is closed on sundays because we heard it's also pretty good. Nonetheless the front desk agent recommended us an amazing restaurant at the nearby town of Montrichard. Merci beaucoup, L'Auberge de l'École, c'était très sympa!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank btigremaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews