We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“marvellous place”

Cassia Restaurant on Nitida Wine Farm
Ranked #11 of 111 Restaurants in Durbanville
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: With its beautiful natural setting, Cassia Restaurant is a wonderful country venue for a business conference, romantic wedding or a relaxing meal in the Cape Winelands. Cassia Restaurant and function venue was recently added to the farms portfolio. Here eating is a stylish yet friendly experience with menus created to suit diverse appetites whims and pockets, highlighting local and seasonal ingredients. There are two dedicated function rooms, both of which lead out to a beautiful cobbled courtyard that overlooks the farm dam. The courtyard makes for an outdoor reception area or for a relaxing breakaway. The dedicated conferencing kitchen offers predesigned menus at variously priced but flexible options. The Sage Room is wonderful for private VIP dinners seating up to 20 guests, or can be set up in numerous configurations for board meetings and strategic sessions.
Reviewed May 22, 2018

i was just site seeing the durbanville wine estate stopped by Nitida on a busy day nice vibe good people ,...service is on average,...just had a bottle wine by myself waiter did not recommend a snack with the chenin blanc,...however its a place to visit when you are not in a rash...i'm coming back to experience the full day....

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank KalambayiA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 378 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2018 via mobile

Had lunch today and for the venue and price I honestly expected more. Line fish I had was average and I am not fussy.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Lennis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSwaffi, Owner at Cassia Restaurant on Nitida Wine Farm, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018

Dear Lennis1,
Thank you for visiting Cassia Restaurant.
Your patronage is very much appreciated and so too the time taken to send through your comments.
We are sorry to hear that we did not impress with the line fish. We take pride in serving the finest quality food using the best quality produce.
Our menu is designed to suit a variety of palates and tastes, perhaps the next time you visit there may be something you on the menu that knocks your socks off.
Your comment and feedback is much appreciated.
Regards
Team Casssia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2018

Our Capetown visit started with an excellent dinner at this restaurant. The fireplace set it off well on this chilly night and the staff were great. There was a singer in the corner playing very nice dinner music.
The food was really good especially the lamb and the beef steaks. The wine selection is also very good and not expensive. Gratuities were included in the bill but at a very reasonable rate. They deserve more.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSwaffi, Owner at Cassia Restaurant on Nitida Wine Farm, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2018

Dear Barry B,
Thank you so much for you support and for time taken to send us through your very positive review and feedback.
We are happy to hear that we ticked all the boxes and look forward to hosting you again should you be in our area again.
Enjoy the rest of your visit in Cape Town.
Regards
Team Cassia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2018

Lovely setting,a bit expensive but we had the Sunday Lunch and it was lovely.
Service was good , food average, but overall we enjoyed it.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Food
Thank davidP651AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2018

Cassia has all the elements to be a great restaurant. Its a stunning venue, great staff and service but the food is diabolical. I didn't have just one bad meal here, like a sucker for punishment, I have been back 5 times. Each of them were awful. On 3 of the 5 occasions, i sent the meal back. Today was one of those occasions and certainly my last visit. Out of the 4 of us, we were all disappointed with the main course.There are limited options on the Durbanville wine route so its disappointing that Cassia isn't better.

The manager was really good. She handled everything professionally and the lady serving us was superb which adds to the frustration of having to send the meal back.

Please get rid of the chef. Im sorry Cassia - its sad to see the place suffer when it could be so good.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank QuinnofClubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSwaffi, Owner at Cassia Restaurant on Nitida Wine Farm, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Dear QuinnofClubs,

Thank you for the support and time taken to send through your comments regarding your experience at Cassia.
We are terribly sorry to hear that we did not meet and surpass your expectations on the day of your visit.
I am also very disappointed to hear that you have on previous occasions also had poor dining experiences with us.
We really do make every effort to ensure that our guests expectations are exceeded and that we try and resolve any issues, if any, that arise on the day. Our chef has been with us for 3 years now and we have consistently had positive comments regarding his offerings.
We regret that you have made the decision not to return as we are confident that what we offer with regards food and service is far superior to most, not only on the Durbanville wine valley but also on the Peninsula.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cassia Restaurant on Nitida Wine Farm also viewed

Durbanville, Cape Town
Durbanville, Cape Town
 
Durbanville, Cape Town
 
Durbanville, Cape Town
 

Been to Cassia Restaurant on Nitida Wine Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing