We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
23
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscountry housea special placemidlands meandernormabirdstoiletriesheaterpeacekznweekendfireplacewedding
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 29 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2017 via mobile

Thistledown is such a special spot tucked away in the Karkloof . Our hosts , Norman and Norma are an exceptional team . We celebrated my father in laws 80th birthday celebration at Thistledown with great success ! The food was incredible, the dining room perfectly suited for intimate celebrations, with a view out onto rolling green lawns and the constant chatter of well fed weavers popping in to say hi .
I can only recommend that you try this beautiful establishment , perfectly situated if you are visiting folks staying in Howick .

We finished off our weekend celebrations with a magnificent breakfast the perfect spot to return to again and again .

Thank you Norma and Norman

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank 600tanjab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2017

Great hosts, beautiful surroundings, charming old house. Breakfasts were delicious! They prepare dinner on request ... We will definitely recommend ! Howick will see us again ...because of Thistledown Country House.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very comfortable.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TharinaS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2017

Our utmost appreciation for a heart-warming welcome and stay at Thistledown Country House ... the home of Norman and Norma Maguire. We would love to visit you again as this is place we call home in KZN. We never had a dinner and breakfast as delicious as the one prepared by these two wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: Each room has its own charm and en-suite bathroom. One room has a fire place
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guestg743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2016

The hosts Norma and Norman (yes how funny is that!) are fantastic.
Breakfasts were yummy- fresh fruit including raspberries and blackberries, yoghurts and cereals. Then your choice of eggs and the standard full English breakfast, but with an extra eg. Hotcakes and mascarpone. Lovely informal garden with a peaceful stream running through it. The house is stunning, traditional wooden floors. Beds comfy. Definitely will return. PS Close to Karkloof Country Club for polo matches and mountain biking. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimbX447EF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2016

Service was great, breakfast beautifully prepared! Hostess was very accommodating to our unusual request. Rooms were beautifully cleaned every day! Room had a fire place, heaters. Beautiful garden with lots of bird feeders to attract the local birds which was a treat!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cativa25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews