We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
21
52
38
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
52
38
15
11
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 137 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2017

This hotel is really noisy. Doors slamming continously, loud guests in the hallways, intoxicated guests shouting in the corridors. After 23h00 drunk people were knocking on our room door and trying to get in. After having walked 22km on the El Camino all I wanted was a good sleep. Well that did not happen. I did complain to reception but not much that the young lady could do about the drunken behaviour of the large group of guests. It seems that this hotel caters for large groups and is probably not suitable for tired El Camino walkers.

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank CJP353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Restauran... E, Gerente at Hotel Scala, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2017

Goodmorning CJP353, we regret that you had this bad experience in our hotel. As we told you at the moment of the problem, the guest who tried to enter in your room confused the number with his own: we are sorry for that. When you explained the situation in recepcion, we immediately took action and we request the group to stop making noise, even though it was still an early hour (it was not yet 10:30 in the evening), so the noise stopped. Nonetheless, we apologize and regret that you did not feel comfortable with us: we always work to provide the best service to our guests. We hope you come again to our hotel and enjoy the experience. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 1, 2016 via mobile

The hotel was very clean and the bed comfortable, but there was nothing special about the hotel. They did offer a very affordable Menu del Dia for 10 Euro for dinner. The breakfast was just OK as well. WiFI was strong. TV very small and carpeting/decor outdated.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank LeaKone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Restauran... E, Gerente at Hotel Scala, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2016

Good afternoon Lea K, thank you for your review. We were glad that our room was comfortable for you. We try to offer our menu at the best price and quality as possible.
We will consider your suggestions to keep improving at the future. We hope to see you again in our hotel. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 22, 2016

Nice clean room with everything as expected - Restaurant was good and the starter was great although huge !!
Unfortunately the Bar / Cafe area was a let down with a surly barman who made you wish you were somewhere else which is difficult as everywhere else is either closed or a fair walk away -
They had even closed the salon with the table football by 9.30 pm !! Bed time then !

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Castleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Restauran... E, Gerente at Hotel Scala, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2016

We are very sorry that you have not been a good experience in our bar. We will consider your review in the future. It is the first bad opinion that we receive about this area of our hotel. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2016

This is so not what I look for in a hotel. - large, impersonal and on a busy highway. I had been booked into a room overlooking the highway but front desk staff were accommodating in switching me into a quieter room at the back of the building. I was able to have a quiet sleep with the windows wide open. Mediocre breakfast buffet.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenrichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Restauran... E, Gerente at Hotel Scala, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2016

Thank you for your comment helenrichmond.
We always try to solve quickly any issue of our clients, so we are glad that you finally have rested confortable.
We will consider your suggestions with the breakfast.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2016

The accommodation was ok but the hotel was rather large, very impersonal and seemed to specialise in coach parties, probably en-route to Santiago de Compostela. It is located alongside the main N550 highway which is a busy through road. We stayed as a small walking party on the Camino Portugues but were totally over swamped by coach travellers particularly at breakfast time when it seemed like a "bun fight".
The rooms were all satisfactory but the whole place just had no atmosphere. For a night ok but no longer. Food in the restaurant at dinner was simple and adequate.

Room tip: Rooms at teh front all look on to the roadway and rooms to the rear over ordinary countryside
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MikeFSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Restauran... E, Gerente at Hotel Scala, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2016

Thank you very much MikeFSurrey for losing a few minutes writing your opinion.
We regret that you couldn't feel 100% comfortable in our hotel, but we had a really crowded weekend.
We are always trying to improve, so we appreciate and take good note of your contributions.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews