We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (742)
Filter reviews
742 results
Traveller rating
479
165
62
17
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
479
165
62
17
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la sonrisa very nice hotel our night stay mount vesuvius naples area look elsewhere grounds car pompeii train style party music birthday charm min luxury
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 742 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2015

Our tour group nicknamed this "Disneyland". It is a gem in the middle of very ordinary homes and shops (However we were advised not to wander off the property at night). You gasp a little as you approach the well maintained and appointed grounds and hotel. When the "ah' wears off you notice the small shower, the lack of electrical outlets to power up the electronics or the needed CPAP machine for sleeping (take out the bed side lamps then only the garish blinding chandelier available for trips to the bathroom), the bathroom with another garish chandelier in the other end away from the sink so no light on the mirror for shaving or putting in contacts, no room to take out toiletries on or around the old fashioned sink, no safe in room and difficulty in asking for the passports from the front desk safe when the night staff have limited English. Delighted to have stayed here and fun to show the pictures but prefer to have at least minimal modern conveniences.

Room tip: Main hotel may be better than our annex room however avoid the loft rooms with the sloping ceiling
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WCCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2015

We went for a three night midweek break and enjoyed every minute. This was in large part thanks to the staff here, especially Danilo.

His advice took us to a couple of lovely spots and nothing was too much trouble.

You can see what the hotel is like and there is plenty written about the weddings. We had no issue with this and enjoyed a bit of life going on around us. So many happy people.

We arrived as a 3 having booked for 2 and needed a bigger room, no problem. All so relaxed and friendly you feel at home which is impressive given the amount of gold leaf and ornate decoration.

You can get a driver to drop you in and pick you up from Sorento or the nearby train stations or even further afield I guess. Only a few euros for this and worth it to avoid driving unless you have nerves of steel.

The room was clean with more marble and gold, brilliant. Everything as it should be with a nice view out across to Naples and Vesuvius from our room.

Breakfast was a continental buffet and you could get a hot plate cooked to order too. Everything you normally have from meats and cheese and bread through to yoghurt and fresh fruit. Cakes too.

They kindly knocked up a toasty when we arrived as were starving but too early for lunch. We then had lunch which was simple and delicious. Parma ham and melon, bresoala, rocket and parmesan for antipasti followed by spaghetti in fresh tomato sauce first course. Squid and potatoes was the winner for the second course.

Whenever we returned form evenings out we sat up playing cards and enjoying the atmosphere with a digestif or similar and there didn't appear to be a closing time for anything, always a couple of people to help you out.

Good value and an excellent base for visiting Pompeii, Vesuvius, Sorento and the Amalfi coast. Thoroughly recommended.

Room tip: Just ask. If something is available I'm sure they will help.
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2015

A beautiful hotel with beautiful grounds with well appointed rooms. The highlight of our 7 night stay was the staff, they were helpful, friendly, full of good advice and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble. Antonio was a star at breakfast and dinner and tried hard not to laugh at our Italian! Everyone, down to the chambermaid on our floor were wonderful.
The surrounding town was disappointing in a lack of facilities and a car is advisable to get around but otherwise the location is perfect for sight seeing.
It was the little things that made our stay very comfortable, lovely clean towels and linen everyday, even tucking the teddy in!

Room tip: Mountain facing away from the weddings.
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimScott_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 19, 2015

Over the top decor attracts large wedding parties that might exceed your noise tolerance level. The hotel with his owner Don Antonio is featured on Italian reality TV "Il boss delle ceremonie". Our rooms were large showing a little wear. The beds were good and breakfast buffet plentiful. The staff was friendly and helpful and due to our early morning departure we requested and received breakfasts to go. The surroundings are not particularly attractive but the hotel is a good enough base to explore the surrounding tourist attractions.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalterN266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2015

While on vacation, our family group of 12 of stayed for a night in three rooms.

We loved this hotel! The building and decor were fascinating. The grounds are amazing. The service was superb. Breakfast was delicious.

If I could change a single thing, I would make the location a bit more convenient to shopping and restaurants.

Overall, we'd love to stay here again!

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Badrhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews