We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski holiday in Tirol”
Review of Hotel Almhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Almhof
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Galtur
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Lovely situated family hotel right next to the Galtür slopes. Upon arrival, you are immediately submerged in the Austrian living style and the room we had was recently renovated so a good combo of comfort and nostalgia.

Facilities are more than ok. They have it all. One side comment, wifi coverage is below par and only really suitable for use in the lobby. Some repeaters accross the floors and on the beautiful panorama terras would have made a huge difference.

Although staff is friendly, they sometimes seem distracted/not interested in what's happening around them. Might have been fatigue at the end of the ski-season but pretty annoying sometimes.

The restaurant serves excellent menu's! A certain plus to this accomodation. They serve a daily choice menu with fish or meat or vegetarian. All tastes are catered for so no complaints there.
Again, the service could be better because late diners are "forced out" after 9:00pm because the staff wants to set the tables for breakfast... personally I hated this!

All in all a good to very good hotel but certainly some points of improvements needed for me.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank janengels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2017

Good traditional style hotel in good location with great food and comfortable rooms.
I would have given it five stars if it wasn't for the lawless pool and jacuzzi area.
Babies in the Jacuzzi ! Is that even safe?
The sauna area was very relaxing but be warned its a swimsuit free zone, oh my we are British for heavens sake .
The female staff are excellent and so are some of the males but beware of the guys down in the slope side bar whom seem to detest guests and work.
Would we return , yes we would for the location and food alone.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 691sd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016

We stayed in this hotel with our 2 small kids for a week of skiing; We had an excellent holiday, and this was also due to the hotel.

First of all the location of the hotel is perfect as it is a ski-in ski-out hotel. The main lift is 50 meters downwards from the skiroom of the hotel. The slopes are really perfect for families and moderate skiers like us.
The food was quite good; Not as good as we had in other Austrian hotels, but given the price we paid it was excellent.
Contrary to what our travel agent had said, the hotel had moved into 2016 as the WIFI was now available for free.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank koenbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2016

The hotel is ski in and ski out. The rooms are very comfortable, well appointed and extremely clean. The food is excellent and staff are friendly and attentive. Very quiet resort. Absolutely brilliant holiday. Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2016
1  Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2016

I stayed at this ski-in/ski-out hotel with a group of 9 skiers. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable, the staff were exceptional in all areas, the food was amazing and the best we've ever had in Austria.
The boot room is immediately accessible from the piste as is the Panorama bar - all very convenient, and there is a gondola ski lift just about 50 meters down the piste from the hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be good
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Booked for a whole week with friends for our first summer vacation in the Alps
We enjoyed sincerely all aspects of the hotel.
The restaurant, the rooms, the service, the spa & swimmingpool, the reception, the staff, the pleasant advise on travel & activities, the bar, the behaviour of other guests and the cleaning of the hotel and rooms. All areas was the whole week at or above expectations with very serviceminded staff.
Only minor improvements could be slightly better fitness room and maybe austrians in general can improve vegetables served to the otherwise great meals. Not too cooked seems a general kind advice from at least Danish people :)

Room Tip: some rooms can have too clear view to other guest rooms in corners, but probably not a problem for a...
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank emsholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2015 via mobile

I have to say a big thank you to everyone at the Almhof who made me feel extremely welcome and at home.. the food is absolutely excellent and of the best variation and quality i have ever experienced. .the location of the hotel could not be better for a ski in and out day on the hill.. and easy access to the ski bus for quick and efficient transport to the other near by ski resorts. . The staff were to a person polite friendly and helpful and made my stay most memorable and one that I will certainly be repeating again in the not too distant future ☺

Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank duketyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galtur hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Wirler Hof
Hotel Wirler Hof
#8 of 15 in Galtur
45 reviews
1.5 km away
Alpenresidenz Ballunspitze
2.0 km away
Post
Post
#6 of 15 in Galtur
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Hotel Zontaja
Hotel Zontaja
#7 of 15 in Galtur
23 reviews
2.1 km away
Alpinhotel Monte
Alpinhotel Monte
#1 of 15 in Galtur
203 reviews
0.0 km away
Alpenresort Fluchthorn
Alpenresort Fluchthorn
#9 of 15 in Galtur
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Almhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almhof

Address: Galtur 6563, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Galtur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Galtur
Price Range: $129 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Almhof 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Almhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing