We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value. But a little far away from the fun.”
Review of Hotel Wirler Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Wirler Hof
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Galtur
Reviewed 22 March 2017

When you do a search for hotels in Ischgl you often see hotels in nearby towns, Galtur among them.

The good news about those hotels is that they are frequently much more affordable than the comparable ones in Ischgl, and by that I mean that they can be 1/3 of the price.

The bad news is that you might be 10 to 20 minutes away from Ischgl, where all the fun is. Let's be clear, one does not go to Galtur for the night life. Thankfully, there's a shuttle bus that will drive you back and forth. Not as fun as simply going down from your hotel to the main drag in Ischgl, but not bad.

So, the Wirler Hof itself. It's a good looking property. Incredibly clean and well laid out. Their spa is fantastic with dry and wet sauna, massage, all the trimmings.

The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are really well set up. My only complaint is that the beds never underwent the upgrade from three stars to four stars. Nothing really "wrong" with them, but you can tell that they are not of the highest grade.

Breakfast and dinner were included in our quote and they were plentiful, delicious, and prompt.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benja764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2016

An attractive hotel from the outside and nice greeting from the staff in national dress. The room was spacious and had everything you need including a nice view of course ! The swimming pool in the basement is not enormous but had spa facilities with whirlpools, jets and a current machine. It is not deep so suitable for younger children. Water was cool but refreshing. Large bar area for a pre meal apero. Good evening meal with plenty of choice and nice salad buffet. Breakfast was also very copious and all you could want, our breakfast was included in the hotel cost. Thoroughly recommend a stay and although it was the summer the skiing
facilities look first class.

Room Tip: If you are travelling on the Silvretta road get the Silvretta card from the hotel and the road toll...
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woolnough R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2015

The location of this hotel could not have been better - right by the slopes at Wirl. Easy on the ski bus to other ski areas. I did a few group lessons and enjoyed going back to the hotel at lunch time for the wonderful apple strudel and vanilla sauce followed by a little 'lye down' in my room. The food was excellent and the service careing and fantastic. Not that many other Brits staying in the hotel. Great area for kids to learn. Very good spa area and massage.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here for a 5-day ski holiday in the 3rd week in april, in Zimmer Alpenrose, which was excellent for us and our 6-year old boy. This is a large room with 3 beds, bathroom and separate toilet, located at the back of the hotel, everything immaculately clean.
The hotel is very well located in front of the ski slopes and ski school area, ideal in our case, when you have to drop off your kid at the skischool, no stress ;-).
Galtür is a smaller ski area excellent for families, hard to get lost, still big enough for the more experienced.
The bus stop is next to the hotel if you want to go ski in Ischgl (15-20 min transfer), for those of you who want to explore a bigger area.
Unlike some of the other contributors we were very happy with the service of the staff, always very friendly, can't say anything negative about them, although it was mid april and they were undoubtably longing for the end of the season. Congratulations for that.
The hotel has a beautiful bar and Stübe on the premises, but it was too late in the season to attract a crowd. We did spend a lot of time in the wellness area, with a nice swimming pool, and a choice of 4 different saunas (naked, 'no swimming gear allowed') where it was great to relax after a day in the cold. Both of us enjoyed a massage as well (excellent, 60 euro).
I cannot think of anything negative, maybe the fact that there isn't much to do for (smaller) kids (there is a kidsroom with some toys, rather boring, here is room for improvement)
Breakfast was excellent, and evening dinners (6 courses!) also were very good quality.
All this comes with a price, of course, but nevertheless we would love to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FinnSon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed in the hotel during Christmas for a short ski. There was really a christmas atmosphere. Rooms are nice and clean. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Very good food. The hotel is in Wirl, a short walk from Galtur Dorf. Hotel in front of the ski lifts. Busses go to Ischgl every 15 min. Nice spa. We stayed with the extended family and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AVO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel during christmas. The rooms are nice and clean. The food is very good. The staff is helpfull and friendly. There is a swimmingpool and several saunas. There is a heated room for your skis and boots. The hotel is in front of the skilifts. Busses every 15 min to Ischgl.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adebruin32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed in the Guesthouse Tschifernella and had dinner at the Wirlerhof on our recent ski trip. It was out first to Galtur and we were not disappointed. The guesthouse is a short walk from the 4 star hotel. It was directly opposite the ski lifts and is really in Wirl not Galtur. It's a short, pleasant walk to Galtur and a short ski bus ride away from the busier and more lively resort of Ischgl. The breakfast at the guesthouse was good, basic continental breakfast. We were satisfied and I can imagine if you had kids it would be just the ticket. Nice yoghurts, fresh bread and orange juice, cheese, ham and eggs if your German is up to ordering it. The rooms are comfortable and clean, regularly serviced and the only thing I forgot was a hairdryer. We missed the luxury of wi-fi in the guesthouse and cable TV. The evening meals were superd. High quality dining and a great salad bar which we love. The staff were friendly and the spa looked great. I would highly recommend either and we would go back again.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed quiet to us. They do get a little hot in the night though so I would turn the...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BettyBoo2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galtur hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Almhof
Hotel Almhof
#10 of 15 in Galtur
54 reviews
1.9 km away
Post
Post
#6 of 15 in Galtur
44 reviews
1.5 km away
Alpenresidenz Ballunspitze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Alpenresort Fluchthorn
Alpenresort Fluchthorn
#9 of 15 in Galtur
12 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Rossle
Hotel Rossle
#5 of 15 in Galtur
62 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotel Zontaja
Hotel Zontaja
#7 of 15 in Galtur
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wirler Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wirler Hof

Address: Galtuer 8a, Galtur 6563, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Galtur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Galtur
Price Range: $154 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Wirler Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing