We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,670)
Filter reviews
1,670 results
Traveller rating
654
653
248
74
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
654
653
248
74
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animation team beach bar private beach main building greek night olympia restaurant from france beach is lovely pools were clean plenty of sunbeds beautiful resort main bar end of the season the hotel manager public areas restaurants and bars french
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,670 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2020

This is a really lovely hotel. Spread over quite a large area. The private beach is kept clean and the sea is clear. Our room was lovely with a large balcony overlooking front of hotel. A lot of the people in this hotel are French, and the entertainment staff are French, but they are lovely and will include you if you want to join in. The food was excellent. A very large choice and of a really good standard. There was a pasta station and fresh pizza. The wine was nice white red or rose. The waiters and waitresses were very friendly and the place was very clean. We enjoyed eating at the Taverna which was smaller and felt more intimate.
We walked into Nea Makri along the coast one day and it only took 10/15 minutes of you want a change. Short transfer from airport. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank frasluc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela Kakari, General Manager at Golden Coast Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2020

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for choosing to stay at Golden Coast Hotel Hotel, and for taking the time to post this great review of your stay! Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are pleased to read that you had a great stay here, and were satisfied with our facilities & services, guest rooms & cleanliness, our pools, the quality of the food provided and of course our friendly staff & excellent animation team. Your feedback has been shared with my team, and we thank you so much for recommending us! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and extend once again our warm Greek hospitality & atmosphere!


With kind regards, Mrs Kakari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2020

This is a perfect spot if you want a great beach, good food and a nice sea view from the hotel room. It is not so crowded since we are exactly the marathon distance (42km) from Athens. Easy to get to Athens by Taxi, cost around 40 Euros.

Date of stay: October 2019
3  Thank thomsen805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs_Kakari, Owner at Golden Coast Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2020

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for choosing Golden Coast Hotel for your stay, and for your very favourable review and rating! We are pleased to read that the general impression of your visit was positive, and that you were happy with our convenient location, beach and our food & beverage quality & quantity. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards,
Mrs Kakari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 18, 2019

We stayed for five days at this hotel, thankfully we didn’t stay any longer

When we checked into the hotel we were informed that there was an event taking place and told that we could not have access to certain parts of the hotel. This consisted of the majority of the complex.
When we questioned this we were told that the event staff had turned up and demanded exclusive rights to these areas and we could use the pool area and restaurant at the back of the complex.
We were astonished to hear this and had to get clarification about use of the hotel beach area from the hotel management. As we were initially told that this was also reserved. We were eventually told that we could use the beach and if we wanted a drink, then the beach bar would be accessible for us to get a drink but not to sit in the bar area.
During the first two days of our stay we were reasonably happy with the remaining facilities, but we were disappointed that there was no entertainment during the day time or evening and that the main bar was closed.
The first two days, the event staff were setting up, on the third day things began to dramatically change as the event started. Initially we were allowed to eat with the event guests (although in a separate area at the back, not on the front terrace) for our lunch on the third day and when we asked, we were told that we would be eating at the same place in the evening.

This was then changed.

On the third evening we weren’t even catered for. We were told that the event staff had told the hotel at the last minute that they didn’t want us (the hotel guests) to eat in the same restaurant and that the hotel didn’t have anything else ready ( we were eventually given cold reconstituted fish fingers, which we didn’t eat) .
There were over 30 very hungry, angry, disappointed and complaining guests. The hotel manager just sort of shrugged and said there was nothing more he could do.

About an hour after all the guests complaining, we were sent some leftovers from the event meal. Cold chicken and mushrooms !!

On the fifth day for dinner we had a rehash of the lunch as all the catering had been moved again for the event leaving party.
The parents with kids were really struggling as there was no pizza or burger type food. As well as no entertainment. The Kids were ignored by the hotel the whole time we were there. No games, No disco, Nothing at all.

The last three days meals were very poor compared to the first two days, and it felt very much like we were just an inconvenience to the management staff.

Overall we were extremely disappointed with the way we were treated by the Golden Coast & Bungalows and, but we tried to make the best of a bad situation.

It was very hard to see the event being catered for whilst we (the hotel guests) were pushed out to the back of the complex and forgotten about.

This is also the first time in my life that I have found it necessary to complain to management staff whilst on holiday. Although he just shrugged his shoulders, smiled and said there was nothing more he could do.

We were not forewarned of this event happening at the hotel during our stay by the hotel. So we were not given the opportunity to cancel our booking and make an alternative booking elsewhere.

The areas closed to hotel guests were as follows:

Main / lounge / entertainment Bar
Thalassa Taverna
2 of the 3 swimming pools
Watersports
Wellness Centre
Evening entertainment
Daytime entertainment

Olympia restaurant was closed to hotel guests from the third morning until we left

The beach bar was open, but we were asked not to sit in that area as it was for WPP stream event guests only.

We have emailed the hotel management directly since arriving back home and basically got told
1. We were the only guests complaining, which is not true,
2. That we are no longer at the hotel so they don’t need to do anything.

They also stated “it is our prerogative to not open both restaurants and all three swimming pools” well for three days both of the restaurants were shut to the hotel guests and we were catered to, in a small room off the main restaurant.

We also got in touch with the event staff as the hotel manager told us that it was their fault, the event staff have replied, and told us that they have used this hotel several times before and always had exclusive rights, they also told us the hotel had told them that they had
1. Offered us alternative accommodation ( another lie, as we were never offered that, because if we had, we would have gone)
2. That the hotel had compensated us for the disruption. ( this is also untrue as we were never offered anything by the hotel management)

Our experience of the management of this hotel, since we got home is appalling, just one untruth after another. I have never experienced anything like it. (I have the emails to prove this)

I could never recommend this hotel to anyone, which is a real pity as it looks like it could be such a nice place.

I have attached a copy of the hotel map showing the areas that were closed to hotel guests.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
6  Thank Shadyadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs_Kakari, Owner at Golden Coast Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2019

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for staying at Golden Coast Hotel and thank you for taking the time to write this review. We take guest satisfaction very seriously, and we appreciate your feedback. We were surprised to read your comments, as we - the manager, all the staff as well as the higher management - have done everything we could possibly do, including communicating with you directly and during your visit, in order to improve your stay as much as possible, including special meals and personalised attention. Oftentimes we were denied in-person communication, which did not help matters that could have been resolved there and then, and we say this with the utmost respect a host has towards their guests.

I cannot stress enough how everything was done from our part in order to ameliorate for the disruption caused by our corporate event. In this respect, I are really sorry and saddened by your review, because I know that you have received special care from us. I believe that there has never been a question of bad will or lack of service. As always, we take all our comments and suggestions very seriously to keep our services high. I remain at your service.

Yours sincerely,
Mrs Kakari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2019

We stayed in Golden Coast in september , room is small and cleaning is not super , badroom stinks when you return in the evening from beach until you get some water in sewer. We stayed all inclusive and the food in restaurant, there are two is ok( this is a big resort so , many peopple has to eat ) big pool water is a little cold , the most guest is from France ( not a problem ) and entertainment is in Frenc, but animation team is super , this resort is for families with children , we will not return , hotel is to big and you fel you are just another guast, you dont feel welcome ,only at the bars you get a service with a smile.

Date of stay: September 2019
2  Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs_Kakari, Owner at Golden Coast Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2020

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at Golden Coast Hotel.
It is with great pleasure to read that the general impression of your visit was positive. Regarding the few drawbacks you mention, thank you for having brought these to our attention. All points have been noted and already reviewed with the respective department heads in order to correct all issues & improve on our services & guest experience.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not distant future and prove that we can serve you better.
Kind regards, Mrs Kakari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2019

Our accommodation in the hotel was comfortable with a lovely view of the bay. Food was plentiful and, on the whole, fine. There was a large selection for each course and everything was kept topped up and fresh. The bread and salads were delicious! The stews were also tasty but the vegetables generally not so good. Sweets varied but there was also plenty of fruit. The all inclusive drinks were ok and wine in the dining room was self serve from a barrel tap. Bottled water was not part of the all inclusive package.

The resort had swimming pools, several bars and was right on the beach, which had umbrellas and deckchairs for residents. Beach towels are provided for a €10 deposit. There were a lot of wasps around, especially at the beach bar and beach, although it might have been the time of year. There were a lot of apartments some of which were timeshare.

We went at the end of the season so the large main bar and entertainment area was not busy but there was something every night. The resort also had a bus to Athens stopping at the hotel. It left at 9 and returned at 5.30 and was an excellent service, costing only €4.10 each way. It stopped near the Victoria Metro station, giving easy access to all parts of the city. Highly recommended. Hiring a car would be useful to explore the area.

To summarise, the hotel isn’t luxury but it’s more than adequate for couples, groups or families. We would go back but probably not so near the end of the season.

Room tip: Higher floor with sea view
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonetDumfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs_Kakari, Owner at Golden Coast Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2020

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting your great & very detailed review of Golden Coast Hotel, we much appreciate it and we are pleased to read that the general impression of your visit was positive. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern, so we really appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and extend once again our warm Greek hospitality for another fantastic holiday during the warmer months of our high season!

With kind regards,
Mrs Kakari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews