We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Visitor Centre
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Fabulous Visit

It was just wonderful to see the aircraft up close, I had only ever seen them on TV before. They... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
redrose59
,
Angus, United Kingdom
Brilliant afternoon.

We visited recently and it was a most enjoyable and memorable experience . The guide was wonderful... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
John M
,
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 593 reviews
  
Reviews (593)
Filter reviews
593 results
Traveller rating
454
106
27
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
454
106
27
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour lancaster bomber raf coningsby knowledgeable guide taking off knew his stuff aviation enthusiast his knowledge viewing area well worth a visit minute tour small museum well stocked gift shop personal stories on display fantastic visit two hours
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 593 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was just wonderful to see the aircraft up close, I had only ever seen them on TV before.
They are being so carefully looked after for future generations to see and enjoy.
Our guide was very informative and added lots of stories about the aircraft to bring them to life.
Our visit had the added unexpected bonus of seeing a Spitfire take off, hearing the engine come to life had the hairs on the back of my neck stand up, and a lump in my throat. The men who flew these aircraft were so so brave.
Then to see and hear the roar of the Typhoons flying over head, wow!
There is a small coffee shop on site, great tea and cakes.

Thank redrose59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited recently and it was a most enjoyable and memorable experience .
The guide was wonderful and the planes fantastic.
One of the best visitor attractions in the country in my humble opinion.

Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A great tour with Terry our guide, great to see so many of these beautiful iconic aircraft being looked after so well by the RAF. Terry was knowledgeable and shared lots of facts and stories about each of the aircraft. If you like historic aircraft you’ll love this place. Plus there’s a very interesting visitor centre display and a small cafe. Top marks all round

1  Thank 825grahamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a fascinating place with a guided (by Dave) tour of the hangar containing a Dakota, huge Lancaster, 2 Spitfires, Chipmunk & others.
It took over 90 minutes, so for him to tell us all about each aircraft with photos as well as free details of the place was excellent.
The aircraft were being worked on to make them fly worthy by RAF volunteer mechanics - there is a waiting list for such jobs.
Then saw an aircraft take off outside + 2 others flying overhead - wonderful.
Had a nice sandwich lunch with delicious tea in the cafe.

Thank Meryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Kevin Lawry ex Vulcan Pilot, showed us round in a very relaxed and informative manner. So much detail regarding each aircraft with photos and articles to back up his commentary. Well worth the effort to travel over from Lancahire. He was also interested that I had worked on Lancaster 474 whilst an aircraft apprentice at Cranfield, thank you once again Kevin.

1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is a must see for anyone interested in either war or war time aeroplanes
The guides are very well informed and interesting to listen to.
The highlight is of course the Lancaster - what a plane!

Thank Lyndsay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The guide took time taking us round the planes. There was a large group of french tourists and he was respectful and considerate of both their interpreters and the english speaking folks on the tour. His knowledge of the planes and war time involvment was to be commended. His stories of the war time missions and the crews made it very real. As a bonus there were several Typhoons and Airbus transport planes taking off making it a great visit for all the family. The cafe had ran out of sandwiches and cakes ( it was early afternoon ) but the staff were able to direct us to an excellent cafe in nearby village.

Thank 73piper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2018

Home of the Battle of Britain flight with the Lancaster tacking centre spot but there are many other iconic aircraft on display . Access to the main entrance building is free but it is well worth paying for the hangar guided tour as the people showing you around have a wealth of knowledge , not only of the aircraft but of the people who flew them and also stories of heroism and daring plus an insight of what it really was like during the war years. The tour lasts about 90 minutes and is worth every penny of the admission charge. Usually you will also get to see ,and certainly hear the resident typhoons take off throughout the day.

Thank becl322018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2018 via mobile

What a amazing opportunity to see these planes. As air display season finished they were all there.
We had a very informative guide who took us round explaining all the planes to us there little foibles etc. He made the tour very interesting. I have seen these planes in the sky but never been so close before.
What an honour it was to see them.

Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

The tour was closed when we visited but we still had an amazing time. It was a great experience seeing the Lancaster leave. We will definitely be returning next time we are in the area for the tour.

Thank Sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews