We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mount Field Resort(Belihuloya)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
River Garden Resort & Camp Site(Belihuloya)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 20/07
US$42
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belpeak Cottage(Belihuloya)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Water Garden Hotel(Belihuloya)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Glenrock(Belihuloya)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
105
9
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
9
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfish therapysri lankathe rivercar parkstayed for two nightsloved every minuteyour feetpaddy fieldsnatural pooltucked awaythis wonderful placewhole experiencechef ravievery mealthe penthouseamazing viewsfantastic stay
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 115 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

The Glenrock is a small (9 rooms only), eco friendly luxurious hotel in the middle of the jungle. It’s a gem! The rooms are spacious and clean and the terraces have a beautiful view over the river, jungle, fields and mountains. The service is excellent and always with a smile. Great food. The hotel can arrange excursions for you and they have two complimentary excursions to a waterfall and to the village. Because lack of time we only did the one to the waterfall but it was amazing!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

The glenroch is a perfect oasis in the middle of the Sri Lankans hills. It'd be difficult not to find this place relaxing with scenic 360 degree views, relaxation therapies, great food and fantastic staff. We stayed for two nights and loved every minute!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2018

We were lucky enough to stay at The Glenrock while on our honeymoon in Sri Lanka. It is such a magical place we were sad that we only booked for 1 night (with how far away The Glenrock is from any main centre/attractions it's best to stay for 2-3 nights). There is so much to see and do in Sri Lanka but if you are spending time in the tea planation area The Glenrock is where you should be staying. The serenity there is something that is truly unique and all of the staff working there are such beautiful people only willing to help. They even managed to find my flip flop that was taken by the stream at the river close by- I definitely thought it was long gone!
So if you are looking to have some R&R by yourself, on your honeymoon or simply want to discover the best kept secrets of Sri Lanka The Glenrock has you covered.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms on the high floor so you can see more of a view into the trees
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JPB1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

We just got back to the UK after an amazing 12 days in Sri Lanka. We spent 3 of those nights at the Glenrock and it made such an impression on us.

Arriving in the rain having left sunny Tangalle, we were met by the lovely staff with warm towels, tea and sweets and smiles. The whole stay was just amazing. We have travelled a lot and stayed in some special places around the world but this is one of the best by far. The staff, the amazing food, the peace, the beauty, the massages, the free local walking tours and knowledge, the kindness, the lovely rooms, the wildlife all made us feel incredibly lucky to have found this place.

Our friends from the UK and US joined us and it was even more magical spending time with them here for a few days. The chefs even made our friend a lovely cake for his belated birthday celebration.

Dumi looked after us so well and kindly, Sandun provided us with a very interesting walking tour of the local temple and village (and helped remove the leeches expertly!) and Pradeep provided the best massage I have ever had. I’ve had a good few great massages but this was something else and he worked hard to remove stresses and tightness I have. The reflexology was amazing too.

The food and scenery were sublime. So generous and with so much choice - you could stay for over a week and still not have tried all the options. We felt like we had a personal chef and could choose when we wanted to eat. This made the whole experience much more enjoyable and flexible and relaxing.

I don’t think I can capture how special this place is and how genuine everyone is. I almost don’t want to share it and keep it as a secret but it deserves to be known and enjoyed! If you love nature, you will love this place. It’s situated in a place of outstanding beauty.

Please don’t change a thing. We are already talking about when we can come back to you. Thank you for sharing your special place with us.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2018 via mobile

My girlfriend and I booked 2 nights here but had to add one more night as it’s so magic that we didn’t want to leave, and we know we will be back when we return to Sri Lanka! Stunningly beautiful and remote setting surrounded by lush green hills and rice paddies with a river running through the property. You can only drive as far as the car park and they pick you up for the last few hundred metres in their jeep.

Two free guided walks included in the price which we did with lovely Sandun, one to the local village and temple and one to a nearby waterfall, both really good.

Breakfasts are good and huge and the leftovers kept us going so half board (breakfast and dinner) was more than enough food for us. Great dinners, especially the (huge) signature curries.

Awesome massage from resident therapist Pradeep - I have travelled a lot through Asia and his deep tissue was one of the best I’ve had - he can feel what you need and applies lots of pressure in all the right places taking you to your pain threshold which is just the way I like it! Softer relaxing massages and other treatments are available too.

And wonderful staff! Every single person was always smiling, friendly and eager to help and just a pleasure to be around.

Stay here and you will not be disappointed!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MikeyPrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews