We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Priceline
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveller rating
276
68
15
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
276
68
15
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews san michele pasta beach restaurant fresh fish staff were so friendly lift takes lunch rocks waves
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 382 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2020

This is a gem of a place. we were staying outside the hotel in self catering accommodation but our host recommended we enquire to see if could have a day pass at the beach and so glad we did. A lift takes you down to the sea front where platforms have been built over the rocks where you can subbathe and listen to the waves. Our lunch in the beach restaurant was delicious. fresh fish, pasta, bruchetta and lovely crisp dry house white wine. The staff were so friendly. Would definitely return.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelondon609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2019

We stayed here for five nights, having been invited to a wedding which was being held in the hotel. This is the sort of Italian hotel that we love, very stylish with that atmosphere of faded elegance and first class attention to service and comfort. The extensive grounds are huge, with olive groves, orange and lemon trees, a vineyard and a golf course. The hotel has lots of terraces where you can sit and relax, dine or sunbathe and the area around the pool is very spacious. The staff are very friendly and professional and nothing was too much trouble. The meals were very good, although the breakfast buffet could have been a bit more varied. The surrounding area is very peaceful and the town of Cetraro is a small place, so if you like a very lively holiday this is not the place for you, but if you want a wonderful, relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings, this would be perfect.
Our friend`s wedding at the hotel was superbly organised and the food was absolutely fantastic. Everything looked beautiful and the backdrop of the sun and sea were amazing. I`d certainly recommend it for a wedding venue.

Room tip: Always opt for a sea view room
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2019

We spent 3 days during August at the San Michele, and we were amazed about the kindness of the staff, and mostly by the beauty of their lido and sea.
The hotel is an amazing building and we got one suite with the view on the Calabrian coast which was mesmerizing. The sea water at their private beach was one of the best we have ever swum in.
We will definteley plan for a longer stay in our next summer holiday in Italy.
Kudos to Ornella who helped us in having a great stay at the property.

Room tip: Suite at the fourth floor facing the sea are the best
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2019

We travelled to Italy from the UK as part of an escorted coach tour.

Our arrival and check-in at the hotel was excellent and only took a few minutes.

After reading other reviews we decided to upgrade to a sea-view room without balcony and our room (311) was just as promised with a lovely view of the Tyrrhenian Sea.

The room itself fitted with the age and style of the hotel, it had plenty of storage space for our clothes. However we had two annoying issues:
• our wardrobe door had a very loud creak when opening / closing
• there was only one available plug socket at floor level to plug in our travel adapter to recharge our camera battery and mobile phone

The yellow tiled floor had a few cracks here and there, which could easily have caused an injury if you were not careful in your step and some of the furniture was a little worn but it gave the room a lived in feel. The bathroom was very dated in décor against modern standards but it was adequate for our needs.

The air-conditioning system throughout the hotel accommodation was good it had a couple of settings, so you could adjust the room temperature to suit your needs.
Our bed was actually two singles that had been pushed together to make a double, its bouncy sprung mattress therefore took us quite some time to get used to. The chambermaid always said hello each morning and the evening turn-down service with bedtime cake was a most welcome and unexpected touch.

Although the hotel was small we found plenty of places during the evening to admire the view, on the terrace, in the piano lounge or the hotel lobby and bar areas.

On our arrival, the hotel was very quiet but little did we know what was in store for the rest of the week. The hotel had a wedding and accommodated an extra 150 people on the first Saturday during our stay. This made us feel like second rate guests as the option to dine at the hotel that evening was swiftly removed, instead our tour manager took us to a nearby hillside restaurant to sample the local cuisine. On our return at around 11.00pm the music was still very loud and the festivities eventually finished at 1.30am!

Fortunately, we had decided not to go on the first optional excursion to the Sila National Park the following day, favouring a day of rest and relaxation and were pleasantly surprised to discover that most of the wedding guests had left the hotel earlier that morning. Unbeknown to us the hotel followed the wedding with a 3 day conference. So the quiet beach, pool and hotel terrace areas once again became over-crowded and exceptionally noisy.

Despite the hotel bar being small it stocked a good selection of drinks. We were a little disappointed that there was no draught Italian beer available, so had no choice but to purchase Nastro Azzurro at 3.50 Euro a bottle if we fancied a beer. The selection of drinks on the cocktail menu was extremely good, each one priced at 8 Euros. We found it best to visit the bar in person to order our drinks, we informed the barman of our chosen table location; this avoided a lengthy wait as the bar in our opinion was understaffed.

We were on the half-board dinning option (breakfast and evening meal). Breakfast was served from 7.30am-10.00am and Dinner 19.45pm-21.30pm. We were told that Italians didn’t do breakfast, so the breakfast selection was somewhat basic with bread, yoghurt, jams, one type of cheese and ham, croissants, cake, butter, fruits, tomatoes, orange juice and either a normal non-specialty coffee or a cappuccino. Scrambled eggs were also included in our breakfast package, but if you wanted a poached or fried egg it came at extra 4 Euro cost.

Evening meals were served on the upper terrace with a choice of 4 starters / 4 mains / 3 desserts to select from. Personally, we would have preferred to eat at an earlier time and it would have been nice to have had the option to dine on table for 2 instead of part of the escorted tour group.

Bottles of the hotel’s own red or white wine could be ordered to accompany your evening meal. We preferred the Bianco (white) at 13 Euro per bottle; the bottle was kept for you if you were not able to finish it that evening and promptly delivered for you to enjoy as part of your next evening meal.

The waiters, maître d and chefs were professional in their work; the choice of dish was really good with most of the produce coming from the hotel’s farm.

On the first morning hotel owner Ornella, gave a guided tour of the hotel’s farm and vine yards. The tour started at 10.00am and took 2 hours during a 30c heatwave! By the end of the tour and wine tasting session everyone was extremely hot and sweaty. The tour was enjoyable but an early evening tour when the temperature was slightly cooler would have been more preferable.

The hotel was spotlessly clean and the WIFI was good most of the time.

The hotel’s private beach was excellent, very quiet during the morning and after reading reviews about the lift down to the beach we approached with much trepidation. We were expecting some sort of miners lift with a metal cage but what greeted us was a pleasant surprise, a modern(ish) if not small lift which took about 2 minutes to descend approximately 93 meters to the beach (not a problem at all and certainly not scary as some other reviewers had stated).

The beach has three areas and a covered terrace area for lunch 12.45pm to 14.30pm. The Seafront Restaurant offers a limited choice of meals (3 starters /3 mains/2 desserts). We enjoyed a couple of really good meals during our stay, but they were a little expensive to say the least (Octopus salad 14 Euros).

The hotel swimming pool, although inviting, was a little cold but once in extremely refreshing. The pool side sun loungers however, were certainly not made with comfort in mind. The top part of the lounger can be manipulated to provide enough shade to read a book which is nice touch, but the body of the lounger cannot be lowered into a flat horizontal position and the back legs of the sun lounger actually gave way whilst we were sitting on them! My partner was fortunate to come away from the incident with a small bruise but the consequence could have been much, much worse.

The hotel staff, were polite and professional in their work, no request however big or small was too much for them to fulfil but due to the number of guests and the multitude of events going on they were not as attentive as they could have been.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Grand Hotel San Michele; it’s not difficult to see why people return year in year out. It’s a beautiful place, the grounds are immaculate and the food and drink of a high standard.

Top Tips:

The Hotel operates a cashless system in which you sign for all purchases and pay at reception on the day of departure. Keep a basic list of what you buy throughout your stay to avoid any discrepancies on checkout

The Hotel is very hilly and from the beach lift to lobby entrance is 176 steps, for guests with walking difficulties this could be an issue.

Room tip: Pay extra for a sea-view room or a superior sea-view room with balcony
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WeWantAnotherHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2019

The hotel is amazing. We celebrated my friend's wedding there. It was so beautiful with an amazing view to the sea.
The food was also very good. They have their own garden where they grow vegetable, fruits and olives. So all the products they use are from their garden, very fresh and tasty.
The beach is also beautiful with an awesome view. On the beach you can have a lunch also.
I felt myself as a princess in the castle.

Date of stay: August 2019
3  Thank Lyudmila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews