We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely recommended”
Review of Borgo Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Borgo Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Very nice accomodation, clean rooms, cosy houses, well kept gardens. The owner is very friendly and very helpful in case of small problems, and is fluent in English. Wireless internet is available on request (which is a plus for business people like us).
We were a group of seven people staying in Borgo Santa Maria, and we are unanimously positive about our stay. It is hard to find negative points for this location and its surroundings. The only minor negatives were the (occasional) sound of the train in the valley and the lack of some cooking gear in the very well equipped kitchen.
In any case: we absolutely reccomend a stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lemmert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Borgo Santa Maria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2010

Very nice Agritourismo - friendly people, nice places to eat locally and a good spot to go visiting in Umbria and Tuscany. There is a pool whci is very nice and comftable - and you can get a good swin in it. Try Castialno de Baglio and the nearby spar.Half an hour to Orvieto and and hour to Monlepollinio (amazing hill town). We had the Terrezzo apt with a big terrance - great for cooking on the grill and drinking / eating local produce. All in all woth checking out.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter50_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Borgo Santa Maria in the apartment Loggia. Daniele, the host, made us feel welcome at once, and was helpful in suggesting where to go and what to see in the area during our stay, ten days.
The spacious garden, the shadow under the big trees, the swimmingpool. We loved it all! Next year we are planning to return with grandchildren, the place would be a paradise for them because of the playgrounds and the swimmingpool.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oddvev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We rented all the 10 appartements and all of us (40 persons) were very satisfied. We stayed for one week and also arranged our wedding at the sight. Daniele was very helpful during plannings for the weddingday and more. The pool and playground is great and the children also had a great week at the place.
The only thing we were not so satisfied with, was the cleaning on arrival. It was dusty and a lot of cobweb all over. Next time we also hope that there will be wineglasses for everyone.
We would really like to come back. Either rent it all once again or just a few appartements.
Åsa og Vidar with family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AasaKarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We stayed in Borgo Santa Maria for one week in june 2010 for celebriting my daughters wedding.
We had a lovely stay with å big party in the area oround the pool 23 of june, Together we were over 40 persons from Norway from age 2 - 67. Thank you to Danielle for very good service. We would like to come back som time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wenches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Located on the valley floor near the agricultural fields the Borgo can be damp and cold. Accommodations are very modest, and in fair, but not great, shape. The cottages are fairly close to each other.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank JohnByng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeleOrvietoUmbria, Proprietario at Borgo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2010

I'm Daniele, borgo santa maria is my property , I'm afraid for the non nice experience made here .
During the period that you was in Umbria, the weather was really bad ( cold and raining) and it was not possible spend free time outside, but all the countryside and the nice city around us are anyway nice to visit.
All the houses have a own pergola and a own maingate, so the privacy is not so bad, naturally an agriturismo is not a villa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We stayed here for a week which we lengthened with a few days. Great appartments on a very nice terrain with all the facilities you could wish for. We had the swimming pool practically for ourselves and uninterrupted views over the countryside due to its private location. The owner, Daniele, has been very helpfull in providing us with information about the surroundings from the Borgo. All in all an adress where we hope to come back soon. Greetings from Marlies and Olivier.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dehaas_olivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteleone d'Orvieto
1.4 km away
Relais Gli Ulivi
Relais Gli Ulivi
#1 of 1 in Monteleone d'Orvieto
16 reviews
1.8 km away
Agriturismo I Gergoni
Agriturismo I Gergoni
#1 of 7 in Monteleone d'Orvieto
141 reviews
1.8 km away
Agriturismo Cornieto
Agriturismo Cornieto
#3 of 7 in Monteleone d'Orvieto
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 km away
Agriturismo La Chiusetta
4.3 km away
Agriturismo Gattogiallo
Agriturismo Gattogiallo
#1 of 7 in Montegabbione
225 reviews
2.5 km away
B&B Antica Sosta
B&B Antica Sosta
#1 of 3 in Monteleone d'Orvieto
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Santa Maria

Address: Via Dei Pini 6 | Santa Maria Località Vicinnove, 05017, Monteleone d'Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Monteleone d'Orvieto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Monteleone d'Orvieto
Price Range: $136 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo Santa Maria is an Agriturismo in Umbria very close to many fantastic historical villages and natural places. It is perfect for families, couples and groups of friends looking for quite and cultural holidays. Also you can book the whole village for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Borgo Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing