We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Outtheoffice
Milton Keynes

A very nice hotel in a charming small town

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 11, 2015
We had the pleasure of staying at the Riegeler Hof in August on our way home from Italy to the UK.

The hotel is conveniently placed for the autobahn - and easy to find -- sat nav took us straight there.

There were 5 in our party and we had 3 rooms ---- all were spotlessly clean, not huge but everything you need.

The weather was warm and we dined outside on the terrace, very pleasant surrounded by bedding plants in full bloom. The staff were very friendly indeed and spoke some English helping us translate the menu. The meal itself was lovely - good portions -- the schnitzel was very good as was my steak. The local beer is also well worth trying.

The highlight though was a magnificent breakfast --- outside again. Cooked meats, fresh fruits, pastries all very well presented and the staff kept the buffet fully stocked.

At around 400 euros for 3 rooms - 5 3 course meals, breakfast and a few beers and a bottle of wine the evening before it was good value

A must return for longer hotel and recommended for an overnight stay -- or a little longer.
Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
0.4 km from Hotel Riegeler Hof
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$188
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    C$188
  • Vio.com
0.0 km from Hotel Riegeler Hof
Free Wifi
Free parking
Frühstück vom Buffet
C$270
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$269
  • Hotels.com
    C$264
  • Priceline
2.8 km from Hotel Riegeler Hof
Free Wifi
Free parking
Frühstücksraum
C$202
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    C$202
3.0 km from Hotel Riegeler Hof
Free Wifi
Doppelzimmer mit französischem Bett
C$130
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    C$130
  • Vio.com
3.0 km from Hotel Riegeler Hof
Free Wifi
Free parking
Uitzicht van mijn eenpersoonskamer
C$276
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    C$276
3.2 km from Hotel Riegeler Hof
Pool
Restaurant
C$355
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    C$355
3.5 km from Hotel Riegeler Hof
Pycha
C$150
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    C$150
5.0 km from Hotel Riegeler Hof
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$164
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
  • eDreams
    C$164
5.1 km from Hotel Riegeler Hof
Free Wifi
Free parking
Frühstück
C$144
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    C$143
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    C$143
6.1 km from Hotel Riegeler Hof
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Riegel am Kaiserstuhl
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
44
41
8
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
44
41
8
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 97 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2015 via mobile

We actually were looking for something Italian to escape the Inevitable Flammkuchen. We ended up here thanks to a look in tripadvisor and didn't regret it. Well at first we did when looking at the menu. Its clearly in the upper category, nothing you would expect in a place like Riegel, price wise. Also one drawback is they don't have outdoors seating.
We had ricotta Rucola ravioli with mushrooms and the Scottish salmon on potato roesti.
First we got bread and homemade whipped butter. Very nice. Then an amuse geule arrived which was excellent. In fact I contemplated just sitting there and waiting for more goodies to arrive which we didn't order.
Highly recommended is the Rose from Koenigsschaffhausen.
Then the main courses arrived and the ravioli with fried Rucola strands on top were very nice. The roesti were freshly made. Another gripe I have with German food. They make it nice (well sometimes) and then put some cream sauce over. They put an extra sauce decanter on the table while i was wishing for Balsamico and olive oil. Or more wine.
After we asked for the bill, with it arrived a tray stacked with little cakes/ petit fours. Very appreciated.

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Christine_sing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 11, 2015

The food is excellent, the choices are very seasonal, the food is delicious, the service is wonderful. Also the place has very little staff turnover, which is great to see in this industry. The owners are polite and helpful.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank millie2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 24, 2014

I have known this hotel for the past 30 years and it was a pleasure to return there. As usual, the rooms are very quiet, spic-and-span, comfy beds, free parking, free wifi, breakfast is excellent as is the à la carte restaurant, the hotel is quite close to Freiburg i. Breisgau, where we had a fabulous shopping spree, including the lovely Xmax market! We'll definitely go back to this hotel and can highly recommend it.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zwerver45
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Riegelerhof for 4 nights in May 2013, using the hotel as "Bed and Breakfast base" to tour the region by car. For that purpose the hotel is fine. If we wished to spend more time at the hotel itself, (and also wished to spend time at the bar for a sun-downer), we would have chosen differently. My comments are restricted to the main building (i.e. excluding the annexe). The buildings, restaurant and rooms are typical for (the south) of Germany.

Pros:

- Quiet surroundings,
- Clean, well maintained,
- Breakfast buffet is good with a good selection - the cheese selection could have been better and a little more day to day variation would be good. The fresh fruit and fruit salad were particularly good. Particularly commendable was the fact that items were replenished continuously right up to the end of the breakfast session. If one wanted eggs, other than the hard boiled variety which were available daily, I suppose one would have to order them specially.
- Our double bedroom was adequately large with a lot of cupboard space and sufficient hanging facilities. The mattresses were firm and to our liking.
- The free wireless internet worked very well - (one has to get a pass for the required days from reception).
- On-site parking was more than adequate.
- Other guests during our tour predominantly were bus tours of friendly elderly persons.
- The first evening we also had dinner in the hotel. The price and quality were very good for a 3 star hotel.
- Overall the quality and price for the overnight accommodation were good.

Cons:
- The bathrooms were small - only one person could be in it a time. The toilet was "squashed" between the shower and the wall, meaning that a "large" person would probably not be able to use the toiled with comfort.
- Inadequate shelf/cupboard space in the bathroom - one had to put all items on the vanity space around the basin or in the bottom of the (shelfless) cupboard below the basin.
- The shower is enclosed in glass but is rather small.
- The mirror is high enough for a smaller person - tall persons would probably have to stoop
- The rooms, although modernised were somewhat bland - a personal touch was lacking.
- The walls are thin and not well sound-proofed - but that is not unusual in hotels.
- On the whole the staff did their job very well, but mostly (and particularly so at reception) showed little friendliness (doing a job well but not smiling perhaps is a regional trait...)

Overall the hotel is very good if one selects it for the market niche that it seeks to fill.

Room tip: The first floor double rooms facing the road had the small bathrooms - I don't know what the others are like.
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RekeGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I travel extensively in Germany. This hotel was actually quite suprisingly good for me. In most smaller cities and villages, the hotels are okay, but nothing more. At this hotel, the breakfast is as good as I have had anywhere in Germany, including some pricey ones in Frankfurt. The Hotel itself is clean and well maintained. It is much larger than I expected since it is situated about 15 km north of Freiburg im Breisgau. The rooms are actually in two buildings along side of the main reception and restaurant building. The doors to these building are always locked for security. There are no elevators to the upper two floors - not unusual in Europe. The rooms are typical German. That is, they are somewhat small compared to american hotels. They are quite functional, comfortable, and very bright. Most have a small balcony. There is free parking in front of the hotel or garage parking for an added 5 Euros a night.

The restaurant is very good and the portion sizes are quite large. In most cases I finished only half of the main course served. The staff I found to be quite friendly and very helpful. Since I speak German, I do not know if this made any difference. I suspect not. The prices are typical for a tourist area. Higher than some, but less than others. There are several restaurants in area to choose from if this one does not suit your taste. The food is typical black forest/schwabisch food. I would recommend anything on the menu. However, to experience the best regional food, choose something other than schnitzel. It is typical German food that can be ordered anywhere in the country.

Access to the A5 autobahn is less than two minutes away. Colmar and Strasbourg are both less than an hour away. The main train station is about 3km from the hotel.

Wireless internet is available for a price. However, in this case, I again think it is worth the price. I have a USB stick for internet access, but I chose the hotel wireless because it is much, much faster.

Room tip: Be aware that there are no elelvators. So if stairs are an issue, ask for a ground floor room.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nileviper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews