We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Village Club Belle Dune
GreenLeadersBronze level
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We booked a 4 suns (refurbished), 3 bedroom house for 7/8 people - we were 4 adults, one child and a baby. The house provided enough room for us all and had 2 showers and toilets and a well equipped kitchen. We were located in the Hameau quartier which was overlooking the (very picturesque) golf course, had a big garden and was quiet and safe. We could watch the sun set over the dunes.
The walk to the Aquaclub was only 5 minutes and was a pleasant walk. The pool itself was very popular with our 8 year old who loved the slides and the wave machine!
We found the staff to be very helpful, polite and spoke good english.
The small town of Fort Mahon was only a 10 minute walk away with a fantastic beach and a good selection of restaurants.
The drive from Calais was easy and not too far considering we had a baby and travelled during the day.
We were pleased we chose Belle Dune and would recommend to anyone with children who wants a laid back resort with good facilities and location.

Room Tip: Choose a house with more space than you think you will need - we took this tip from Trip Advisor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    1,318
    591
    218
    86
See reviews for
2,258
320
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We spent five days at Belle Dune at the end of Summer holidays. A bit of an afterthought, we booked v late and saved about 30%. We went prepared to be disappointed due to all the bad press on TripAdvisor, but we had a great time. We booked a house and we always book a larger unit so that everyone has a proper bed. That said, the sofa bed in the lounge is really a 90cm bed with a foam mattress, and another 90cm bed with a foam mattress underneath. Not a sofa at all and very comfortable to sleep on. Our house was in the 'Plage' area, closest to the beach. Our house was peaceful, in good condition and very clean. The mattresses are firm, but with an extra pillow we were fine and very comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped with microwave and dishwasher, coffee machine and kettle - no oven. There is a small terrace with reclining chairs. There is a little Carrefour Market nearby. The drive was easy and took just over an hour from Calais. Staff were friendly and helpful (we do speak French). We met families who were there for the fourth year in a row, and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Book a larger unit than you need unless you are happy to sleep in the lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carts123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I have to say considering how much you pay for a room and this is Northern France it is not particular good value. Yes the setting is picturesque but the room we stayed was very smelly like it had not be used for several days and stunk of bad food smells. The floors were dirty and the cleanliness generally could have been alot better. We opened all the windows cleaned the room ourselves and got it ship shape.
We stayed in the apartment and be warned it is above the restaurants and bars so was noisy but thankfully our kids slept through the noise and to be far on one of the nights it showed a concert and it was quite nice to sit out on the balcony drinking fine champagne and watching the band play.
One of the biggest gripes was the staff. Hopeless. We wanted to hire a pedalo on the Lake and were told to comeback as the person who we needed to see was on a break - so much for customer service. Why not let uis borrow the pedlo and we would sqaure it afterwards. We did not bother to come back. We wanted to change the noisy room but were told we would have to pay €50 to do so. Having a laugh! The train to take you to the beaches did not work. No apology no helpful advice to suggest other means. No thought to hire in a a mini bus. The problem is all the staff you deal with are kids.
I would also warn people about the area itself. It is so windy and we went to Fort mahon beach and the wind blew sand in ours and the kids faces in August. It also meant despite a rare sunny day it felt really cold. We lasted 30 minutes.
The best thing is the swimming pool. It is brilliant for kids 6-11. They will love the slides. The swimming pool is accessible to the public so just a though stay elsewhere and come and pay and use the swimming pool.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonny901london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Massana, Andorra
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Nice little resort. Clean, tidy, well built & maintained accomodation. Good facilities. The onsite restaurant is good. Staff are generally helpful and pleasant (by French standards anyway).

But the place was badly let down by the staff in the onsite water park/pool complex (which in itself it quite good). They were rude, officious, unpleasant and spoilt the whole holiday for our family, so much so that would not return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiredOldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
126 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We've just spent a week at Belle Dune and really enjoyed it. The houses are absolutely tiny - we had one for 4-5 people with one sofa bed (actually really comfortable) and one twin bedroom with a fold-out bed (so well disguised that we couldn't even find it at first!). Everything was very compact but incredibly clean and efficient. Looking at some of the other reviews, we didn't have any of these problems - we had a kettle, the beds were fine and most of the staff were extremely friendly (the only exception was one of the girls at the main reception who clearly couldn't be bothered which was a shame as all the other staff were exceptionally helpful ).
We stayed at the Maisons de la Plage which was great - it's a good ten minute walk from the main square, but we much prefered it. There's a heated swimming pool for the Maisons de la Plage which was never crowded, unlike the main pool which was jam packed most of the time.
Belle Dune wasn't cheap but our children loved it and there was lots to keep them occupied - swimming, cycling, tennis, the beaches etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katelilybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We went last year and loved the place. This year we went and paid for a 2 bedroom 3 star house and to say it was basic was an understatement. Even in the cheapest of hotels you have a kettle, but as we were 'comfort' we had to make do with saucepans! Last year we had duvets, this year one sheet and a blanket (thank God it was warm). The staff were not very understanding and you were made to feel like just another tourist. The ants were salt to the wound. The swimming pool was crowded by the end of the week and was not a pleasant experience. However, saying that we did have a good holiday because we were determined to!

Room Tip: If there are more than 3 of you book a big house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boyceboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We have just returned from a weekend at Belle Dune. It exceeded our expectations in may ways. The houses are all painted in lovely colours which our son thought made it look like Balamory! The accommodation was lovely with two bathrooms and a dishwasher. All the bedding and towels were provided too. The pool was great fun. Our 7 and 5 year old boys loved the slide and the lack of queue meant they could slide on it for ages. The staff were very friendly and really helpful when I lost my locker key. There is a small petting zoo and a lovely park which were great for our 2 year old. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kari-Mia-Law
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort-Mahon-Plage
1.3 km away
Hotel La Terrasse
Hotel La Terrasse
#2 of 5 in Fort-Mahon-Plage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
2.2 km away
Le Fiacre
Le Fiacre
#1 of 2 in Quend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
3.3 km away
Les Augustines
Les Augustines
#2 of 2 in Quend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Ibis Budget Berck sur Mer
20.7 km away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#1 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
21.8 km away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Jardins de la Cote d'Opale
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les ...
#8 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Village Club Belle Dune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Village Club Belle Dune

Property: Pierre & Vacances Village Club Belle Dune
Address: 1 Promenade du Marquenterre, 80120 Fort-Mahon-Plage, France (Formerly Pierre & Vacances Holiday Villages Belle Dune)
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Fort-Mahon-Plage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Fort-Mahon-Plage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pierre & Vacances Village Club Belle Dune 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming eco village on the Opal Coast only an hour from Calais Indoor and outdoor aqua centre, children's club, petting farm and many more activities Home to the famous 18 hole Belle Dune golf course, one of France's best golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Village Club Belle Dune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre & Vacances Resort Belle Dune Hotel Fort-Mahon-Plage
Pierre And Vacances Resort Belle Dune
Belle Dune Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing