We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular meal, service, view”

Ristorante Albergo Quattro Gigli
Reserve with
Ristorante Albergo Quattro Gigli is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed July 6, 2017

This meal was one of the highlights of our trip to Tuscany. We were staying nearby and made the trek up the hill to Montopoli Val d'Arno to have dinner at Quattro Gigli and we talked about it for the rest of our vacation. We were a party of 9 and were seated on the terrace overlooking the valley which provide unparalleled views of the Tuscan landscape. We ate a relaxed two hour meal, each plate that arrived was artfully presented and was a prime example of simple but delicious Tuscan food. Several of us ordered the fixed price 33 Euro meal (one vegetarian, two regular) and although a little more expensive than ordering off the menu it was well worth it. We were able to try several antipasti, primi, secondi and dolci - I would certainly suggest trying this out if you want to sample a range of different menu items. If you are anywhere in this area, I would say that dinner on the terrace at Quattro Gigli is a can't miss event!

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 430FrankD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 306 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2017 via mobile

The front door to this hotel gives little away, walk a little further in and still you see only traces of former grandeur and gain the impression of a slightly fusty hotel. A complicated meander down a few corridors and down a number of flights of stairs will eventually lead you to a fairly old fashioned but charming sun bathed terrace with wonderful views over the tuscan countryside. First wow.
The service is unassuming and unintrusive but very informative ( especially if you need help with the menu which is in Italian only) and efficient.
Choose whatever you fancy and you will not be disappointed, all dishes are beautifully prepared and presented. The scallops are excellent ( two of our party said they were the best they had ever had) so come highly recommended.
The set menus ( there are two, one vegetarian the other with meat) were very enjoyable and may introduce you to new and interesting flavours.
The house wine that comes with the menus is very drinkable, red or white.
All in all a very enjoyable experience and one that I would not hesitate to suggest you try, even if it means going a little bit out of your way.
We went twice.
Perfetto!

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank rogerw138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2017 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel and decided to dine in the restaurant of the hotel.
In short: great service, excellent Fiorentina, unique atmosphere.
Really recommended!

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Ioyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2016

This place is on the road to nowhere, so easily missed and certainly not very convenient to a FI-PI-LI exit. But should you find yourself at the popular nearby town of San Miniato, then Montopoli is a quick ride and well worth it. We usually have lunch there, not crowded and a nice view from the terrace. In rougher weather the dining experience down in the 'cavern' is very pleasant. Other reviewers have done a good job describing the food. Strolling the town before or after dining offers the opportunity for some nice views. Good parking available up the street just opposite the hotel/restaurant.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TuscanWino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile

We were diverted to this restaurant when the one we originally wanted to go to was closed that day. Fate could not have been more kind! From the food, to the view and ambiance, to our waiter Matteo, all was perfection! The vegetarian prix fixe meal was amazing! We started with a vegetable tempura with a red pepper sauce on the side. Followed by a pasta in pesto sauce. Then, for me the the highlight of the meal. A vegetable platter so unpretentious yet so different and so satisfying! A few fried potatoes, sautéed red onions, tomatoes, white beans, and cut up spiced apples. The finish was a gelato trio - peach, raspberry and coconut. The coconut was voted overall favorite. Either white or red wine was included in the the meal as well. We had 3 generations at the table and all enjoyed immensely! This is a restaurant not to be missed if you are in Montopoli in Val D'Arno.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Albergo Quattro Gigli also viewed

Montopoli in Val d'Arno, Province of Pisa
Montopoli in Val d'Arno, Province of Pisa
 
Montopoli in Val d'Arno, Province of Pisa
San Miniato, Province of Pisa
 
Montopoli in Val d'Arno, Province of Pisa
Palaia, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Ristorante Albergo Quattro Gigli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing