We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice Hotel next to a fantastic beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Castilla Alicante
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
West Bloomfield MI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A nice Hotel next to a fantastic beach”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Early this month I spend one week at this Hotel. It is nothing luxurious but it served my purpose of relaxing during the off-season period without the tourist masses. The Hotel is located just a few yards from the San Juan beach which is about three miles long, white sand and almost deserted this time of the year. Temperatures vary from 50 to 70 degrees, water is temperate and allows a dip sometimes.
Prices during the off-season are excellent and services are adequate. There is a cafeteria but no formal restaurant. The Hotel is well connected with a very efficient tram passing just in front of it which will take you to anyplace in the city of Alicante or nearby beaches.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have an oblique view to the beach. Try to get an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeNeedRestaurants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    238
    103
    23
    15
See reviews for
111
244
34
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed at Hotel Castilla over the weekend (Nov 18/19 2011) for 2 nights Bed & also chose breakfast too.

This is not in a tourist resort but more holiday apartments & homes for the natives, but a great area for beaches, bars, great traditional food, and all very reasonable and not tourist inflated prices.

Found the hotel very comfortable & clean. Free WiFi in room which worked OK on the odd occasion i did connect on my Mobile Phone. Pretty Basic swimming pool which we didn't use as it wasn't warm enough. Continental breakfast of Bread rolls or sliced with a variety of cold meats and only 1 cheese (cheddar), and also the usual cereals, jams, yoghurt etc. Altogether pretty much standard Continental Breakfast that you get everywhere.

Likes: Comfortable, Clean, In room FREE WiFi, A stones throw away from miles of lovely beach, staff were OK (only dealt with on check in & out), enjoyed the local restaurants. All reasonably priced.

Dislikes: Double Room had 2 single beds pushed together (not good if you want to hug up to your partner without falling through the middle of them...ouch)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NickTheDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucca, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

This Hotel is very good. nothing fancy, nothing luxurious but very well located and clean. mine (#502) was a very spacious room with a very large terrace. we have dined one night sitting on the terrace. Wifi works perfectly. Parking is really free and on site. The stuff is not so "happy and friendly" but it's ok. rooms are not overlooking the beach but i think it is better otherwsie they would be too noisy. maybe during thte summer this palce (the hotel, all the hotel and the San Juan plage) must be very "crowded" and noisy. In november i have enjoyed it, the beach is really beautiful.

Room Tip: ask rooms at the end of the corridor the ones with the big terrace. the others along the corridor ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeboraDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed here for just one night as we were flying out of Spain from Alicant (had been staying in Valencia for the MotoGP). This was a cheap hotel but it far exceeded our expectations for its price. The girl on the reception was very helpful with directions to the airport, where to eat and where to park our hire car. The room was very clean, a good size, great hot powerful shower. We had a balcony, overlooking the pool and the sea a little way off. Definitely would come back here for a quiet family holiday. Not at all what I expected. Thought it would be roudy and common but it wasn't at all. Breakfast included and was good.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 210 which was not too high up and overlooked the pool. Nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I found the hotel excellent. Room a good size and comfortable. Staff helpful & spoke English. Breakfasts excellent including scrambled egg & bacon. We had 2 dinners in the hotel and the food was fine. Our room was on the 8th floor (our request) and we had a side sea view from the balcony. Location great - near an excellent beach with promenade, lots of shops and restaurants nearby, quiet and felt safe, bus and tram to Alicante pass hotel entrance and costs €1.25 each way to town centre (20 mins). This isn't a buzzing town centre location, more residential which we preferred. Excellent restaurant Los Charros nearby for a special occasion.


The only problem we found was that the restaurants in the vicinity open for dinner at 8.30pm - 9pm. This is normal for Spain but later than we wanted to eat. Many restaurants in Alicante are open at all hours so it is easy to eat before returning to the hotel. In fact we ate a couple of times in the hotel since they would serve the dinner menu in the bar from 8pm (the dining room opened at 8.30pm). Can't put bar / restaurant on the hotel tab but can pay by card.

Room Tip: Based on other reviews, we requested 8th floor & had side sea view. As an added "bonus"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walpole, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

A block away from the beach, a bus stop in front of the hotel, a metro stop nearby. It was great to have a balcony with a table and chairs, from which we could sort of view the sea. The staff was very helpful and friendly. It was a surprise to us that there was not a fridge/minibar in the room, nor was there a hairdryer! Also, although this is a beach town and the hotel has a pool, they do not have a towel service for use at the pool or beach!
They do have a snack bar and restaurant, good but a bit pricey. But there are plenty of restaurants nearby. Wifi was a bit spotty.

Room Tip: take the bus into the old town and visit the Castillo. The views from up there are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grendog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Petersburg Russia
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Very nice hotel near to the beach San Juan that is quiet place and not crowdy like the beach in Alicante. Spacious rooms, all facilities inside exept hairdryer ( ask at the reception), various breakfast, cheep menu del dia for lunch and dinner, swimming pooll and other sport facilities ( SPA at a dictance of 500 m), friendly multilingual staff, good value for money for 3 stars hotel! I strongly recommend to all categories of travelers!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofiiya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Playa de San Juan
Almirante Hotel
Almirante Hotel
#18 of 49 in Alicante
308 reviews
Hotel Albahia
#16 of 49 in Alicante
523 reviews
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Hotel Alicante
#24 of 49 in Alicante
379 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 49 in Alicante
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castilla Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castilla Alicante

Property: Hotel Castilla Alicante
Address: Avenida Paises Escandinavos 7, 03540 Alicante, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Castilla Alicante 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Castilla Alicante is a three star hotel that has been certified with the "Q" of Quality trade mark. The hotel has been recently renovated. It is located in the city`s north and placed in a charming environment. Only 50 metres from the beach "San Juan Playa".Wich has been awanded a blue flag. A few minutes drive from the citycentre , the much filmed "Ciudad de la Luz" , the Airport "EL ALTET" , the Exhibition Centre ( IFA) ,The theme park "Terra Mitica" the ,"Terra Natura" off the A7 / A31,and 300 metres away is the Golf course " Alicante Golf ".Hotel Castilla Alicante has 155 rooms, all recently redecorated and are equiped with full marble bathroom, large balconies , satellite TV, telephone, internet connection, safety deposit box ( optional) and the majority have sea views. The rooms majority has free wi-fi connection under availability .All rooms have air conditioning and central heating .There are also non smoking rooms alarms.Hotel Castilla Alicante is a suitable location to combine business, sport and leisure, where relaxation and rest are guaranteed.Moreover, we have conference rooms and banqueting with suites varying capacities (350-25 people ) , a restaurant with a capacity of 300 people , swimming pool, childrens play area, undercover parking, a terrace with a cafe-bar, a Cafe lounge with a TV area, a limited room service, a laundry service, a florist, excursions, a ticket service, car-rental available at reception, Green Fees reservations and information about the golf courses . Close to the hotel, there is an office for local shows, Commercial Centres, restaurants, pubs and high speed wi-fi connection on the main floor. Full equipped kitchen of our own specialised in Home made and mediterranean cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Castilla Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing