We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Basic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Explanada Hotel Alicante
Ranked #9 of 28 Alicante B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Booked this hotel after reviewing hotels in Alicante, excellent value for money, clean basic room, linen changed on 2nd night of 3 night stay, powerful shower (toiletries provided), plentiful European style breakfast and re-plenished upon request (fresh fruit, juice, cereals, yoghurts, old meats, cheese, breads, pastries, biscuits, oils, sauces, peppers, spanish omlette, condiments, teas & coffees). If i had to provide a negitve comment - cold boiled eggs would have been great and fresh milk for the cereals. Hotel 'bang' in the middle of the town, 5 mins from top 5 restaurants on trip advisor, 3 mins from tram, bus, beach and marina. Staff couldn't be nicer, stayed facing main street over bar and had no complaints with noise. Bed wasn't great for me but my wife slept like a log, only one low quality pillow provided.

Room Tip: ask for double balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommyDerryCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2011

We were looking for somewhere to stay overnight in Alicante as we had appointments two days running, so we chose the Explanade. It is very centrally located, clean, with basic buffet breakfast and ideal for a short stay.
We expected a room with a balcony but were disappointed, however after a room move we did end up with a light airy room on the 4th floor.

Room Tip: ask for balcony room when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnfris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

The hotel was chosen for its central location, in old town but only 100m from the beach.
The room was very clean and comfortable with a well appointed en-suite. the shower was narrow for us but still functional with plenty of hot water and quality products.
The buffet breakfast had a good range of quality product in a bright room. Next to the breakfast room was a comfortable lounging area with chairs and sofas, useful when the weather was damp and cool on the first two days.
Overall very good and excellent value.

Room Tip: Some noise on main street at weekend nights, internal rooms are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EamonnandRosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Modest comfort. Fantastic location. Very good breakfast. Fantastic value

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Per_FNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

The hotel had an excellent location, being about a five minute walk from the airport coach stop and the tram stop, plus a stone's throw from the esplanade and the marina. Being on the edge of the old town there were lots of streets to wander around and eating places to pick from. Our room was very comfortable and clean, as was the shower room. The shower itself had plenty of hot water and towels were changed daily, despite our attempts at being ecofriendly. Upon arrival we were greeted by the receptionist and we found the staff quite helpful and friendly. But what a shame that the breakfast system had been changed from a buffet type to a coffee and croissant type (plus a glass of juice). Had we not paid in full, we would have investigated the local cafes, of which there were several that served breakfast. But overall the convenient location made up for our disappointment and I would probably return to the Explanada again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Geogwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

My daughter and I spent three days at this hotel. The location is excellent but sadly the same could not be said of the quality of the rooms or their customer care. In my room the wardrobe doors were shoddy and wobbly, difficult to manoeuvre. The advertised English language television channel was not available, Wifi and air conditioning were not working. My daughter's room had few channels of any language! When we told reception the following morning the lady came to her room and checked the television. She told us that someone had been tampering with the television and no one else had complained. She told us she would contact the manager and they would have someone to reconfigure the television that day. The lack of Wifi was not the Hotel's fault but a problem with my phone I was told as the receptionist had wifi on her phone at the hotel. She suggested I took my phone to a local phone shop for them to check the configuration of my phone. Phone shop confirmed my phone was fine and I was able to have Wifi everywhere available outside of the hotel. As we were told the televsions and Wifi problems were only on our floor so we asked to be moved to another floor. We were told. that evening, there were no rooms. We saw only two other men booking in, and one couple one of the mornings during our stay. On our return after midnight we were told by the night porter to pack our things as we were to move rooms immediately. These new rooms had same problems although we did have English language on televisions. In my room the bathroom heater didn't work.and the shower head, as in the previous room, I had to hold in one hand while i showered to prevent it shooting off the holder without warning and squirming around the shower cubicle. The day receptionist ( evening receptionist referred to this lady as the manager) made no comment re moving rooms although she did call the "Wifi technician" . He told her that there was a problem with the hotel password and it could not be fixed during our stay!!!! Her phone could not have worked as she had said. Too little too late.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrendaEves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

We realy enjoyed the stay. hotel was clean, and quiet.
I requested a nice room, and we received very nice corner room with
special balcony.
The lady in the reception was very helpfull in helping us decindin on good restaurant.
She gave us directions and even called local friends to ask for a best restaurant that locals are visiting.
No parking but this is normal in Alicante.
Close to the beach, and the promenade.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redpiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 50 in Alicante
1,525 reviews
Hotel Maya Alicante
#8 of 50 in Alicante
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Eurostars Lucentum
Eurostars Lucentum
#6 of 50 in Alicante
1,083 reviews
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#4 of 50 in Alicante
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explanada Hotel Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explanada Hotel Alicante

Address: Calle San Fernando 18, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Alicante
Price Range: $66 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Explanada Hotel Alicante 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Explanada Hotel Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing