We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not recomended” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eurostars Mediterranea Plaza Alicante

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eurostars Mediterranea Plaza Alicante
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not recomended”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

Small rooms, dirt and dust. Lousy bed. Not worth 3 stars hotel.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    256
    117
    37
    14
See reviews for
71
296
30
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

As other reviewers have said the room was clean, the bathroom OK. The air conditioning didn't work very well until the outside temperature was above 25C. The location is brilliant, about 100M to the marina and restaurants and also where the C6 bus stop is to & from the airport ( 2.70 euro)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lovecheapflights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Once again, really happy with this hotel. Rooms are spacious and immaculate. Ask for a corner room overlooking the square: 209, 309, 409, 509 - they have small sofa area and balconies. Marble bathrooms are huge and clean. Only thing lacking is a kettle - so if you like a brew, a small travel kettle is the trick.

Room terrace with amazing views is perfect spot to drink locally bought wine at sunset.

Local cafes serve breakfast for 2euro for drink/toast. Plus with the Marina and the wealth of eateries in the locality, not need to eat in the hotel.

Staff are excellent and obliging in every way. We really enjoy staying here and will return again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pabloboltonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Centrally placed hotel right next to the Ayuntiamento. Reasonably sized room to the back of the hotel which is a shame because the front rooms overlooked the square where the pavement fountains play until late. We did not take the optional breakfast, because the hotel is surrounded by bars.

Room Tip: Try and get a front room. The square is relatively quiet and it is a better outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piggymoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portlaoise
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Great location beside beach and town centre.
clean rooms and freindly staff with good english.
Rooms can be a bit noisy at week ends.

Room Tip: try to avoid rooms facing the back street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vintage066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
217 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We booked a four night stay at the Eurostars Mediterrane Plaza whilst we had a short city break in Alicante to get some winter sun.

First of all Alicante is extremely easy to get to from the airport you just take the C6 bus from outside departures at airport and it costs 2.70 euros and takes no longer than 30 minutes. For the hotel we asked for the Puerto del Mar stop (marina) and the Eurostars Mediterranea Plaza is just across the road opposite the town hall.
Check-in was fine and the staff very friendly. I had emailed the hotel before arrival requesting a non-smoking room and had found them helpful. We were allocated room 401 which was small but clean, it faced on to a side street so had no view but a small balcony. The bed was comfy and the room had a big bathroom with bath with a shower over. We had a mini bar which had enough room in pop in our own drinks and we could get English news channels on the TV like Sky News. We had a safe in the room and we just needed to ask at reception for the key and pay a 20 euro deposit which was refunded on departure.
This hotel to me is all about location as its a few minutes to the beach and the harbour and then literally less than a minute to the old town with all its bars and restaurants. I would agree that the hotel is not a four star but we found it to be clean and comfortable. We didn’t hear much noise from other rooms although like others have commented we did hear some noise especially on the Saturday night from outside.

In terms of Alicante we really loved the city, we enjoyed the fact that it had a feel of a traditional Spanish town / city but there was a beach and harbour to enjoy as well. We took the lift up to Santa Barbara Castle one morning, which I would recommend, the views are wonderful and we then walked back down. I also enjoyed some shopping in the commercial area where there are some nice shops including a Zara and Mango.

In terms of restaurants we ate at El Buen Comer and had one of the set menus which was great value for money at 18 Euros each for three course including wine. The food was lovely especially the paella and there was plenty of choice. We had tapas at La Taberna in the old town which we found by accident when we arrived and found that to be good. We had pizza and pasta at Sale y Pepa near the Cathedral which again was very nice a bit more expensive than some of the more traditional restaurants. On our last night we ate at the harbour as treat at Taberna del Puerto which again was excellent but more touristy and expensive as you would expect. We had lunch a couple of time at Lizarran, a taps bar in the city centre which was great fun just grabbing a plate and helping yourselves. Soho was nice for a coffee and toast with tomato and cheese in the morning with a great view of the harbour and the bar opposite the cathedral was nice for a drink in the evening, good service and good for people watching. We also enjoyed people watching from the bar that over looked the beach, afraid I don’t know its name, especially entertaining on a Saturday afternoon. We had great food and service all the time we were there.

We had a wonderful city break in Alicante and would definitely go back. I would happily go back to the Mediterrane Plaza hotel as it’s clean and comfortable, in a brilliant location. It is not a four star hotel and is a little dated but it is a good base for stay in the centre of Alicante.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel if you would like a good view of the plaza and castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SamM2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n.ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

This hotel has the perfect location for central Alicante, 2 minutes from the Marina and all other city amenties are on your doorstep and the historic square is just beautiful and clean. Choice of carparking at slightly subsidised rates ranging from 8 - 16 euros a day, depending which carpark you choose. The check in was friendly & efficient. Room was clean, spacious. The balcony doors are not sound proof and this is a major issue on Sat night/early Sunday morning when the night clubs are operating.Was quiet Sunday night/Monday morning. Did not eat in the hotel as we sat in the Marina and had a light breakfast. Cannot fault the hotel, great location, got a fabulous price, very clean. Will book again next time in Alicante

Room Tip: ask for a room that is off the busy streets (especially the streets close to the nightclub)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elainedawn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 49 in Alicante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#2 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Eurostars Lucentum
Eurostars Lucentum
#6 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Mediterranea Plaza Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Mediterranea Plaza Alicante

Property: Eurostars Mediterranea Plaza Alicante
Address: Plaza del Ayuntamiento, 6, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Mediterranea Plaza Alicante 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Eurostars Mediterranea Plaza Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Mediterranea Plaza Alicante Hotel Alicante
Eurostars Mediterranea Plaza Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing