We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More quiet than US Hotels!”
Review of NH La Avanzada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH La Avanzada
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leioa
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Interesting - lights came on as we entered the hall where our room was - movement sensitive WOW, great idea.Our room was clean, quiet and the bed very comfortable. Superb (one of the BEST we've experienced) breakfast buffet included, and what a banquet it was, fresh fruit, juices, eggs, bacon, potatoes, chef to prepare custom omelettes - healthy food choices!

The breakfast was the icing on the cake of this remarkable hotel. Recommended ~~~~~ !

Room Tip: We selected high floor - but this was only out of habit - room above the main street, but very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Miguel U, Director de Recepción at NH La Avanzada, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear Bruce thank you very much for your detailed and positive comment, especially as the breakfast is concerned. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

We spent the last 2 nights of our honeymoon at this hotel. We arrived around 8:30-9pm and we were pleasantly surprised to find our room had been upgraded and the housekeeping team had put together a beautiful spread on the bed (towel swans, candies, fake rose petals) which was definitely unexpected. Housekeeping services were very friendly, and took the time to wish us the best. The room was also very clean and immaculately organized.
Everything was great during the stay, but I can't say it's a 5 star hotel...reception staff were polite but when we buzzed after hours to enter the parking (underground, €6/night) they were unavailable, we had to wait for them. And when we finally got in, they were chatting out of sight of the desk.
Breakfast is decent,coffee was the best part. No eggs or bacon or "typical English/American" protein choices.
We had a lovely time and would stay again, but just don't expect the 5star rating. This is the perfect place if you are having a work conference or similar!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jetlaggedgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Miguel U, Director de Recepción at NH La Avanzada, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2016

Dear Customer,
We appreciate your kind words about the hotel staff and we are glad that we were able to surprise with the detail mentioned. Sorry for the waiting time , is not at all usual . We assure you that your comments will be taken into account at the next meeting of teams, to reaffirm certain way of working and to correct others. Thank you and we hope to see you in a future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2015

The hotel is a few minutes by car from the airport, about 20 min from center of Bilbao and 20 min by walk from the harbour and seashore. Nice rooms, friendly designed, air-condition. Cuisine very good. menu of three meals including wine about 17 Euro. For groups you can order a late niight dinner for example (my experience). I Can recomend for the first or last night of your travelling. Especially if you want to be close to the airport, mothorway and not far from Bilabao.

Room Tip: Better on the oposite side from the mottorway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jindrichpavlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Miguel U, Director de Recepción at NH La Avanzada, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2015

Dear guest, we really appreciate you shared your experience with us and we are quite happy that our location helped you to enjoy your stay. Thanks a lot for your kindly words about our cuisine, we are working hard to improve this aspect after some changes made. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2015 via mobile

A modern well equipped hotel. Spacious rooms, and huge suites.
Nice room views from higher floors. Ideal if you have a car and intend to visit suburbs of Bilbao. If you are targeting mainly Bilbao's center, this is not.your best choice.
Indoor parking available at reasonable fee.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank A-Hodaiby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Miguel U, Director de Recepción at NH La Avanzada, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2015
Google Translation

Estimado cliente, nos alegramos sinceramente que haya tenido una estancia agradable con nosotros y haya disfrutado de nuestras habitaciones.
En cuanto a la ubicación del hotel, decirle que nos encontramos en una zona residencial de playas, muy cerca de muchos de los puntos de interés turístico más visitados; además de estar muy bien comunicados con el centro de la ciudad, bien sea en coche o transporte público. Esperamos verle pronto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015 via mobile

Two of our party came from the airport by car and, using a gps, this was no problem (it would have been just using a map!). The other arrived in Bilbao by train and paid euro 25 for a taxi to the hotel
Shiny modern hotel with free on street car parking or pay underground spaces - we didn't have a problem finding a free space.
Quick extremely friendly and efficient check in before 1pm. Nice clean bright modern room with plenty of plug sockets and good lighting
Tea and coffee maker
Flat screen TVs with lots of channels
Exceptionally efficient wifi
Comfy bed with lots of pillows
Staff spoke good English
Went to Bilbao by train in the afternoon. Long walk to the nearest train station which we didn't feel safe to attempt after dark so, on the way back, we phoned for a cab from the local train station (having got card from reception) which came after 5 mins and charged 6 euros. NB cab company spoke no English.
FINALLY IF YOU ARE DRIVING BEWARE SPEED CAMERAS - they are everywhere. This is one of the reasons we won't be going back to the Basque Country, the others are lack of signs in Spanish (many obliterated) and rudeness of many locals as well as having credit card swallowed by two separate ATMs in Bilbao. BEWARE!

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
Thank ds999999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Miguel U, Director de Recepción at NH La Avanzada, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2015
Google Translation

Estimado cliente, nos alegra enormemente saber que disfrutó de nuestro hotel y sus servicios. En cuanto a la ubicación, si bien es cierto que estamos a 8Km de Bilbao, no es menos cierto que el acceso al centro de la ciudad es muy rápido, en coche a tan sólo 10 min por autovía y en transporte público a 15-20 min, con paradas de autobús y metro muy cerca del hotel. Además, nos gustaría recordarle que estamos ubicados en Leioa-Getxo, una zona residencial y de playas, a escasos metros de importantes puntos de interés turísticos, tales como Puerto Viejo de Algorta, Puerto Deportivo de Getxo y el Puente Colgante(declarado patrimonio de la humanidad por la Unesco en 2006). Nos encantaría poder volver a verle y comentarle todo esto personalmente.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2015

Location, more business hotel, by the freeway, great rooms, amenities, great staff, but restaurant offer terrible.

Cold room all white, a few pictures, only a set menu with three choices, no wine list, only one bottle of red or white, served three course in 33 mins very rushed, and we were the only table at first, then 4 other tables joined, very disappointing, as only one there bar in the area to choose, hotel could make a better offer for F & B, no bar either......

Sorry to say won't be back to this NH, but like the brand

Room Tip: 5th floor non smoking and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015

Staff very helpful and did their best to look after all our needs.
Great restaurant nearby with pretty good menu.
Rooms light airy and spacious.
Great breakfast - with eggs made to order
not the most convenient spot, but still a nice one with some interesting housing developments near by.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pheephox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leioa
1.9 km away
Petit Palace Tamarises
2.3 km away
URH Palacio de Oriol Hotel
1.9 km away
Gran Hotel Puente Colgante
Gran Hotel Puente Colgante
#1 of 1 in Portugalete
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Hotel Puerta de Bilbao
Hotel Puerta de Bilbao
#2 of 3 in Barakaldo
62 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Naval Sestao
Hotel Naval Sestao
#1 of 1 in Sestao
126 reviews
9.3 km away
Barcelo Bilbao Nervion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH La Avanzada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH La Avanzada

Address: Paseo Landabarri, 5 | Getxo, 48940 Leioa, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Leioa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leioa
Price Range: $95 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH La Avanzada 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH La Avanzada hotel in Bilbao is conveniently located in Leioa-Gexto, a central residential area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH La Avanzada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing