We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
492 results
Traveller rating
103
215
131
24
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
215
131
24
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free wifi only downside street parking bilbao menu business bikes pm neighborhood gym garage
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 492 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2016 via mobile

We spent the last 2 nights of our honeymoon at this hotel. We arrived around 8:30-9pm and we were pleasantly surprised to find our room had been upgraded and the housekeeping team had put together a beautiful spread on the bed (towel swans, candies, fake rose petals) which was definitely unexpected. Housekeeping services were very friendly, and took the time to wish us the best. The room was also very clean and immaculately organized.
Everything was great during the stay, but I can't say it's a 5 star hotel...reception staff were polite but when we buzzed after hours to enter the parking (underground, €6/night) they were unavailable, we had to wait for them. And when we finally got in, they were chatting out of sight of the desk.
Breakfast is decent,coffee was the best part. No eggs or bacon or "typical English/American" protein choices.
We had a lovely time and would stay again, but just don't expect the 5star rating. This is the perfect place if you are having a work conference or similar!

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jetlaggedgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Miguel U, Director de Recepción at NH La Avanzada, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2016

Dear Customer,
We appreciate your kind words about the hotel staff and we are glad that we were able to surprise with the detail mentioned. Sorry for the waiting time , is not at all usual . We assure you that your comments will be taken into account at the next meeting of teams, to reaffirm certain way of working and to correct others. Thank you and we hope to see you in a future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 16, 2015

The hotel is a few minutes by car from the airport, about 20 min from center of Bilbao and 20 min by walk from the harbour and seashore. Nice rooms, friendly designed, air-condition. Cuisine very good. menu of three meals including wine about 17 Euro. For groups you can order a late niight dinner for example (my experience). I Can recomend for the first or last night of your travelling. Especially if you want to be close to the airport, mothorway and not far from Bilabao.

Room tip: Better on the oposite side from the mottorway
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jindrichpavlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Miguel U, Director de Recepción at NH La Avanzada, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2015

Dear guest, we really appreciate you shared your experience with us and we are quite happy that our location helped you to enjoy your stay. Thanks a lot for your kindly words about our cuisine, we are working hard to improve this aspect after some changes made. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2015 via mobile

A modern well equipped hotel. Spacious rooms, and huge suites.
Nice room views from higher floors. Ideal if you have a car and intend to visit suburbs of Bilbao. If you are targeting mainly Bilbao's center, this is not.your best choice.
Indoor parking available at reasonable fee.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank A-Hodaiby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Miguel U, Director de Recepción at NH La Avanzada, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2015
Google Translation

Estimado cliente, nos alegramos sinceramente que haya tenido una estancia agradable con nosotros y haya disfrutado de nuestras habitaciones.
En cuanto a la ubicación del hotel, decirle que nos encontramos en una zona residencial de playas, muy cerca de muchos de los puntos de interés turístico más visitados; además de estar muy bien comunicados con el centro de la ciudad, bien sea en coche o transporte público. Esperamos verle pronto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2015 via mobile

Two of our party came from the airport by car and, using a gps, this was no problem (it would have been just using a map!). The other arrived in Bilbao by train and paid euro 25 for a taxi to the hotel
Shiny modern hotel with free on street car parking or pay underground spaces - we didn't have a problem finding a free space.
Quick extremely friendly and efficient check in before 1pm. Nice clean bright modern room with plenty of plug sockets and good lighting
Tea and coffee maker
Flat screen TVs with lots of channels
Exceptionally efficient wifi
Comfy bed with lots of pillows
Staff spoke good English
Went to Bilbao by train in the afternoon. Long walk to the nearest train station which we didn't feel safe to attempt after dark so, on the way back, we phoned for a cab from the local train station (having got card from reception) which came after 5 mins and charged 6 euros. NB cab company spoke no English.
FINALLY IF YOU ARE DRIVING BEWARE SPEED CAMERAS - they are everywhere. This is one of the reasons we won't be going back to the Basque Country, the others are lack of signs in Spanish (many obliterated) and rudeness of many locals as well as having credit card swallowed by two separate ATMs in Bilbao. BEWARE!

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ds999999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Miguel U, Director de Recepción at NH La Avanzada, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2015
Google Translation

Estimado cliente, nos alegra enormemente saber que disfrutó de nuestro hotel y sus servicios. En cuanto a la ubicación, si bien es cierto que estamos a 8Km de Bilbao, no es menos cierto que el acceso al centro de la ciudad es muy rápido, en coche a tan sólo 10 min por autovía y en transporte público a 15-20 min, con paradas de autobús y metro muy cerca del hotel. Además, nos gustaría recordarle que estamos ubicados en Leioa-Getxo, una zona residencial y de playas, a escasos metros de importantes puntos de interés turísticos, tales como Puerto Viejo de Algorta, Puerto Deportivo de Getxo y el Puente Colgante(declarado patrimonio de la humanidad por la Unesco en 2006). Nos encantaría poder volver a verle y comentarle todo esto personalmente.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2015

Location, more business hotel, by the freeway, great rooms, amenities, great staff, but restaurant offer terrible.

Cold room all white, a few pictures, only a set menu with three choices, no wine list, only one bottle of red or white, served three course in 33 mins very rushed, and we were the only table at first, then 4 other tables joined, very disappointing, as only one there bar in the area to choose, hotel could make a better offer for F & B, no bar either......

Sorry to say won't be back to this NH, but like the brand

Room tip: 5th floor non smoking and quiet
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews