We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect hotel”
Review of NH La Avanzada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH La Avanzada
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leioa
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We stay very frekvent on this hotel (ten to fifteen days a year). Everything is good but there are some issues. The beds are to hard in our opinion. The pillows also stiff and hard. You could start to fel that the hotel is going down in standard because the interior start to fade. In our opinion the hotel has not keep up with the standard it use to have. For breakfast (in old times) you was always offered omelet, bacon and egg. Today there is hard geting respons from staff.

Room Tip: High upp facing east
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cenneth U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2016

The location is really next to the highway. Will be noisy if we open the window. Next to the hotel is also a club. The cars of the customers going to the club is loud and noisy at night. Nothing nearby within walking distance. Must have a car. Breakfast quality is quite below average. Was given a room with spacious bathroom but it's for handicapped. Has all the handicap facilities in the room which is unpleasant.

The rooms are spacious and modern. Had a corner room with nice big windows around the room. Air conditioning is great for summer. Nice toilet amenities. Close to highway entrance and exit. Good only with a car. Lots of parking in front of the hotel for free. Strong shower.

Room Tip: Rooms at the corners are great with windows around. Make sure rooms are not facing the club at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManuZRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016

I am a loyal user of NH hotels, so I opted for this one when planning my travel to Bilbao to attend a familiar event. If you can, avoid this place.
Reception was really bad: the person in charge told us off for being earlier than the hour stated at the reservation (it was 14:00 and I KNOW 15:00 is the regular time, so I am also aware that there is always a chance you have to wait for a free room if you are before that time limit; but this is the first time the person in reception made the remark and with very bad manners).
Then the first room she gave us had a strong smoke smell. I am pretty sure it was not her fault, but the maid one: my reservation also stated, and quite clearly, that I wanted a non-smoker room. She change the room without complain.
The breakfast was absollutely uninspiring: so sad! the room was almost empty of everything.
Too difficult to find the 4 stars, the high price I paid and the NH usual values.
If you can, avoid it.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Charo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

This hotel is very close to the neighborhood around Calle Negurigane. The bus to Bilbao is nearby and costs around 2 Euros. The hotel is decorated with a modern look. Our room was a decent size and the bathroom was very nice. I enjoyed all the eco features of the hotel--saving the planet is always a good thing. We enjoyed the breakfast, but we had to pay for that separately--buffet style with good variety, by the way. They also offer dinner, but keep in mind that restaurants serve dinner very late. Even 8:00 pm is too early for some places and 9:00 pm is when many Spaniards start trickling into the restaurants to eat. Finally, I wanted to say that the people manning the front desk were very helpful advising on nearby restaurants and bus or subway service to Bilbao. If you have business in Lejona, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CrossingBorders04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

I spent two nights on a recent business trip to Bilbao. The Hotel is clean, modern and easy to find. Staff on check-in were very friendly and helpful and the room was comfortable and well equipped. Although on the flightpath of Bilbao airport, the hotel was quiet at night and I got two good nights sleep. The restaurant does a good value three course evening meal for about €18.00 including wine and also a nice buffet breakfast. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gerrymulvaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Miguel U, Director de Recepción at NH La Avanzada, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Dear Gerry,
It is a pleasure for us to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Thank you indeed for your kindly words about not only the comfort of the rooms and the quality of the restaurant, but specially of the staff. We hope to see you soon in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Interesting - lights came on as we entered the hall where our room was - movement sensitive WOW, great idea.Our room was clean, quiet and the bed very comfortable. Superb (one of the BEST we've experienced) breakfast buffet included, and what a banquet it was, fresh fruit, juices, eggs, bacon, potatoes, chef to prepare custom omelettes - healthy food choices!

The breakfast was the icing on the cake of this remarkable hotel. Recommended ~~~~~ !

Room Tip: We selected high floor - but this was only out of habit - room above the main street, but very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Miguel U, Director de Recepción at NH La Avanzada, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear Bruce thank you very much for your detailed and positive comment, especially as the breakfast is concerned. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

We spent the last 2 nights of our honeymoon at this hotel. We arrived around 8:30-9pm and we were pleasantly surprised to find our room had been upgraded and the housekeeping team had put together a beautiful spread on the bed (towel swans, candies, fake rose petals) which was definitely unexpected. Housekeeping services were very friendly, and took the time to wish us the best. The room was also very clean and immaculately organized.
Everything was great during the stay, but I can't say it's a 5 star hotel...reception staff were polite but when we buzzed after hours to enter the parking (underground, €6/night) they were unavailable, we had to wait for them. And when we finally got in, they were chatting out of sight of the desk.
Breakfast is decent,coffee was the best part. No eggs or bacon or "typical English/American" protein choices.
We had a lovely time and would stay again, but just don't expect the 5star rating. This is the perfect place if you are having a work conference or similar!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jetlaggedgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Miguel U, Director de Recepción at NH La Avanzada, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2016

Dear Customer,
We appreciate your kind words about the hotel staff and we are glad that we were able to surprise with the detail mentioned. Sorry for the waiting time , is not at all usual . We assure you that your comments will be taken into account at the next meeting of teams, to reaffirm certain way of working and to correct others. Thank you and we hope to see you in a future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leioa
1.9 km away
Petit Palace Tamarises
2.3 km away
URH Palacio de Oriol Hotel
1.9 km away
Gran Hotel Puente Colgante
Gran Hotel Puente Colgante
#1 of 1 in Portugalete
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Hotel Puerta de Bilbao
Hotel Puerta de Bilbao
#2 of 3 in Barakaldo
61 reviews
9.3 km away
Barcelo Bilbao Nervion
2.5 km away
Hotel Naval Sestao
Hotel Naval Sestao
#1 of 1 in Sestao
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH La Avanzada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH La Avanzada

Address: Paseo Landabarri, 5 | Getxo, 48940 Leioa, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Leioa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leioa
Price Range: $95 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH La Avanzada 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH La Avanzada hotel in Bilbao is conveniently located in Leioa-Gexto, a central residential area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH La Avanzada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing