We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean but out of the way”
Review of NH La Avanzada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH La Avanzada
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leioa
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night at this hotel before we boarded the ferry. The description said it was near the port and it about 4 miles away. It was not particularly easy to locate and it was in the middle of what appeared to be business. It was a very clean hotel and the rooms were modern and stylish. There was free parking outside the hotel or paid in the more secure underground car park. Once at the hotel there was very little around it to visit i.e.bars / restaurants. As the restaurant doesn't open nail 8 pm this caused us problems as we had been driving all day and wanted a meal. When the restaurant did open the menu was a set one with a choice from 3 starters, three mains and three desserts. We were not impressed by the selection so we ordered a snack from room service. Breakfast was good and the man responsible for the restaurant was particularly helpful. This hotel appears to cater more for business clients.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 363bev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2017

Funny, but we asked for a quiet room and got a corner room with huge windows facing the motorway. It worked with earplughs though ... I found the room quite elegant and stylish, but the bathroom (except for the tub and toilet) is sort of integrated in the room itself. Not sure if I liked that. The hotel is very minimalstic and lacks charm, but ok for a night or two. Breakfast room, which is huge, has a rather cold atmosphere. The buffet is ok, no cooked breakfast though (as far as I could see).
Staff ok and helpful.

Room Tip: Be aware of the traffic noise if you can't sleep in noisy surroundings ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

The room had the most incredibly awkward and difficult to use lighting system - buttons all over the place, lamps in the wrong places, and a miracle if you can work out which to switch on and off at night. The wardrobe separating the bathroom and bedroom did not have full sides to it, so trying to isolate the bed was not possible. Rooms were flimsy structures in any case so one can hear neighbors and anyone in the hall.
I had asked for a no smoking room and told mine was such. It stank of smoke and the manageress the next morning could not care less!!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016

This is a lovely clean modern comfortable hotel.We stayed overnight while waiting for the ferry.On arriving we asked about the restaurant and were disappointed the restaurant was closed at 3 in the afternoon. No beverages were available not even a vending machine the only food available was the overpriced room service we considered £11 for a chicken baguette a bit excessive.So we had to negotiate the traffic in Bilbao at nearly dark to find food

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sally Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

The NH Avanzada has good size rooms and modern bathroom facilities. The front desk staff (especially Virgina) is very friendly and helpful and really committed to making your stay comfortable. The hotel is perfect for a one night stopover. Only downside is that it is right off the highway so if you have a room facing the highway - you will be disturbed by the sound of traffic.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank goodtrip78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Great hotel and great front desk staff,really helpful and informative. Good location very well communicated and relatively close to a lot of tourist places . There's a nice park across the street . Nice area

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank ortizenriq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We stay very frekvent on this hotel (ten to fifteen days a year). Everything is good but there are some issues. The beds are to hard in our opinion. The pillows also stiff and hard. You could start to fel that the hotel is going down in standard because the interior start to fade. In our opinion the hotel has not keep up with the standard it use to have. For breakfast (in old times) you was always offered omelet, bacon and egg. Today there is hard geting respons from staff.

Room Tip: High upp facing east
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cenneth U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leioa
1.9 km away
Petit Palace Tamarises
2.3 km away
URH Palacio de Oriol Hotel
1.9 km away
Gran Hotel Puente Colgante
Gran Hotel Puente Colgante
#1 of 1 in Portugalete
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Hotel Puerta de Bilbao
Hotel Puerta de Bilbao
#2 of 3 in Barakaldo
61 reviews
9.3 km away
Barcelo Bilbao Nervion
2.5 km away
Hotel Naval Sestao
Hotel Naval Sestao
#1 of 1 in Sestao
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH La Avanzada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH La Avanzada

Address: Paseo Landabarri, 5 | Getxo, 48940 Leioa, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Leioa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leioa
Price Range: $92 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH La Avanzada 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH La Avanzada hotel in Bilbao is conveniently located in Leioa-Gexto, a central residential area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH La Avanzada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing