We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pudding ever”
Review of Royal Oak

Royal Oak
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Brookland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$19
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: 16th century inn serving well cooked local produce with flair,dedicated to the use of locally sourced & sustainable ingredients . The pub is open from 12 noon daily until 10pm later at weekends
Reviewed October 23, 2017

We have been to the Royal Oak before and have always found the food very good and the staff friendly and helpful. The chocolate Orange Roulade was to die for

1  Thank alisonclarke110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 264 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2017

Have lived here for just over a year and have only just eaten here last month (sorry )

There was 3 of us that popped in for a late lunch midweek .
Very good choice on offer ,two of us had the steak ale pudding which was very filling ,and my partner had the ham eggs and chips which she loved .Our Waitress was very nice and helpful and we all had a good chat . Will be back very soon for dinner .My partner said she spoke with the chef and commented on our good the food was . Have since recommended the pub to all my friends back in London and here in Kent .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank patrick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

Had a super meal here with friends - mouth-wateringly delicious steaks after a good seafood starter. Traditional English pub with gastro food and a lovely cosy atmosphere. Very friendly service, we'll be back!

Thank kdloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chriswaters1964, Manager at Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Thanks for your kind review we have a great team here and we aim to make sure you have a great time, hopefully we will see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2017

I took 35 people to the Royal Oak today, with great success. The visit was booked months in advance. The pub opened early for tea and coffee, served with a bar full of plates of sweet treats and a smiling welcome. We returned for a fabulous Ploughmans lunch, ready and waiting for us. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. My group felt sated and very well looked after.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RLG27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chriswaters1964, Manager at Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

Thanks for your kind review we as a team really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you all again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2017

Lunch for four. Nice friendly atmosphere. Great variety on menu plus a variety of daily specials offering excellent value for money. We all chose from the daily specials board having two courses. First course of homemade tomato and basil soup served with hot focaccia bread. Main course we all had steak suet pud with new potatoes and assortment of fresh vegetables. The meal was served promptly, efficiently and was piping hot. Very friendly. Would highly recommend, will be returning soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chriswaters1964, Manager at Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Thanks for your great review it means a great deal to the whole team and shows that we are doing something right, we look forward to seeing you in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Oak also viewed

 
Saint Mary in the Marsh, Kent
 

Been to Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing