We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, pet-friendly New Forest accomodation”
other travellers have booked this property
Little Thatch at Burgate Farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Little Thatch at Burgate Farmhouse
Burgate Farmhouse Lounge (with bedsettee which increases sleeping capacity to 4)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Little Thatch at Burgate Farmhouse
Burgate Farmhouse
Lounge (with bedsettee which increases sleeping capacity to 4)
Dining table in lounge (can seat 8 - ideal if you are a larger group & have booked both cottages)
Bedroom (can be made up as 2 singles or a large double)
Wisteria with lovely shady spot to sit outside of the patio doors
View of the half acre garden
The summerhouse at the bottom of the half acre garden
Games Barn
Pool table in Games Barn
Toys in Games Barn
Entrance to Games Barn
New bathroom in Little Thatch
Swings, toddler slide & summerhouse (ball game area is to right of hedge)
Foot suspension bridge over the water meadows on the Avon Valley Footpath (5 mins walk)
Surma Valley Indian Restaurant & Takeaway (3 mins walk)
The George Inn on the River Avon near the ancient bridge in Fordingbridge (5 mins drive)
View across Castle Hill (5 mins drive)
New Forest pony
There are lots of cycle routes across the New Forest (maps can be borrowed)
Paddling area at Fordingbridge Recreation Ground (with the ancient bridge & The George in background
River Avon & the water meadows (5 mins walk)
Half acre garden - for all to enjoy
Fordingbridge High Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Fordingbridge, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Familyand...
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect, pet-friendly New Forest accomodation”
Reviewed February 23, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The cottage is a great location for visiting the New Forest and the coast - we love the Bolderwood and Rhinefield Ornamental Drive in the Forest. We have stayed in both The Wishing Well and Little Thatch and they are warm, clean, and well-equipped. We found Little Thatch was perfect for our Springer Spaniel to enjoy the yard safely. And the kids LOVED the games room! Thank you, we will be back.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2017
Thanks for your glowing review. It's nice that you have now stayed in both cottages. As you mention, the back garden area to Little Thatch is perfect for anyone with a dog.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmlea10
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely, comfortable and cosy cottage.”
Reviewed February 21, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Stayed in Little Thatch for a long weekend with my husband and our two labradors. The cottage was very homely. The lounge and dining room was very spacious with lovely furniture including two large, comfortable settees. The kitchen contained all the necessary equipment and utensils and also a table and chairs. The bedroom had plenty of hanging space and drawers and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was on the small side and we found it a bit awkward trying to get out of the bath. Outside there was a good sized, fully enclosed garden which was great for the dogs. The front entrance height proved a problem for my husband but the back door was fine.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2017
Thanks for your review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your first stay in Little Thatch. I hope you come again another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copperbee...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Third visit - it's our home from home”
Reviewed February 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was our third stay in little thatch. We just love it. it is so cosy. It is perfect for our little dog because of the secure garden at the back.
Christine aways makes us feel very welcome.
The new bathroom was a nice surprise. It is lovely.
We've booked again for a weekend in September and have booked wishing well as well for our daughter and her family. We're looking forward to a bbq if the weather is kind. The kids just love the games barn.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
It was lovely to welcome you back again.
I'm glad that you enjoyed yourselves (& the new bathroom!).
I look forward to seeing you & all your family later in the year when you have your 'big celebration'.
Regards
Christine Bennett
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joolybear
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Real home away from home”
Reviewed February 18, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Warm welcome, well equipped kitchen, good location. Free parking clock for local towns was a real bonus. Games room good for small and big kids alike. Loved it.xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2017
Thanks for your review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Little Thatch.
I hope you enjoyed the new bathroom.
I look forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Choppington, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 15, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Stay was too short
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Dec 2015
Thanks for taking the trouble to put a review on for me.
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay here.
The games barn is a fantastic place which everyone enjoys.
I hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Christine - the owner, she was brilliant
Liked least: That we had to come home.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Oct 2015
Thanks for your lovely comments about your stay in Little Thatch. I'm so glad that you enjoyed yourselves & hope to welcome you back another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing