We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Campsite of our 3 week expedition in Norway”
Review of Jostedal Camping

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jostedal Camping
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2011

By far the friendliest campsite we stayed at in the whole of our 3 weeks. Astrid, the owner, couldn't do enough to help us and was so lovely. The weather was truly awful for the 3 days we were here, but the campsite facilties were clean and warm and we were even able to dry our wet tent and gear.Free wifi was a real bonus for our 12 year old and the hut we rented was clean, dry and warm! I would recommend this without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holdenute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2011

It was quite a challenge to get with busses at the season end to the glacier but the glacier and this place as well as the manager, her daughter other guests and atmosphere was worth it all.

1. All places of this kind in Norway are tidy and clean and very pastoral. But this was one of the best. So quiet and wild with a river just across our wood hut, fine food at the restaurant in the hotel just nearby, volleyball field and the nicest Norwegian family that even gave us a lift at the end of our two days stay just so we could catch a sunny rare day at jotunheimen
National park.

I would really recommend this place to stay and relax and visiting the glacier for anyone that would like to enjoy real Norway.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peledami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

We stayed on this campsite for 2 days in the month of May, while we were touring through Norway. We did some hikes to the glaciers nearby and toured around with our car. We slept in our minivan, and used electricity of the campsite.

This camping has an extremely friendly, helpful and hospitable staff. Kitchen and shower facilities were very clean, spacious and comfortable. The surrounding area is marvellous. We are very happy to have found this place, and would definitely recommend it to anyone who is looking for a quiet, clean and comfortable (but still charming and authentic) place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joelv4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Camping is a pretty common thing in Norway and a nice way to keep your accommodation costs down in a very expensive country. We went to the Jostedal area to do some hiking on a nearby glacier (plug for Ice Troll here, also very good). Everything was excellent. I travled with my wife and a friend and we rented out a nice cabin for two nights that was small, but exactly what we wanted to keep our prices down so that was a non-issue. The beds were comfortable and the room was very well taken care of (even though the guest book for the room went back a long ways). Free wireless internet was a plus too.
As for the facilities, a completely new shower/bathroom/kitchen facility was just recently completed so everything is pretty much brand new with dishes and cooking equipment included. No problems there. And when you're in a campground in the middle of a bunch of mountains its kind of hard to complain about such a beautiful location :)
Finally, the owner of the campground, Astrid, was perhaps the nicest person I met on all of my travels through Norway. She was extremely kind and helpful with tips and making sure that we were comfortable and happy throughout our stay.

I can't say enough about how much I liked this place. Everything just seemed to click and we all had a great time despite some rough weather. I hope this helps sway your future plans if you are planning on being in the area. We're going to try our best to return there as well.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alex207k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ondepipol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ann1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kami1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luster Municipality
0.2 km away
Jostedal Hotel
Jostedal Hotel
#2 of 5 in Luster Municipality
73 reviews
36.6 km away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
369 reviews
23.6 km away
Skjolden Hotel
Skjolden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skjolden
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.8 km away
Sande Camping
Sande Camping
#1 of 3 in Loen
44 reviews
0.0 km away
Vassbakken Kro & Camping AS
25.4 km away
Gaupnetunet Hotell
Gaupnetunet Hotell
#1 of 1 in Gaupne
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jostedal Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jostedal Camping

Address: Gjerde, 6871, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Luster Municipality
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Luster Municipality
Price Range: $70 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jostedal Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing