We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderfully relaxing retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Killawasi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Killawasi Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Yanque
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderfully relaxing retreat”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Guillermo, the owner, knows just how much customer service matters. He can't do enough to help make your stay perfect. He even offer to get the chef to make me something else even if it wasn't on the menu. The rooms are spotless. Huge comfy beds. High wooden-beamed ceilings. Plenty of hot water. Large modern bathrooms. Lovely balconies with great views. Peaceful location. Nice garden with hammocks to relax in. Negro the dog was a joy to play with. The food wasn't bad... the house red was great and there was ample tea available most times of the day/evening.
Killawasi was probably our favourite place we stayed in Peru and Bolivia. Yanque is a cute little town but it's the surrounding canyon with its hot springs, trails and ruins which makes a stay there so enjoyable. We highly recommend a three night stay there.
Guillermo arranged our transport from Arequipa to Killawasi with tourist stops, a trip to the Condor Cross, horseriding, a guided walk to the hot springs and ruins, and our onward travel on a very comfortable tourist bus to Puno. We were on a budget; it was most affordable.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BubbleS99909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    93
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
108
338
35
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bracknell
Level Contributor
107 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We booked a couple of nights here and wished we had booked at least one more. We also had the lodge arrange private transportation to take the edge off of getting in and out (Arequipa to Yanque and then onto Puno). Let me say they employed what must be one of the most careful drivers in Peru - also a great guide who happily put up with our rubbish spanish. We opted for a standard spanish speaking driving/guiding service as we were unconvinced that that arranging for Killawasi to bring an English speaking guide was really financially worthwhile - however the service is on offer.
Can I say we did almost nothing whilst we were there, we went and saw the condors and drove through and looked at various towns and villages, that was our choice we could have done & gone wherever we wanted. The trouble was once we arrived at the lodge and sat down on our balcony looking out over the valley and mountains, with a bottle of wine, we really didn't want to do anything else.
See other reviews for details on dining, efficient service, great rooms, nice people. If you are of a mind to do more than laze around then other people staying seemed to be out walking in the locale. Additionally for the less terminally lazy there was bike riding and horse riding on offer.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Just a warning to people considering doing one of the Killawasi Colca Canyon tours. In Arequipa there are many touts selling 2 and 3 day tours, I assumed that by booking my tour through the lodge that I would be getting a more personalised tour and that I would be going with a guide and group also staying at Killawasi Lodge. This was not that case.

I ended up being carted from one group leaving Arequipa and then being dropped off with another mixed group of people to walk through the canyon. It was very unorganised, and I felt like just another annoying tourist that they had to deal with.

The walk into Colca Canyon is VERY strenuous, and after much delay getting started in the morning (being picked up an hour later than I had been told, and then having to stand around waiting for other buses to drop people off) we ended up walking in the hottest time of the day, and becoming so delayed that we didn't make it to the Oasis camp until almost dark. It was very disappointing.

The lodge itself is as lovely as everyone else says, and I enjoyed a great walk in the evening to the local hot pool with a guide from the hotel, but if you are wanting to include a hike into the Canyon, don't be thinking that you will be getting anything special by going through the lodge.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toledo_summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killawasilodge, General Manager at Killawasi Lodge, responded to this review, 29 January 2012
My apologies for the inconvenience you had in your tour to the bottom of canyon, this is the most complicate tour we offer, because we use a different services. As explained in the tour itinerary the services in this specific tour are basic. This is the first time we receive a bad comment of any of our ten tours we been offering in almost 3 years.
I appreciate your comment very much, because I can make adjustments on this tour so this will not happen again.
With the only thing I disagree with you is on the title of your comment because it implies that all of our tours are bad which is not true, we have always received great comments about the service we provide.
Please accept my apologies again.
Best regards.
Guillermo Hoyos
General Manager
Killawasilodge@hotmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

A beautiful lodge in relaxing town Yanque, my husband and I stayed two nights with friends, but had I known how great the town/lodge was, we could have easily stayed 4 nights. The owner/host Guillermo was very informative, gracious and booked two activities (hike/hot springs and horseback riding) for us and we had a blast. Stay at Killawasi to relax, enjoy the beautiful view and chill in the hammock before heading out to your next destination. Thanks Guillermo!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed in six hotels across Peru and whilst all were good, this was one of our favourites. Based on some of the previous reviews, we made sure we added a couple of extra nights here and we were so pleased that we did - I would recommend to anyone else to do the same. As a result we found this a very relaxing part of our holiday. Our room had a large balcony with views across the valley (all rooms have a balcony, but not all with such great views) and we made a lot of use of the hammocks in the hotel grounds which also had a fantastic view of the valley.

The town of Yanque is no more than five minutes away by foot with a couple of small museums on the edge of a pretty square. Early in the morning tourists travelling through the valley stop off in the town and to see the local children doing traditional dancing and locals selling craft etc (as with any other town in the Valley). Interesting to see, but if you want to avoid the crowds, the square gets much quieter later. We also got to see Chivay while we were there - it is a bigger town in the Colca Valley with more restaurants etc, but it is also much busier and there are more tourists. Our preference would be to stay in Yanque, as it gives you a chance to get away from the tourists and you don't really need any restaurants, as the food in the hotel is so good (I would recommend the alpaca). Having said that, we did find a small local restuarant behind the church (which looked nothing like a restaurant from the outside and was more like being in someone's front room with kids watching TV in the next room). Food was amazing - you just eat whatever they are cooking that day and we had two courses and a can of coke for £2.50 each - you can't even get a can of coke for that normally!

The room was big and very clean with a modern bathroom. Breakfast was good - eggs cooked to order every morning. We went in June, when it can get very cold at night and the only gripe we had was that the restaurant / breakfast room didn't seem to be very well heated (we kept coats on). The bedroom didn't suffer from this problem though, as it had a heater.

Every day someone is available to take guests hiking and to the hot springs. However, while we were there, the guided walks seemed to only be in the afternoon after it started to cool off, so we decided to to our own thing in the morning instead. There are some interesting ruins on one hillside which we managed to find on our own. WIthout the guide, it didn't seem possible to access those particular hot springs. However, there are some public hot springs within walking distance. They are a bit rough and ready, but there are changing rooms, lockers and towels and the setting is amazing and the water is lovely. If you aren't local, be prepared to be stared at, as I don't think many tourists venture there!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed here for one night on the standard 2-day Colca Canyon bus tour from Arequipa. Guillermo, the general manager, could not have been more helpful. He picked us up in Chivay so we could check in and have lunch here, away from the tourist buses in Chivay. Our room, on the second floor, was quiet, spacious, and had a nice view of the surrounding countryside. The restaurant had a limited menu, but they were flexible and met our request for something slightly different. I highly recommend the 3-hour hike that leaves from here in the afternoon -- bring a flashlight in case you need it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorertoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
288 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The Killawasi Lodge is a beautifully-designed and comfortable small guest house. It has a spectacular setting near the Colca Canyon. The food is delicious and varied. We had dishes such as alpaca in elderberry sauce and chicken in papaya. This a great location to spend several days in Colca Canyon. Yanque is a very interesting and friendly traditional village. You can take many fine walks along nearby trails.
A tip for visiting Colca Canyon: Avoid taking a package tour. The bus from Arequipa to Chivay is very cheap (12 soles) and comfortable. A Taxi from Chivay to Yanque costs 15 soles. Stay in a small personal guest house like Killawasi. (The same owner has a cheaper lodge-- Miskiwasi--in the back.) Avoid staying in the larger, corporate places in the valley. You can easily spend a week exploring the canyon and its small villages.
If you would like to hire your own transport, Killawasi can arrange a comfortable van driven by a wonderful local guy--Alejandro--to take take you to the Cruz de Condor or to a more distant location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sptravelers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanque
1.0 km away
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel
1.6 km away
Aranwa Pueblito Encantado del Colca
2.4 km away
Las Casitas del Colca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.5 km away
Hotel Kunturwassi Colca
Hotel Kunturwassi Colca
#1 of 2 in Cabanaconde
329 reviews
6.3 km away
Casa Andina Standard Colca
0.8 km away
Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killawasi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killawasi Lodge

Property: Killawasi Lodge
Address: Calle Caravely 408 & calle Lima S/N | Esquina Calle Islay, Yanque 54, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Colca Canyon > Yanque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yanque
#1 Green Hotel in Yanque
#2 Family Hotel in Yanque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Killawasi Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KILLAWASI LODGE is a hotel located in the heart of the beautiful Colca Valley,in the cozy village of Yanque, minutes of their thermal waters, its central square and its beautiful colonial church; an strategic place to visit the Colca Canyon and engage in ecotourism and adventure activities. (Distance: 160km Arequipa, Chivay 8km, Cruz del condor 35km ).We offers our guests an unforgettable life experience,sharing with them the warm attention of our people and an architecture that blends comfort and rusticity in an environment surrounded by nature and mysticism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Killawasi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killawasi Lodge Colca Canyon, Peru - Yanque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing