We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and tranquility in Colca country”
Review of Killawasi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Killawasi Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Yanque
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 October 2016

The lodge is located in a sleepy little village of Yanque outside Chivay - in amongst the dusty dirt streets and rubble following the earthquake in August 2016. Our group of five Aussies enjoyed the ambience, 3-hour guided hike with local guide Richard with Elvis-look alike haircut with the hike ending at the thermal baths, and friendly and informative hosts - thank you to Freddy and Bernina and the whole team. A wonderful place to stay after trekking the Inca Trail and the hustle and bustle of Puno. Lovely clean rooms and hot showers - the Quinoa restuarant provided lovely meals - just the trout for our liking was a little overdone. Fantastic Pisco Sours from Freddy and Bernina. The gardener specifically talented with animal hedge sculptures - the runaway Llama also a feature of the stay. Absolutely loved it! Please travel there if you have the chance.

Room Tip: Suggest the villas 1-4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killawasilodge, Propietario at Killawasi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2016

Thanks you very much for sharing your experience at our hotel. For us it is very important to know our guests opinion. I will share your nice comment with our team.
Best regards,
Guillermo Hoyos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2016

We booked the 2d/1n Colca Canyon tour from Puno to Arequipa with Killawasi Lodge and we were extremely pleased. The bus pick up in Puno was prompt and we happy to discover that we had the bus to ourselves for the first 4 hours of the trip. The Killawasi Lodge was beautiful - from the setting to the room, which was large, clean, and inviting. The Staff was great, both at front desk and restaurant and food really good. The Condor tour was beyond words. The day was warm and sunny and the condors gave us quite a show. We saw many! Laura our guide was excellent and spoke excellent English and was friendly and knowledgeable. We did see some earthquake damage, but folks there are so resilient. This tour was definitely one of the highlights of our trip!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard of hotel had a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank khock79162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killawasilodge, Gerente at Killawasi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Thank you very much for your nice comment,
Best regards,
Guillermo Hoyos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Really didn't know what to expect from this place, and was blown away...Spectacular Views, Excellent Food, Super friendly and helpful staff, hiking trails, and hammocks, all on the edge of an Incan (and Pre-Incan), terraced canyon...WOW! Cozy beds, huge showers, and a private terrace. Super bird watching, with flowers and fauna all around to attract them. Easy two minute walk to main square. Excellent views of snow capped peaks, and an active volcano.

Stayed: October 2016
1  Thank Herbsaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killawasilodge, Propietario at Killawasi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Thank you for all your kind words, I'll be sharing this comment with rest of the staff members.

Best regards,
Gabriela Hoyos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We stayed here for a couple of nights when travelling from Arequipa to Puno. It is in an interesting location in that it is in the middle of Yanque, which itself has little to offer and you do wonder what you have let yourself in for as you reverse down a rough road with derelict buildings on either side.

When you arrive however you find a well presented lodge with friendly staff (and dogs) with stunning views in all directions (over the low basic buildings). You even get a great view of the smoking volcano (not too close) and can wander 50 yards and see the tail end of the canyon.

Hammocks are conveniently provided to let you laze in the sunshine (accompanied by the dogs) and the restaurant serves decent food. They take people on a walk every day around and along the valley, which I would recommend as it is very interesting (you can also go into the hot springs if you wish).

I do wonder if staying in Civay would provide more to see and do, but as you will get chance to see this anyway I was happy to stay here.

The rooms were clean and adequate and even stood up well when we experienced an earth tremor at around 9 pm one evening (apparently this is common and why a lot of the surrounding buildings are laid low). We also had a blackout for a few hours but nobody seemed phased at all.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor (main block) have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killawasilodge, Propietario at Killawasi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Thank you for all your kind words, I'll be sharing this comment with rest of the staff members.

Best regards,
Gabriela Hoyos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Staff was very welcoming. Rooms are quiet and nicely furnished. Ask to see room before checking in. We were checked into a room with no view except of the recent earthquake damaged surroundings. Food in the restaurant was phenomenal and affordable. Easy walk to the canyon edge.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mdmwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killawasilodge, Gerente at Killawasi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Thank you for all your kind words,
Best regards,
Gabriela Hoyos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

This was a welcoming and comfortable place to stay .The staff were very friendly ,nothing was too much trouble.We really enjoyed the afternoon walk through the Colca Valley finishing at the hot springs .Our guide Freddie was excellent and also made the best pisco sours of the holiday back at the bar in the restaurant where he also
worked ! Breakfast was freshly prepared and the food in the evenings was tasty and substantial .

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killawasilodge, Gerente at Killawasi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

It was a great pleasure having you stay with us!.
Thank you for all your kind words, I'll be sharing this comment with rest of the staff members.

Best regards,
Gabriela Hoyos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

What an incredible location! Quiet, peaceful and beautiful hotel. What made it better was helpful staff and great resturant. We would recommend this place to just go an chill with a nice book look out at the great views!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Pooja D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killawasilodge, Gerente at Killawasi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2016

It was a great pleasure having you stay with us!.
Thank you for all your kind words, I'll be sharing this comment with rest of the staff members.

Best regards,
Gabriela Hoyos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanque
1.0 km away
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel
2.4 km away
Belmond Las Casitas
Belmond Las Casitas
#3 of 5 in Yanque
291 reviews
1.6 km away
Aranwa Pueblito Encantado del Colca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca
6.3 km away
Casa Andina Standard Colca
34.5 km away
Hotel Kunturwassi Colca
Hotel Kunturwassi Colca
#1 of 2 in Cabanaconde
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killawasi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killawasi Lodge

Address: Calle Caravely 408 & calle Lima S/N | Esquina Calle Islay, Yanque 54, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Colca Canyon > Yanque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yanque
#1 Green Hotel in Yanque
#2 Family Hotel in Yanque
Price Range: $107 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Killawasi Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KILLAWASI LODGE is a hotel located in the heart of the beautiful Colca Valley,in the cozy village of Yanque, minutes of their thermal waters, its central square and its beautiful colonial church; an strategic place to visit the Colca Canyon and engage in ecotourism and adventure activities. (Distance: 160km Arequipa, Chivay 8km, Cruz del condor 35km ).We offers our guests an unforgettable life experience,sharing with them the warm attention of our people and an architecture that blends comfort and rusticity in an environment surrounded by nature and mysticism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Killawasi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killawasi Lodge Colca Canyon, Peru - Yanque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing