We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiet and restful, excellent location & staff”
Review of Killawasi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Killawasi Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Yanque
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights not long after the August earthquake. The rooms were great - extremely clean and comfortable, and the location was very peaceful - with a scenic view across the valley from our room.
The most memorable aspect for us though was a staff member - Freddy - who was utterly charming and friendly. He went out of his way to help, not only guests but other travellers we encountered on our guided walk to Uyo Uyo who were having a "lost in translation moment" with the staff member at the ruins. We employed local guides quite a number of times during our holiday in Peru, but Freddy was the standout.

Room Tip: one of the units at the front - for the view across the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wyatts419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killawasilodge, Propietario at Killawasi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2016

Thanks you very much for your nice comment. For us it is very important to know our guests opinion. I will share your nice comment with our team special with Freddy..
Best regards,
Guillermo Hoyos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three days. We wanted to relax, as this was the last leg of our trip to Peru. We did the trek to the Uyu Uyu ruins hosted by the lodge, which was a bit strenuous and nice. We walked to the Hot springs nearby. It was a nice walk, a bit strenuous on the way back as it was uphill. We had dinner one evening at Quinoa, which was very nice. A breakfast buffet is included. It was quite nice, scrambled eggs, breads, cereal. The room was spacious. The bed very comfortable. We stayed in room #1 which was on the end and had a beautiful view of the mountains. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killawasilodge, Propietario at Killawasi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Thank you very much for your nice comment,
Best regards,
Guillermo Hoyos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Killawasi is a tranquil haven on the edge of the earthquake-damaged town of Yanque, the gateway to the Colca canyon. There are separate blocks of two-storey and single-storey accommodation - the latter look out onto an open fields towards the gorge and mountains beyond. There is a simple separated eating area with a good local menu. The staff were very helpful, including during the organised walking tour across the valley from the back of the hotel.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killawasilodge, Propietario at Killawasi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Thank you very much for your nice comment,
Best regards,
Guillermo Hoyos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Stayed here for two nights when visiting Colca Canyon. We stayed in one of the larger rooms at the front with its own terrace, which was a great place to sit and relax watching nature close by.
Had two good simple dinners at the restaurant, which was where breakfast was served.
Good wi fi connection and complimentary hot drinks available all day.
Hotel also organised a free trek to the local Pre Inca ruins at UliUli and then back via the hot springs - which didn't look too inviting.

Stayed: October 2016
1  Thank RPHWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killawasilodge, Propietario at Killawasi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Thanks you very much for sharing your experience at our hotel. For us it is very important to know our guests opinion. I will share your nice comment with our team.
Best regards,
Guillermo Hoyos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

This is the most relaxing, beautiful, quaint location. The food is excellent and we ate breakfast and dinner here during our stay.

The staff is extremely helpful, kind and friendly and they took us on a trek around the area one day. I travel quite a bit around the world and there are a few places that hold a special place in my heart. Killawasi Lodge is one of them. Absolutely wonderful escape from an otherwise activity-packed holiday.

My only complaint is how cold the rooms get at night - definitely come prepared!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killawasilodge, Propietario at Killawasi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2016

Thanks you very much for your nice comment. For us it is very important to know our guests opinion. I will share your nice comment with our team.
Best regards,
Guillermo Hoyos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Located directly on the edge of what becomes the Colca Canyon, Killawasi Lodge is a gorgeous property. The rooms were impeccably clean and the perfect size offering private balconies and patios. The service was attentive and helpful. The food served in the restaurant was a good value and some of the best had in our entire Peru trip. Only complaint is that the tour organized through the lodge was somewhat of a disappointment. The tour guide was very rude and rushed us unnecessarily at each destination. There was a private tour offered directly with the hotel which was fantastic. The issue is with the tour company the hotel contracts out to.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Will_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killawasilodge, Propietario at Killawasi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2016

Thanks you very much for sharing your experience at our hotel. For us it is very important to know our guests opinion. I will share your nice comment with our team.
We regret that your experience on the tour did not cover your expectations, please accept our apologies we will request a report from the Tours agency.
Best regards,
Guillermo Hoyos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

The lodge is located in a sleepy little village of Yanque outside Chivay - in amongst the dusty dirt streets and rubble following the earthquake in August 2016. Our group of five Aussies enjoyed the ambience, 3-hour guided hike with local guide Richard with Elvis-look alike haircut with the hike ending at the thermal baths, and friendly and informative hosts - thank you to Freddy and Bernina and the whole team. A wonderful place to stay after trekking the Inca Trail and the hustle and bustle of Puno. Lovely clean rooms and hot showers - the Quinoa restuarant provided lovely meals - just the trout for our liking was a little overdone. Fantastic Pisco Sours from Freddy and Bernina. The gardener specifically talented with animal hedge sculptures - the runaway Llama also a feature of the stay. Absolutely loved it! Please travel there if you have the chance.

Room Tip: Suggest the villas 1-4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killawasilodge, Propietario at Killawasi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2016

Thanks you very much for sharing your experience at our hotel. For us it is very important to know our guests opinion. I will share your nice comment with our team.
Best regards,
Guillermo Hoyos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanque
1.0 km away
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel
2.4 km away
Belmond Las Casitas
Belmond Las Casitas
#3 of 5 in Yanque
291 reviews
1.6 km away
Aranwa Pueblito Encantado del Colca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca
6.3 km away
Casa Andina Standard Colca
34.5 km away
Hotel Kunturwassi Colca
Hotel Kunturwassi Colca
#1 of 2 in Cabanaconde
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killawasi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killawasi Lodge

Address: Calle Caravely 408 & calle Lima S/N | Esquina Calle Islay, Yanque 54, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Colca Canyon > Yanque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yanque
#1 Green Hotel in Yanque
#2 Family Hotel in Yanque
Price Range: $107 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Killawasi Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KILLAWASI LODGE is a hotel located in the heart of the beautiful Colca Valley,in the cozy village of Yanque, minutes of their thermal waters, its central square and its beautiful colonial church; an strategic place to visit the Colca Canyon and engage in ecotourism and adventure activities. (Distance: 160km Arequipa, Chivay 8km, Cruz del condor 35km ).We offers our guests an unforgettable life experience,sharing with them the warm attention of our people and an architecture that blends comfort and rusticity in an environment surrounded by nature and mysticism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Killawasi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killawasi Lodge Colca Canyon, Peru - Yanque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing