We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure”
Review of Killawasi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Killawasi Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Yanque
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Excellent accommodation and amazing views from our room window. The restaurant served nice food but a bit on the expensive side. The walking your was excellent and relaxing. Overall great. The canyon and condor watching tour we booked through them was poor but it was a different agency. However they lose one star for that as they need to do some quality control of their contractors.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mita_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killawasilodge, Owner at Killawasi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

It was a great pleasure having you stay with us!.
Thank you for all your kind words, I'll be sharing this comment with our tour contractor to be sure we improve the Tours services.
Thanks you very much for you comment.
Best regards,
Guillermo Hoyos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2017

Killawasi lodge is really a hidden treasure. The rooms are clean and nice. The on-site restaurant has a breathtaking view and offers great food. The owner Jose is very friendly and efficient. He always replied my email promptly and answered all the questions. When I had time issue and had to change my itinerary, he is very accommodating and made all the arrangements. On our last day there, our schedule was very tight and we were worried about missing our flight. Jose helped us to arrange every detail. When we came back from the canyon hike, Jose was waiting with our driver, with our bagged lunch ready. Very satisfied

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank redhonker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killawasilodge, Owner at Killawasi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

It was a great pleasure having you stay with us!.
Thank you for all your kind words, I'll be sharing this comment with rest of the staff members special with Jose our manager.
Best regards,
Guillermo Hoyos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

Amazing everything !
Accommodation, food, tour and hours riding a must stay. Beautiful location. Frank the host is lovely and very accommodating. Freddie our tour guide was very insightful. Can't recommend this place enough.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Bailey_ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killawasilodge, Propietario at Killawasi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2017

Thank you very much for your nice comment, I will share your nice words with our team special with Frank and Freddy.
Was a pleasure to have you here.
Best regards,
Guillermo Hoyos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

We very much enjoyed our two night stay at this hotel. They helped us organize a bus tour with scenic stops from Puno to Chivay, a tour to see the condors in the Colca Canyon and bus tour with stops to Arequipa. Every part of the trip was outstanding. The guides we had were friendly, professional and knowledgeable and the bus drivers where the best we've had in Peru. Staying at this hotel was a real treat. The layout of the grounds and the buildings are lovely and the restaurant is excellent. The alpaca burger we had was delicious! We were in room 1 which had a patio looking out to the mountains. The room was spacious and very comfortable. Included in our trip was a 2 hour hike with our guide Freddie, and the hotels dog Negril came with us :) Freddie was wonderful, he understood our abilities and managed the pace to our needs. At the end of the hike we soaked in a natural hot springs which was bliss. Soaking in the warm waters surrounded by mountains was the perfect end to the day. Freddie even arranged a taxi for our return to the Lodge from the hot springs. The staff at the Killawasi Lodge would do anything to make our stay more enjoyable. When asked they took care of drying our bathing suits. They were so friendly and welcoming. I just wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 - 4 have patios with views to the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killawasilodge, Propietario at Killawasi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2017

It was a great pleasure having you stay with us!.
Thank you for all your kind words, I'll be sharing this comment with rest of the staff members special with Freddy.

Best regards,
Gabriela Hoyos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

We drove to Colcha Canyon by ourselves by car. Found this hotel after a long search (the one we originally reserved was horrible with rainwater on the floor everywhere).

This hotel has a very nice touch to it, you can see a good architect dedicated himself to make it all look very sweet.

Food at the on-site restaurant is very tasty (I had a salad with local beans and cheese). Same for breakfast (see pic).

The staff is extraordinarily helpful, many thanks to them for explaining the sightseeings so well.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Felix S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killawasilodge, General Manager at Killawasi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Thanks you very much for your nice comment. For us it is very important to know our guests opinion. I will share your nice comment with our team.
Best regards,
Guillermo Hoyos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Truly an amazing location in the Colca Valley. Our room was very comfortable and easily fit the 5 of us with a bed on the first level and an additional 3 on a loft. Very picturesque as it is surrounded by mountains, and a snow capped mountain in the back.

The staff was incredibly helpful throughout our stay, always making sure we had what we needed and if they could be of assistance.

Here is a very good restaurant on site that serves breakfast lunch and dinner. The menu includes some traditional dishes as well as more contemporary fare. Food was delicious.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Oscar V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killawasilodge, Owner at Killawasi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Thanks you very much for your nice comment. I will share your nice comment with our team special special with Liz our chef.
Best regards,
Guillermo Hoyos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We did a customized 4 night package from Arequipa which included a bus tour from Arequipa which made about 4 stops along the way toward the lodge and a tour to Cruz del Condor the next day. Killawasi Lodge is an amazing place to stay - we were in room 4 which had a private patio overlooking the mountains. There are lots of hikes or other tours you can easily do from the lodge, or just relax in the hammocks or your private patio and read a book.

The Quinoa restaurant has great food, with really good variety of Peruvian dishes at reasonable prices (average main course was about 30 soles or $10). There aren't really many other places to eat in the very small town of Yanque.

Probably what makes this lodge the best place to stay is the outstanding staff! Jose in particular was great and seemed to be around at all hours of day and night. The rest of the staff are also excellent, and the owner Guillermo was amazing. We decided to pay a bit extra the last day to do a private transfer back to Arequipa (3 hours direct rather than the tourist bus which makes a number of stops), and Guillermo offered to drive us since he was going to Arequipa the next day.

Highly recommend this lodge and the Colca Canyon area.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DWalker207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killawasilodge, Propietario at Killawasi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Thank you very much for your nice comment and for your considerations, I will share your nice words with our team. Was a pleasure to have you here and also drive with to Arequipa.
Best regards,
Guillermo Hoyos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanque
1.0 km away
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel
2.4 km away
Belmond Las Casitas
Belmond Las Casitas
#3 of 5 in Yanque
291 reviews
1.6 km away
Aranwa Pueblito Encantado del Colca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca
6.3 km away
Casa Andina Standard Colca
34.5 km away
Hotel Kunturwassi Colca
Hotel Kunturwassi Colca
#1 of 2 in Cabanaconde
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killawasi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killawasi Lodge

Address: Calle Caravely 408 & calle Lima S/N | Esquina Calle Islay, Yanque 54, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Colca Canyon > Yanque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yanque
#1 Green Hotel in Yanque
#2 Family Hotel in Yanque
Price Range: $107 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Killawasi Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KILLAWASI LODGE is a hotel located in the heart of the beautiful Colca Valley,in the cozy village of Yanque, minutes of their thermal waters, its central square and its beautiful colonial church; an strategic place to visit the Colca Canyon and engage in ecotourism and adventure activities. (Distance: 160km Arequipa, Chivay 8km, Cruz del condor 35km ).We offers our guests an unforgettable life experience,sharing with them the warm attention of our people and an architecture that blends comfort and rusticity in an environment surrounded by nature and mysticism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Killawasi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killawasi Lodge Colca Canyon, Peru - Yanque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing