We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$30
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-04-25
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$30
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-04-25
ZenHotels.com
US$30
US$24
View deal
SAVE US$6
Expedia.comUS$30
PricelineUS$30
TravelocityUS$30
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
19
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
19
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot springs volcano edge beds hostel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 22 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2019

We (family of 6) spent a night here in October 2019 - it is evidently very new (and not quite as finished as it appears in the photos) and while perfectly functional is somewhat spartan. The outlook is great and position within easy walking distance of the village square and quick drive to the hot springs is good. Special mention to Jurgen (on his second day) who was very willing and helpful. Better coffee (than Nescafe instant) would be a welcome improvement in a country famed for its brew.

Date of stay: October 2019
Thank grazinginfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2019 via mobile

We loved our stay at Le Foyer in Yanque. It has the most wonderful views over the mountains from all rooms. It’s very clean and comfortable, with delicious breakfast. We did a magnificent walk to the ancient ruins at uyo uyo and the nearby waterfall. It’s also a short walk to a number of hot springs just outside yanque (which all have a beautiful riverside setting). It’s a great place to explore independently at your own leisure. There are two very good restaurants in the main square. The owner of Le Foyer also took us on a wonderful excursion to a geyser in the canyon which was spectacular. Thanks so much for a brilliant stay!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank emilyo123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2019

This hotel has been working in Yanque for about 3 months and looks like its going to turn into the next big thing here. We really enjoyed our stay and the local tips given by owner Hendry. Breakfast was delicious and complete, and we absolutely loved the view from the room in the second floor and the terrace. The room was clean and had a nice light, and the beds were super comfortable. Recommended!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank alexandra v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2019 via mobile

We booked our stay at Le Foyer last minute.

The location is a 3 min walk away from the main square (plaza).
Reception is friendly, room is quiet spacious and clean. The bed is queen size and good.

The view which comes with the great terrace is magnificent.

Breakfast was good.

Great value for money.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AL273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2019

We stayed with a party of 4 adults, 3 children, in 3 rooms for one night in July 2019. We were happy we chose it.

Pros:
- [ ] Very new facilities. Inaugurated just a few months ago so everything is new and seems clean.
- [ ] CLEAN
- [ ] Substantial parking lot for which they did not charge us
- [ ] Nice view. Not comparable to the high-end lodges that are isolated down on the edge of the river, but still a lovely green views from the rooms and can see the Sabancaya volcano smoking from the property.
- [ ] Gas heaters for rooms
- [ ] CLEAN
- [ ] Close to the center of Yanque which is a less touristic and more calm local village
- [ ] Attendants were friendly and tried to be helpful, despite lacking in knowledge.
- [ ] CLEAN
- [ ] It was a good value for a clean room, simple bed, and nice setting.

Cons:
- [ ] Beds are firm or you could say rock-hard.
- [ ] 1 small pillow
- [ ] Rough sheets and pillow case.
- [ ] Rooms are not very spacious. We had a triple room and a double (same size) so we had to re-arrange the beds to squeeze our pack and play into the nearly null floor space in the triple room. That said, I’ve seen far more crowded and less clean rooms in hostels elsewhere in Peru.
- [ ] Warm alpaca wool blankets on beds are nice but not hypoallergenic since alpaca wool is a common allergy.
- [ ] Electricity blew at about 11pm. Apparently the sole worker on site was sleeping so it was 5:30am before the flipped the breaker and it came back on. This meant no lights and no heat all night.
- [ ] Only meal served is breakfast whereas other local hostels/hotels serve lunch and dinner if needed. There is always the option of going to one of those nearby for food or eating in a restaurant in Chivay. We had a vehicle, but if you don’t, you’ll want to plan your meals elsewhere.
- [ ] Breakfast was somewhat scarce and specific. A bowl of papaya and a glass of papaya juice (unfortunately, two of our party don’t eat papaya, and I have found many non-Peruvians don’t!) was accompanied by sweetened strawberry yogurt, 2 hard-scrambled eggs, and 2 pieces of microwave-warmed bread (unfortunately, the microwaving gave it had inedible hard parts). Marmalade, butter, and hot water to make instant coffee or tea were the only other offerings. It just scraped by to meet the ‘Americano’ description, but given none of us like strawberry yogurt, some didn’t like the fruit, and the eggs weren’t well-prepared…we were left eating bread and jam and still hungry so plan an early lunch if you stay here.
- [ ] Perhaps due to being new is that the worker the second day, who cooked the breakfast and definitely tried to please guests, was neither a chef (thus the breakfast issues) nor capable of working the system to charge us via credit card as there were clearly technical literacy problems, and we ended up having to run our own credit card. They’re trying to survive on a bare-bones staff, but they need to invest in more than one employee at a time or a full-time jack-of-all-trades. Everyone was TRYING to be helpful but just not prepared to do so.
- [ ] It lacked small extras like making hot water and coca leaves (or the ability to prepare them) available 24/7 which is helpful at high altitude. They also didn't give anything more than what we asked for so since we didn't remember to ask for the wifi password when we came in, we weren't given it. A small orientation

Local activities:
I tend to trust the workers at hotels to have the scoop on local distances and activities. We went terribly wrong believing the friendly but terribly misinformed or miscalculating advice in this case. A ‘’5 minute walk down to the bridge to where the local small hot springs” turned out to be a 30-minute hike over rough terrain, up and down steep inclines, ending in a beautiful bridge over the canyon, and a treacherous incline down to what may or may not have been a hot spring because that was the point at which we realized there was no way to get back up (we had 3 small children with us…something the hotel worker knew when he advised us!). It’s a nice hike so if you’re sans kids, not altitude-sick, and have the time, I do recommend the exploration. It’s absolutely beautiful.

We were also told the commercialized hot springs nearby are not very sanitary. We did find them crowded (it’s about a 10 minute drive from the hotel or 25 minute walk) with Peruvian tourists mostly. The water wasn’t clear. We were in Colca on a holiday long weekend so crowded wasn’t surprising. They were hot, and we enjoyed them, but if time allows you to drive to nicer ones outside Yanque, I recommend it. It felt like s/15 a person was a lot given the facilities weren’t well kept.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartitaAQP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews